We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality & service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Floreat Riverside Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sabie
Livingstone, Zambia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality & service”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The level of service at the Floreat Riverside Lodge is outstanding! The staff were warm, friendly and helpful, and the service was excellent. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and spacious - excellent value for money! I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone visiting Sabie!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    20
    15
    9
See reviews for
17
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My family and i recently stayed at the three star for a breakaway of 5 days.
On arrival we were greeted by a receprtionist that ensured that our Check in was done quick and professional.
We booked a self-catering unit that is situated next to the river that created a very relaing atmosphere.
The unit had everything we needed, from an lovely large kitchen / open plan lounge area.
We decided to have breakfast at the restaurant two of the mornings. The buffet that was served had a lovely variety for a continental breakfast. The staff was very profeesional and made us feel at home instantly.

In the afternoons after spending the day exploring the panorama route we had an excellent lunch at the pool .
To sum up our experience i would say that:
*The floreat is great value for money,and i would truely recommend it to anyone who needs a break from the hectic city life.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Self-catering units next to the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champery, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

20 years ago. it was probably a nice place, but ....
First, we liked the food, the very nice staff (specially at the restaurant) and the location of the (M)Hotel.
But we didn't like :
- no wifi
- the rooms
- the price (expensive regarding the quality)
- the dirty pool.
Actually, the Floreat needs a lot of work (rooms, gardens, lobby, restaurant, terraces, etc.) to be nice and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sabie hotels

UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

A very mixed experience, especially at the front desk, where you are obliged to play the receptionist lottery... the outcome of your enquiry or request will depend entirely on who appears to deal with you, ranging from animated, friendly and helpful to "I really couldn't care less about you, this place, my job, or indeed the world."

The accommodation itself was adequate, and spacious, if a little dated. We were in one of the apartments away from the main building, with a separate bedroom, with bunk beds, plus two single sofa beds in the main living/cooking area.

Provision of utensils, crockery and cutlery was sparse, to say the least. It was a struggle even to prepare a simple cooked breakfast - I wouldn't have attempted anything more adventurous with cheap non-stick pans, poor quality utensils, including the sort of finger-removing tin opener that the rest of the world said goodbye to a couple of decades ago, and barely enough plates and cups for four people. Yet the fridge/freezer, microwave and hob/oven were all new and worked perfectly... so it seems silly to scrimp and penny-pinch on such minor costs as crockery!

Air conditioning in the main area had little or no effect on the adjoining bedroom - we hoped it might cool both rooms, but it didn't. Really, both rooms should have a unit.

Oddly, the kitchen area has an eminently usable breakfast bar - but no stools to sit on. I asked if they had any, wondering if ours had been removed for some reason, but no, they don't provide any. So, to sit and eat, you must use the bench and table outside.

There's a barbecue (grill) outside each unit, but beneath ours was a wasps nest, and when retrieving his football from beneath it, one of our six-year-olds was stung on the face. When we looked closer, there were more of these nests beneath the car port, too. Maybe some pest control would be in order.

The swimming pool was small but OK, but generally the pool area, and indeed the whole place, had an air of decay about it that we found quite common in this area - it desperately needs a lick of paint to cheer things up. (Not sure if the same treatment would also cheer up the receptionists, but it might be worth a try.)

Overall, not a bad experience, but not great, either - adequate would sum it up, and good enough value for money. Maid service was 100% - room was clean, and the maid washed the dishes we'd left while going into town to find some wasp sting treatment - we weren't expecting her to do that, and left her a tip by way of thanks, having never actually seen her (or him?) during our brief stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philsayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My partner and I stayed at this retreat during a short holiday for 3 days in march..
With so many places to choose from we finally settled for the three star lodge.
From the minute we arrived we were treated with warm, friendly service which didnt stop untill the very last day.
The rooms we booked were clean, and very comfortable.
The traditional buffet breakfat we had everyday had a very nice variety.
I think for R695.00 per couple per night we got a lot more than we expected and is great value for money!

What we liked best about the Floreat is the great food, excellent service in all departments and just the friendliness of each and every staff menber.
I defnitely recommend this facility to anyone..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safariladypretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed for 2 nights as a base for exploring the area. We were unhappy with the first room we were given (we originally booked a self catering unit for flexibility but it felt very dated and was directly above the bar). The owner/manager was very accommodating and moved us to a better room when we asked if he had anything else available. The standard of the second room was reasonable for a 3-star place - clean, good size and functional. There were enough decent places to eat in town that we didn't eat anything other than breakfast, which was ok, at the hotel. It's not a luxury hotel and the website makes it look better than it is, but it's ok. Although our second room was more expensive than the one we booked we were not charged extra for it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJF212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We were really looking forward to our long weekend break to Floreat riverside lodge - it looked really nice on the Internet (the wonders of photoshop I suspect!) and we had high hopes of a lovely stay. On arrival we were told we were booked into one of the "family rooms" as there was my husband and I and our 2 children aged 3 and a half and 11 months. This room was next to reception in the main building - we should have realised our mistake when we got to the room and the room number was stuck onto the door with prestik and was printed on laminated paper block. Once inside we realised how basic it was, there was 1 double bed and 4 single beds scattered around the room. There was a table in one corner with 2 chairs and a grotty looking couch that no more than 2 people could have sat on, but to be honest I did not want to sit on it at all. The concrete wall unit was tatty and the TV only had SABC 1,2 and 3, not even e-tv ! We then saw the bathroom door, this was a pressed board door which had not even been painted - really grotty and the bathroom itself was basic and the floor tiles did not even match the room tiles and it was completely dated and old fashioned. I put my little one on the floor to crawl around but once across the room was enough for me, he was filthy and for the rest of our short stay we did not allow him back on the floor. Our room led out to the parking lot, our view was of our car and of the main road running past the hotel - spectacular, especially considering that there was a car club there and the members were revving their engines and showing each other who was boss for most of the afternoon ! We decided to pop into the Pub for a sundowner, a whisky and water and Savannah light cost us R76-00- what a rip off, this was not the Sun City Palace that may be able to justify prices like those !

I then decided to bath the kids, this was our next problem the water was at best lukewarm, even with the hot tap on full, so the kids had a quick bath and had to be wrapped up warm as the room was cold and the bath water not much warmer - the shower was much the same, adding to the fun of the shower were the cobwebs !!

Our next suprise came later on when we tried to go to sleep (because there was no private area once it was time for our little boy to go to sleep at 7pm the rest of us had to follow, trying to watch TV (a hard task with only the 3 SABC channels anyway !) would have resulted in our little boy being awake half the night with us ! Fortunately we bought a camp cot with us and our little girl had a sleeping bag to sleep in, a blessing in disguise as I would not have wanted my little ones to sleep on anything the hotel provided. My husband and I slept in our clothes with one of our babies blankets over the pillows as we did not want to venture under the covers. Our wonderful peaceful slumber was like an afternoon nap, we discovered that once we switched off the light, the thin cream curtains let all the light into the room, predominantly from the light outside in the parking lot which was our view ! Yes, our room door led straight to the main parking a joy as we could not open our door any time because there was NO privacy from the parking area. Apart from that we had the constant road noise and the chit chat of the night security guard to all his mates and the clanging shut of the gate as people came and went in the night - what a joy our 1st night was !!!

The next morning after an awful night we went to get breakfast which was ok, but our spirits were slightly down as our only thoughts were of how to spend as little time as possible at the hotel in our room- so we went to the Kruger park for the day. On returning we went to get a bite from the pub -a kiddies spaghetti bolognese (R40-00) and a margherita pizza (R55-00) which took forever to get and were almost inedible-the pizza was yellow from cheddar / gouda cheese and not mozarella !

When we got back to the room that night we packed all our stuff and after another restless night we left the first thing the next morning, forfeiting the rest of our money we had paid for the extra night , but feeling that it was worth it rather than spend another night in this dreadful place !

I would certainly NOT recommed this establishment to anyone else, it is a tatty, run down hotel and is misrepresented on the Internet. I would be interested to know if the people who determine the star ratings of hotels have been there recently as this place should even have stars !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
20.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
19.6 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
207 reviews
19.5 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 13 in Hazyview
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
358 reviews
18.0 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 13 in Hazyview
437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#3 of 16 in Sabie
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floreat Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floreat Riverside Lodge

Property: Floreat Riverside Lodge
Address: PO Box 150 103 Ou Lydenburg Road | Sabie, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Floreat Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florea Riverside Lodge have 65 en-suit rooms,2 honeymoon suites,5 executive rooms, 8 self-catering chalets / equipped with guest amenities- air-conditioning-telephones Free Wi-Fi & Internet, E-Tv SABC 123, Movie, Sport and kiddies channels. Groups Weddings Conference ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Floreat Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floreat Riverside Hotel Sabie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing