We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timamoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Timamoon
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Sabie
Certificate of Excellence
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We have just got back from spending a romantic weekend at Timamoon and we have to say
that we were impressed.The 4km route on a rutted dust road does make you wonder what you
have got your self into,but once you arrive those thoughts evaporate.The staff were very friendly and made us feel as if we were home.
We stayed in the Blue Moon Lodge and we were impressed.The lodge was impressive and we
really enjoyed the silk bed linen and spa like bathtub.The only complaint,if you could call it that,is that when the sun rises,the light streams into the lodge and wakes you up.The meals were delicious,with a mix of oriental spices and typical african flavours.Overall,a recommended experience.We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vitomoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give Timamoon a review. It is always fabulous to hear that guests have so enjoyed their stay that will be back.
We look forward to that
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    26
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
207
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We went to Timamoon for our anniversary, sadly only 1 night there but we'll be back for sure! We stayed in New Moon. The whole reason we chose Timamoon is for the unique setting which cannot possibly be fully imagined even after looking at the website, once you arrive it just gets better and better. We love nature, birds, ABSOLUTE peace and quiet and privacy and the space just to be ourselves. For once, the website kept it's promise! You are not sold a concept. What can we say - Timamoon invites and encourages all the senses to come out and play.

We had booked a full body massage for each of us on arrival and organised a bottle of champagne to be waiting. Perfect! Just lying on that spa bed at our lodge, on the top of the hill, looking down the valley at the river, listening to the birds, feeling the breeze on our bare backs, listening to the wind rustling the leaves was paradise found. The huge bath with delicious bubbles, candlelight and the colours are magical and the decor and the reason behind it, is to be appreciated. We could have stayed the entire time just in the bath it was so gorgeous - nothing like reclining in the bubbles with a glass of bubbly in the hand.... Sadly the owner does not run an interior design establishment otherwise we would have commissioned them right away! You simply have to immerse your soul in the very reason that Timamoon exists and the passion with which it has been created, where and why, exactly. Hats off for the decor, not only are the creators immensely gifted people but the attention to detail is awesome. The owners are just the nicest, softly spoken people with twinkly eyes that really smile and no false words spoken. The food was truly unusual and sublime and the best part was no guilt as quiet clearly Timamoon have been creative enough to provide mouth watering dishes but on the healthy side. For once, healthy food never looked so beautiful nor tasted so good! Ask us, we know. We love passionately prepared food and good wine! All this and in a very intimate dining room with roaring fire in the fireplace, beautifully laid tables and more......

At night, the restaurant and bar take on another feel altogether - all we can say is sultry, sexy, beautiful lighting, and more sultry. So many nooks and spaces to steal a quick kiss and stay aware of each other....... The cocktails were a nice touch and the stepping stones to the bar still tickle us. Everything there encourages a light spirit and good humour and somehow, one manages to forget about the outside world - it is truly like being transported to another planet back in time when nature ruled.

Sadly we did not have enough time to take another bath before breakfast as we had booked a microlight flip at 10h00. Not before an exquisite breakfast all set up outside under the trees....... you just gotta be there to experience it. Intimacy and romance all the way.

Somewhere from the time we arrived, the sunglasses got lost so there was quite a panic about it - thank you again to Kate and the staff for looking everywhere for them.... it turned out in our mesmerised states we put them in a place we don't usually!! A sure sign the brain switched off for a spell!

And lastly a huge thank you to everyone at Timamoon, the gardners, the workers, the cleaners, kitchen/restaurant staff, Annelle, Kate, Gaylyn, Maurice, for the evident team effort in creating and maintaining such a wildly delightful place for us to escape to. Thank you for the bottle of champers!!!!! This was the best anniversary we have ever had! A million thank-you's! Bless you all and may Timamoon's light continue to shine brighter than the rest. Cees & Sharlene van der Slikke, Jhb, SA

Room Tip: For anniversaries and the like, Moon River, New Moon & Amber Moon we think are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndlwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive and extremely positive review. Timamoon is certainly about romance and passion, even if it is only for one night! The saying goes, "Everyone should experience Timamoon at least once in their lives"!
The comments relating to service are most valued as the staff love to read that they have been appreciated.
There is not much more I can say as the review says it all! Just a big thank you from the Timamoon team for taking the trouble to say thank you to all of us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

You can leave the world behind. Very secluded, food was incredable. Very romantic and private.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgrdecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thanks for the review which was short and so positive! You said it all for us in two sentances.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

So we hesitantly made a booking for our tenth wedding anniversary, unsure of what to expect, and whether our huge car would be able to make it up the terrible roads. We follow the directions to the letter and uncover a JEWEL.
From the moment you leave the main tar road and venture onto the dirt, you are completely drawn into a world of natural beauty. You cross the bridge / private entrance and you wonder how on earth did this place even come into existence. You are met by a friendly security guard who is expecting you, asks you to sign in and the rest is simple, "FOLLOW THE ROAD". Your journey begins on a windy and mesmerising dirt road with low hanging trees, drive slow as you just might be greeted by one of Africa's elusive Duiker species. After an enjoyable drive, you reach the reception area where you are warmly welcomed by your host with a refreshing drink and pleasant, light conversation. Follow your host on his 4 wheeler as he takes you to your private piece of the Forest.
When you arrive, your private couples massage is waiting for you. Enjoy and Relax.
All activities can and are arranged by the lodge, from an early morning hot air balloon flight over the Sabie Valley (NOT TO BE MISSED), to canopy tours and dirt biking through the forest.
Return to the lodge for an afternoon shower and get ready to be blown away by the most delicious food (HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE LAMB). Your Chef will personally explain every dish to you and how it is prepared (EVERY NIGHT - REALLY APPRECIATED THAT). Every dish deserves a photo.
When you return to your lodge, your space has been tidied up, your bed turned down, your fire burining warmly and floating candles lit around your honeymoon suite. Apart from the restaurant staff, the only other staff we saw, were security and garden staff. Not once did we see any cleaning staff, though our space was always neat, tidy and clean when we turned around.
To sum it all up,
The Staff - Friendly and very professional
The Food - Exquisite, Tasty and Plenty
The Lodge - Private, Spaceous and most of all Unique, decadent and exotically beautiful
The Activities - Easy, Organised and Breath-taking
The Roads - Dirt, but large enough for a Hummer H3
Never before have we experienced such personal and professional service.
"It felt like the honeymoon we never had, talk about rekindling the flames of romance!"
Thanks to Jacque and the Timamoon team to creating a little piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you for a wonderful and beautifully written review. It means so much to me and my husband who have tried to create something different and unique, to see read that you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us. From the Chef, to the manager, to the housekeepers and to the security guard, we all were delighted with your comments.
I had to smile about the "second honeymoon", because romance is what Timamoon is all about and it seems to be working!
Regards
Gaylyn Hammond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Timamoon... What an absolute gem.

It really is heaven on earth and undoubtedly the most romantic place on the planet – as the owners rightfully claim. We marveled at the sub-tropical gardens, the views from our hilltop bungalow, as well as the careful Moroccan and Asian inspired decoration of the guest suites and social areas.

The service was outstanding and authentic, the food of the highest quality, and my experience of the place rather unforgettable. Small touches like the turn down and lit fire we found upon our return from dinner were lovely. The massages were wonderful too. Other highlights included the outdoor shower and the exotic daybed outside next to the pool. But the best thing here is simply to sit still and savour the sunset over the rugged terrain and lush rain forests in the valley far down below. It's a moment I could never get enough of; one that really makes you feel you could be anywhere in the world.

I actually got really depressed as we left the lodge after one night’s stay and will definitely return to explore the hiking trails and picnic area.

One tiny point of constructive criticism - I didn’t quite like the strong incense upon arrival and sweet air cleanser scent in our room – maybe this is something that needs to be checked with guests beforehand as I’m sure not everyone will like it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannesLoubser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thanks for a wonderful review. We were absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed Timamoon so much. Comments on the service certainly help to keep everyone motivated and proud to be a part of the team. Your comments regarding the incense burning at reception have been noted and we have decided to only burn the incense in the courtyard rather than in the reception area.
Hope to see you again one day
Regards
Gaylyn Hammond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Timamoon took my breath away from the moment we turned onto the dirt road. Being in a Renault Clio, we were a little apprehensive about the road - having read one of the previous reviews. Our little car, however, made it up the road with ease (even after a storm the night before).
Timamoon is exactly what the website says and then some. It is exclusive, private, relaxing, incredibly romantic and filled with the most exquisite furniture and decorative pieces. We were wowed by our room (if you can call the palace we booked into a room) and the view from the deck was fantastic. Timamoon whisks you away into another world where the hustle and bustle of life becomes a faint murmur in the background and where your spirit can beathe freely again.
My husband and I were treated to the most exceptional service by Jacques and his team. Every little detail had been attended to: from the lily's in the room, to the silk robes, to the gourmet food to the beautiful turn down at night. Both of us were incredibly reluctant to leave the next day - having been spoilt as though we were royalty.
We are definitely going to return to Timamoon one day - we can't wait for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenandTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

My wife and I took a trip to Timamoon for our one year anniversary. The first thing that you realise is this a magical place while descending off the main road and over a majestic wooden bridge. Upon arrival at reception we were welcomed with drinks and shown to our lodge. We were put in their honeymoon lodge called Blue moon, the view from the lodge is amazing looking down on to the river far below, once at the lodge I was automatically enticed by the private splash pool. We were treated like absolute royalty by the professional and welcoming staff. The food was an out of this world experience with everything cooked to perfection. The menus were unique and were designed for the day with some interesting flavour combinations of various foods. The room had an African theme and was complimented with a Jacuzzi sized bath, outdoor shower, fireplace and private splash pool. I would highly recommend Timamoon to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
8.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
10.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
20.7 mi away
Misty Mountain
Misty Mountain
#3 of 16 in Sabie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#4 of 16 in Sabie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
9.2 mi away
Tanamera Lodge
Tanamera Lodge
#5 of 43 in Hazyview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bambuu Lakeside Lodge
Bambuu Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 19 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timamoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timamoon

Property: Timamoon
Address: Sabie-Hazyview Road | R536, Sabie 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timamoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each individually styled villa offers private pools, luxurious four-poster Indian beds and candle-lit bubble baths large enough to share. Diner at night is an intimate affair with candle lit meals. Spa treatments are done in the privacy of your villa. There is horse riding, hot air ballooning, river rafting, aerial cabling and a 40-minute drive to the Kruger National Park or Blyde River Canyon.Timamoon is fast becoming popular with couples from all over the world who are looking for a private and exotic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, South African Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Timamoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timamoon Hotel Sabie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing