We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ticino Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Ticino Guest House
Ranked #1 of 21 Sabie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West London
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Felix and Ute run an extremely pleasurable guest house with a great deal of character. Felix is a fountain of knowledge about the Panorama Route, even down to the times when best to visit the various points. Even with his advice we found it very difficult to fit everyhting in so would suggest doing it over two days, but an extra night here would certainly not be a problem. Only thing we did find a problem was the number of logginh lorries travelling past the house during the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TW15EXILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
99
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rouen, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Felix and his wife are lovely people always ready to help (places to visit, lending of icehouse ...)
The room was very clean, there is a very nice terrace and the bathroom is new and beautiful.
The breakfast is plentiful and very good.
If we should go back to Sabie, we will return to this cozy place.
Be careful, this bed and breakfast often seems full. Book in advance!

Félix et sa femme sont des gens adorables toujours prêts à aider (les lieux à visiter, prêt de glacières...)
La chambre était très propre, il ya une terrasse très agréable et la salle de bains est neuve et belle.
Le petit déjeuner est copieux et très bon.
Si nous devions, un jour revenir, à Sabie, nous reviendrons dans ce B&B chaleureux.
Attention, ce bed and breakfast semble souvent complet. Réservez à l'avance!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fab L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the villa for one night (five people) and got two big, spacious rooms. We spent the evening sittng at the living room near the fire. There was also a bar where one could take a drink and write it down. Breakfast was very good. The owner was very hospitable and provided us with a lot of information, maps, a cooler a binocular etc. The location is gerat for Kruger park, and there was a great restaurant nearby, where we had dinner (The Wild Fig Tree). There were others around, as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfourier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at Villa Ticino for two nights and had a fantastic time. The location was ideal, a 4 hour comfortable drive from Jo'Burg, with the villa situated close to local restaurants and shops, but also enjoying wonderful views. Felix and Ute were fantastic and very helpful when it came to planning the best way around the stunning Panorama Route, even providing a cool box and map for the journey. We didn't get to enjoy the swimming pool due to the weather, but there is a lovely terrace and the facilities were good although our personal preference would be for simpler more modern style of rooms (we didn't see the other rooms though!).

All in all, we had a wonderful time at Villa Ticino and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Great welcome by a friendly helpful couple.very helpful re sightseeing trips and places to visit as well as restaurants.Rooms could do with an update.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in Villa Ticino as the closure of our tour in South Africa. Villa Ticino is a perfect location to drive the Panorama route and to visit the Kruger Park (start from Phabeni Gate). Based from Sabie you can drive one day the "lower" Panorama route towards Hazyview and Nelspruit and the next day the "upper" route to Graskop and God's Window. The Kruger Park is only 40min away.
Felix & Ute (the owners) have provided us with all the necessary route information for both the Panorama route as well as the Kruger Park.They even prepared a breakfast package, a cooler box for refreshments during the day and binoculars for use in the Kruger Park.
Villa Ticino and their owners give you the impression that you are in a Swiss chalet with their welcome and hospitable attitude. Sabie is a save and tourist orientated village. On short walking distance (< 2 min) you will find multiple restaurants.
We would recommend Villa Ticino to everyone who is considering to visit the Panorama route and/or the Kruger Park.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danitsja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

From the moment the door opened and Felix and Ute greeted us we felt completely at home at Villa Ticino. Perfectly located on The Panorama Route and within easy walking distance of some great restaurants, local shops and adventure companies. Their beautiful house has comfortable, well appointed rooms and spacious guest areas. Open fires, honesty bar, pool table, chess ,cards, magazines, electric blankets :-).... even umbrellas to borrow! They really have thought of everything and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely pool and sun deck for summer stays (we will be back :-) ) Delicious breakfast with a daily special cooked to order by Felix. Without doubt, it was Felix's intimate knowledge of the local area and weather that allowed us to make best use of our 3 days in Sabie. He tailormade our stay and it worked out perfectly. Fantastic. Book now.... You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJBsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
0.7 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
12.2 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hillwatering Country House
0.1 mi away
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
0.9 mi away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#4 of 16 in Sabie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ticino Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ticino Guest House

Property: Villa Ticino Guest House
Address: Louis Trichardt Street, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ticino Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated, in the centre of the picturesque, malaria-free mountain village of Sabie close to restaurants and shops, Villa Ticino is the ideal base for a minimum stay of 2 nights or longer from which to explore the numerous attractions in the region and for visiting the Kruger National Park. Your Swiss/German owners and hosts personally welcome guests and assist with comprehensive insider information for daily outings with a free map of the area. The European style guest house has six well-appointed en-suite bedrooms, 5 with twin beds, all opening up onto a covered private patio or balcony. Villa Ticino offers guests an attractive guest lounge, a breakfast room, a generous covered terrace with garden & mountain views, a swimming pool, free secure parking, an information corner with WiFi access and a small resident’s bar where guests may enjoy a sundowner before strolling to one of the nearby restaurants to end the evening with a good meal and fine wine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing