We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Timamoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Timamoon
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Sabie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We spent the last few days of our honeymoon at Tinamoon and loved every minute of it. The lodges are beautifully secluded and you have your own tranquil garden in complete privacy to relax and enjoy. The rooms are perfectly decorated and the pool was lovely and refreshing with amazing views! The food was amazing, we really looked forward to every meal. Big credit to the chef! The setting of Tinamoon is just stunning and really romantic, a perfect end to our honeymoon. The picnics were a lovely touch as well and we loved our picnic by the river. The only negative comment we had was that the room was very musty and I think it was that the thatch roof was quite mouldy, but I guess thats a sacrifice for having your own little piece of tranuility in the middle of a forest!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

We enjoyed every second of our stay at this beautiful lodge!
The owners, managers and hosts made us feel extremely welcome and truly went out of their way to accommodate our every need.
The chef is a genius. Every morsel was a delicious delight.
All of the staff members were friendly, unobtrusive and efficient.
We had an unforgettable weekend there and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIGRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending 6 nights at Timamoon for our honeymoon. The location is so secluded, the scenary so breathtaking - it's like living in your own garden of eden. Your own private lodge is exquisite - you're surrounded by luxury and stricking works of art. The service is superb - your every whim is catered for with a sincere, personal touch. The food is out of this world - I'm sure the chefs can work at any top restuarant or hotel in SA or even overseas.
I was hoping our honeymoon would be romantic and restful. It was so much more than I ever expected, more than I ever hoped for. Words cannot describe how amazing our experience was - worth every cent. We'll defenitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

If you are looking for a secluded, romantic getaway this is the place. Nestled in the mountains, overlooking a river and forests the scenery is mesmerising. The food is extremely good, and with only 6 rooms the service is great and overall atmosphere very quiet. If you are looking for a bit of adrenalin there are adventure companies nearby with kayaking, mountain biking, abseiling etc.... and the Kruger national park is only 30 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BushFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

My husband and i booked at timamoon in mphumalanga and was promised a fantastic lodge.according to the advert on their website the rooms looked great and clean. Upon reaching the venue through a road that damaged my car we were shown to our lodge. The lodge was full of frogs and spiders ,the toilet was extremely dirty and the bath tub was cracked.the five stars that they have are just for show and mean nothing else.the lodge had no aircons,television or secure parking. There were no signs of security in place and the main thing is that the lodge was really far from reception and had no telephone which means that should something happen ,you were supposed to call the manager from your cellphone.there were no proper lighting facility bear in mind that it is situated in the middle of the sabie forest. When questioned about the hygiene of the place we were told that the website covered all aspects of the accomodation but i think they forgot to mention frogs and spiders in the same room as you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wwwwww236589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

There is nothing worse than an unfair and vindictive reaction from guests when they realize they will not be refunded the payment for their booking. Timamoon do not believe that a complaint of one frog and one spider in the room is a valid reason to cancel a booking and especially when told that this was the Only reason why the booking was cancelled. It is only when it became evident that money would not be refunded for a same day cancellation,that these complaints were made. It is also important to note that not once were these complaints made direcly to Timamoon.
Timamoon is also of the belief the earlier review is from the same persons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Timamoon is not the most romantic hotel on earth nor is it a little piece of heaven! The road (if you can call it that) is not fit for any other car besides a 4x4! At some points you actually think you are going to roll down the cliff. The reception is a small little room with a desk. We got shown to our lodge(FULL MOON) by the receptionist/manager who was driving in front of us with a 4 wheeler.The car bearly made it back up the hill. We get to our room only to see that there is a padlock closing the 2 sliding doors! This did nothing for a sense of security.If you from South Africa you will understand this security issue that we had. There is NO TV, AND NO PHONE! If you want to contact 'reception' you will have to call the Manager/waiter on his mobile phone. The matress is as old as the hills themselves. The satin sheets were disgusting, old and tattered.
If you are used to blockout lining make sure you take your eyemasks because it will feel like the sun is in your room. There is NO AIRCONDITONING. The bathroom stank of mould. The bath and shower were both so gritty. There is hardly any hot water so i dont know how on earth you could fill up the tub anyway, but the manager had mentioned that we had to wait a while for the hot water... ANYWAY... If spiders is your thing then you will defnitally enjoy the stay in your room. The thatch was riddled with webs. The most disappointing thing of all was that the plunge pool was as cold as the north pole! And yes it was summer.
You have two options to get yourselves to dinner, walking in pitch darkness with a flash light or you can be clever and rather drive. There is NO LUNCH OR MENU for lunch. All you get is a lousy picnic basket. If you order it, so by the time you get to dinner you will be starving. Your stomachs wont be screaming for anything French unless you have a stomach the size of a smartie. It is all a set menu, and 95% of the time they wont have what you choose because the 5 other couples ordered the same thing ('sorry we out of that') Over all the food was terrible.
The only amazing thing about Timamoon are the views. Good Luck down the mountain.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tash4gigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

Reviews like the above, are very disappointing because we do strive to ensure that Timamoon is unique and very special in every possible way. However, I guess we have to accept that the occasional visitor will not enjoy Timamoon, preferring the more conventional hotel with televisions, phones, air conditioners, conventional hotel bathrooms, large hotel lobbies, copious amounts of food and rooms close to the restaurant.
Regarding the road, we do apologise that in October the road was not up to the usual standard, but at that time there was an enormous amount of rain and flood warnings in our area which made it very difficult to maintain the road. I am pleased to say that we have since been able to sort the road out.
Yes we do have brass padlocks on our large glass sliding doors that open up to the most gorgeous views of the river below, and we use these locks because they are attractive and is the most simple way of locking sliding doors. No, we do not have televisions in the rooms and never will have as it is not in keeping with the romantic ambience of the rooms. We do have two very large televisions in our cigar lounge which is built high up to make the most of the views all the way to the Kruger Park, just in case you get bored with the television.
The satin sheets on our King size four poster beds are imported from London and are certainly not old and tatty and nor are our mattresses old!
Our baths are not made of shinny plastic but stone and are built to share, so after sharing one full bubble bath in a candlelit bathroom, there will have to be a wait before the geyser has a chance to fill up again.
Regarding the food, we do have a fabulous picnic menu from which guests can select their lunch, and as most guests prefer to either picnic on their outside daybed by their private pool or on the banks of the Sabie river, we have gone for the picnic option.
Timamoon is renown worldwide for its wonderful food, which is fine dinning at its best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

My husband and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and treated ourselves to a 2 night stay in Moon River suite. We had a very private and intimate time and were never interrupted unnecessarily. We had a picnic at our rooms one lunch time and the food was simple but delicious. The place had everything essential for a quiet, romantic time. We had a problem the one night as we decided to walk up to the restaurant for dinner and when it was time to go back, we had to walk quite a distance in the pitch dark. A security guard led the way with a torch and it was a little daunting but no mishaps.
The restaurant has a limited set menu for dinners and we were not happy the last night as the food on the menu was not to our liking but the staff were quite happy to organise something else for us.

Breakfast also set menu but it was really good and setting there is so lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
19.3 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
21.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.3 mi away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#2 of 16 in Sabie
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Tanamera Lodge
Tanamera Lodge
#6 of 42 in Hazyview
191 reviews
9.4 mi away
Misty Mountain
Misty Mountain
#6 of 16 in Sabie
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timamoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timamoon

Address: Sabie-Hazyview Road | R536, Sabie 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Sabie
Price Range: £216 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timamoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each individually styled villa offers private pools, luxurious four-poster Indian beds and candle-lit bubble baths large enough to share. Diner at night is an intimate affair with candle lit meals. Spa treatments are done in the privacy of your villa. There is horse riding, hot air ballooning, river rafting, aerial cabling and a 40-minute drive to the Kruger National Park or Blyde River Canyon.Timamoon is fast becoming popular with couples from all over the world who are looking for a private and exotic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, South African Hotels, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Timamoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timamoon Hotel Sabie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing