We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best place ever...”
Review of Timamoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Timamoon
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Sabie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2008

We first stayed at Timamoon in July 2006, and returned again July 2007. The place is totally out of the world, it has become our favourite place to go. Each lodge is unique in its own way, and all are interestingly decorated with bits and pieces the owners have collected on their travels. If it's romance you are after then Timamoon is definitely the place to go. The dinning room is to die for, the romantic ambience will take your breath away. The staff and owners are extremely hospitable, and each time we leave we feel like part of the family. It's one of our best experiences ever! Definnitely for those who enjoy and can afford the better things in life.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2006

Timamoon Lodge is this hideaway spot in the Sabie River Valley, close to Kruger and Hazyview. The hotel consists of 4 or 5 lodges at the top of a mountain (with a pretty hairy drive to get there) - each probably at least 1000 ft2 with its own plunge pool and amazing view of the Sabie River. The rooms are stunningly decorated with native objects the owners pick up on their travels throughout the world. The bathrooms are enormous, with giant baths and indoor/outdoor showers. The views are lovely. And the price comes with dinner and breakfast, which starts with an aperitif served in a patio area on stilts they call the temple, and is followed by dinner in the dining room with its cozy fireplace. The food was superb. The only drawback is the service in the dining room...the waitresses took issue when my husband mentioned that he'd been given the wrong appetizer, and then when we asked if we could take dessert with us to our room (as my husband wasn't feeling well), we were flatly told no, which seemed silly. But other than this small thing, we thought it was perfect and are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dcf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle kamers zijn top
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank laura_eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die teuersten Zimmer sind die Besten!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ThomasFroese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 150€ per nacht pp om te slapen in muffe, vochtige, vuile slaapkamers. Dit domein moet dringend geren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CBosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessiejoan, Manager at Timamoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
19.3 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
12 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 2 in Graskop
625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.3 mi away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#2 of 16 in Sabie
123 reviews
21.1 mi away
Tanamera Lodge
Tanamera Lodge
#6 of 44 in Hazyview
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timamoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timamoon

Address: Sabie-Hazyview Road | R536, Sabie 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Sabie
Price Range: £238 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timamoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each individually styled villa offers private pools, luxurious four-poster Indian beds and candle-lit bubble baths large enough to share. Diner at night is an intimate affair with candle lit meals. Spa treatments are done in the privacy of your villa. There is horse riding, hot air ballooning, river rafting, aerial cabling and a 40-minute drive to the Kruger National Park or Blyde River Canyon.Timamoon is fast becoming popular with couples from all over the world who are looking for a private and exotic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, South African Hotels, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Timamoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timamoon Hotel Sabie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing