We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing & unique experience!”
Review of Timamoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Timamoon
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Sabie
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing & unique experience!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here during September 2012. Timamoon is really out of this world - we loved every single minute of our stay. The views are beautiful and the villas are really unique. Our only regret was that we only stayed for 2 nights. We would definitely go back. I would recommend this for anyone who would like to escape reality and just relax - but still want something unique! Awesome experience - magical!

Room Tip: The road is really not that bad - a car will get you there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marthelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Hullo to you both in Cape Town
Yipeeee someone at last puts the facts straight about our little road. It really is not bad and is in fact very beautiful. It is an incredible drive through a indiginous forest and there is a canopy of trees over the road so that often you cannot see the sky.
Thank for your great review and yes please recommend us as we rely mainly on word-of-mouth.
Glad to hear that you promising to be back and for longer
All the best
Gaylyn and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    28
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
213
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hazyview, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We recently had the pleasure of visiting Timamoon on 7th December for one night only (wish it could of been more) It was my partners 40th birthday so we decided to push the boat out and stretch the budget for the occasion and im so glad we did. The drive in from the main road is mysterious if not a little rough . On arrival we were immediately given the option to upgrade as the lodge was not at full occupancy, anyway we did and were more than happy of our surroundings and accomadation. We were relaxed from the beginning and time went too fast. The staff were helpful and the food was amazing (with the chef taking the time to come and explain the menu personally) Cant praise the place and staff enough, we were well looked after and was sad to say goodbye the following morning. Mark & Monica

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Hi Mark & Monica
Glad to hear that the 40th Birthday was a special occasion. Will pass your comments to our chef, Lilly, as she really does try very hard to make every meal a wonderful occasion.
Please come visit again BEFORE the 50th birthday. Remember we also have wonderful midweek specials so no need to stretch the budget next time!!!!
Regards
Gaylyn and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Well worth it. The views are fantastic and the amenities so in touch. The warm bushveld and the romantic room with the food being taken to your room. The outside shower and the outside tub, couch looking out over the sabie valley, breathtaking.

Room Tip: Rather spend a little more and go for the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkFairhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

All the comments look very impressive except for 2 major problems that most people mentioned. Cold swimming pool and not enough warm water. These problems can easily be fixed at minimal cost and it will improve your reviews! Install an extra 200-liter geyser and fit a solar heating system to the pool. Happy customers and great reviews!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roelie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Firstly, the setting is surreal!! breathtaking views from our unit ( Moonriver). The decor and furnishings are chosen well to fit in with the theme. Secondly the service of Jacques and Lilly were exceptional!!!! Lilly's food was out of this world!!! We enjoyed being pamperred, the little touches.......... like the champagne. We enjoyed the remoteness of the unit, and especially the daybed( privacy)
Only complaint, we would have loved to use the swimmingpool, but a bit freezing..........., else a little bit of heaven on earth!!!!
Andrew & Zerilda Snow

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowsZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to post a review . Was delighted to hear that you felt well looked after and that Lilly, our chef, treated you to some good food.
Yip the pools are cold in winter and if we heated them then we would have to cover the pool with those dreadful plastic covers and that would look awful.
Hope to see you again someday
Regards
Gaylyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at Timamoon for 3 nights, at Moon River 1 night too long. I enjoyed the stay, however, I would say I a little claustrophobic with attention to my service needs, a little too much like Steford Wives for me. Timamoon is a secluded and upmarket property near Hazyview and the Kruger National Park. What I loved most was the day bed, its views and casualness. The breakfasts were over the top, I couldn't eat everything that was served. The food was excellent, but for me became a bit of a marathon, you couldn't do dinner in under 3 hours and breakie under an hour. The lodge, my wife loved it, she described it as a Moroccan Palace. For me, it was a little too cluttered with wonderful old ornaments. I couldn't see at night as the lights were only for decoration. I would go back every few years for 2 nights, the wife loves the place, I would be interested to see how the forest has grown on the vista from Moon River. Yes, the hot stone massage is highly recommended. And the security guards kept the baddies away, and there were a lot of them.

Room Tip: Moon River has great views down to the river and valley... and the day bed is great. Altough a drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We hadn't done an awful lot of research before we came here - the photos on the website looked good and it was near Blyde River Canyon so we thought it would fit the bill.
To say we were blown away with what we found would be an understatement!
The journey was arduous as we arrived just after the bad rains and the normal track was washed away (although was about to be brought back into use as we left). This meant we had a tricky journey in our hire car (1.3 Toyota Corolla) along a forest track - advice would be to hire 4 x 4 if possible but we made it with care.
Great credit has to go to Katie and Jacques who made us feel exceptionally welcome and were very knowledgable about the local area.
We stayed in New Moon - a lovely lodge with a great plunge pool and a lovely view of the Sabie River. It was about a 7/8 minute walk uphill to the dining area or alternatively you could drive up - we enjoyed the walk!
What we hadn't expected was the standard of the food - the passion of the chefs (we had two during our stay) shone through from the presentation of the menu, to the food itself, and the review after the meal. Absolutely fabulous and just the right quantities. You could dine in the dining room (with an open side) or outside overlooking a wonderful goldfish pond - we enjoyed both but outside was our favourite. There are only three tables there so if the lodge is busy the staff ensures everyone gets a turn! Breakfasts are superb too.
The design of the whole place is so unusual with an eclectic mix of decor which comes together so well that it is a destination in itself.
The atmosphere was great and thanks again to Jacques and Katie who hosted us brilliantly!

Room Tip: If you want a little closer to the dining area ask for Amber Moon or similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheDunsBuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
8.2 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
11.9 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
10.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Misty Mountain
Misty Mountain
#5 of 16 in Sabie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
9.2 mi away
Tanamera Lodge
Tanamera Lodge
#5 of 40 in Hazyview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bambuu Lakeside Lodge
Bambuu Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 20 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timamoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timamoon

Property: Timamoon
Address: Sabie-Hazyview Road | R536, Sabie 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timamoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each individually styled villa offers private pools, luxurious four-poster Indian beds and candle-lit bubble baths large enough to share. Diner at night is an intimate affair with candle lit meals. Spa treatments are done in the privacy of your villa. There is horse riding, hot air ballooning, river rafting, aerial cabling and a 40-minute drive to the Kruger National Park or Blyde River Canyon.Timamoon is fast becoming popular with couples from all over the world who are looking for a private and exotic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, South African Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Timamoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timamoon Hotel Sabie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing