We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smokey Train Diner

Smokey Train Diner
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Sabie
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The staff were very friendly and well organised. We sat in the train and it was superb. We had a lovely meal, ribs with putu pap and alfredo potjie. More food than you can eat and well priced. Really a good choice for dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Illse v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The best fillet steak i had in years. My wife had a pancake. Super. Great service. Well done Oom Smokey

Helpful?
Thank Koen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montagu, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“..loved it!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent Pancakes...coffee fab...fun oldie world train sitting eating your pancakes watching the world go by!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Venus768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed! VERY VERY disappointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We travelled from Gods Window to Sabie...looking forward to having a meal at the train restaurant in Sabie. We checked one of the websites where they are listed and saw that they were open today...1 Jan 2014. As we parked, we noticed through the train windows that most of the compartments were empty and there were about 5 cars parked outside. There was a board at the entrance stating FULL as I approached but I thought I would enquire anyways even maybe to make a booking for later or even tomorrow as we are staying in the area until the weekend. Just as I was about to approach the entrance, a guy walks up to the door. I greet him, he ignores me. I stand there and watch him as he removes the open sign and places a closed sign on the door rather hurriedly! As he is done, he looks up when I tell him that the least he can do is greet! I tell him it's not acceptable and I will review his restaurant on this platform. He is in the wrong but gets upset with me...what a nerve! I have my little 4 year old running behind me asking why we cannot eat in the train. So we leave and find The Woodsman Restaurant. What a delightful surprise!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CosmosFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit
1 review
“Breath taking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great atmosphere great food excellent service! Pity there is no tel no outside the restaurant! Would like to get the number for future bookings!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chr1sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smokey Train Diner also viewed

 

Been to Smokey Train Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing