We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, we held our wedding here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Floreat Riverside Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sabie
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, we held our wedding here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

My hubby and I stayed here and held our wedding at the small chapel onsite. We had the reception here as well and hosted family and friends. It was such an amazing stay and of course memorable for all the right reasons. We loved the beautiful chapel and with everything right there on site and close it was such a great experience. The "honeymoon" room (not sure what it is called) but it was so nice with a great canopied bed and the large spacious bathroom with the private patio was perfect for getting ready for the wedding. We lounged by the pool the day before and enjoyed the calm relaxed feel. it is a great location to explore the area as well. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. The owner and staff were also very accomodating and made sure that were we well taken care of. Loved it!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowthatimetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    19
    13
    9
See reviews for
16
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livingstone, Zambia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

The level of service at the Floreat Riverside Lodge is outstanding! The staff were warm, friendly and helpful, and the service was excellent. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and spacious - excellent value for money! I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone visiting Sabie!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My family and i recently stayed at the three star for a breakaway of 5 days.
On arrival we were greeted by a receprtionist that ensured that our Check in was done quick and professional.
We booked a self-catering unit that is situated next to the river that created a very relaing atmosphere.
The unit had everything we needed, from an lovely large kitchen / open plan lounge area.
We decided to have breakfast at the restaurant two of the mornings. The buffet that was served had a lovely variety for a continental breakfast. The staff was very profeesional and made us feel at home instantly.

In the afternoons after spending the day exploring the panorama route we had an excellent lunch at the pool .
To sum up our experience i would say that:
*The floreat is great value for money,and i would truely recommend it to anyone who needs a break from the hectic city life.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Self-catering units next to the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champery, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

20 years ago. it was probably a nice place, but ....
First, we liked the food, the very nice staff (specially at the restaurant) and the location of the (M)Hotel.
But we didn't like :
- no wifi
- the rooms
- the price (expensive regarding the quality)
- the dirty pool.
Actually, the Floreat needs a lot of work (rooms, gardens, lobby, restaurant, terraces, etc.) to be nice and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sabie hotels

UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

A very mixed experience, especially at the front desk, where you are obliged to play the receptionist lottery... the outcome of your enquiry or request will depend entirely on who appears to deal with you, ranging from animated, friendly and helpful to "I really couldn't care less about you, this place, my job, or indeed the world."

The accommodation itself was adequate, and spacious, if a little dated. We were in one of the apartments away from the main building, with a separate bedroom, with bunk beds, plus two single sofa beds in the main living/cooking area.

Provision of utensils, crockery and cutlery was sparse, to say the least. It was a struggle even to prepare a simple cooked breakfast - I wouldn't have attempted anything more adventurous with cheap non-stick pans, poor quality utensils, including the sort of finger-removing tin opener that the rest of the world said goodbye to a couple of decades ago, and barely enough plates and cups for four people. Yet the fridge/freezer, microwave and hob/oven were all new and worked perfectly... so it seems silly to scrimp and penny-pinch on such minor costs as crockery!

Air conditioning in the main area had little or no effect on the adjoining bedroom - we hoped it might cool both rooms, but it didn't. Really, both rooms should have a unit.

Oddly, the kitchen area has an eminently usable breakfast bar - but no stools to sit on. I asked if they had any, wondering if ours had been removed for some reason, but no, they don't provide any. So, to sit and eat, you must use the bench and table outside.

There's a barbecue (grill) outside each unit, but beneath ours was a wasps nest, and when retrieving his football from beneath it, one of our six-year-olds was stung on the face. When we looked closer, there were more of these nests beneath the car port, too. Maybe some pest control would be in order.

The swimming pool was small but OK, but generally the pool area, and indeed the whole place, had an air of decay about it that we found quite common in this area - it desperately needs a lick of paint to cheer things up. (Not sure if the same treatment would also cheer up the receptionists, but it might be worth a try.)

Overall, not a bad experience, but not great, either - adequate would sum it up, and good enough value for money. Maid service was 100% - room was clean, and the maid washed the dishes we'd left while going into town to find some wasp sting treatment - we weren't expecting her to do that, and left her a tip by way of thanks, having never actually seen her (or him?) during our brief stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philsayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

My partner and I stayed at this retreat during a short holiday for 3 days in march..
With so many places to choose from we finally settled for the three star lodge.
From the minute we arrived we were treated with warm, friendly service which didnt stop untill the very last day.
The rooms we booked were clean, and very comfortable.
The traditional buffet breakfat we had everyday had a very nice variety.
I think for R695.00 per couple per night we got a lot more than we expected and is great value for money!

What we liked best about the Floreat is the great food, excellent service in all departments and just the friendliness of each and every staff menber.
I defnitely recommend this facility to anyone..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safariladypretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed for 2 nights as a base for exploring the area. We were unhappy with the first room we were given (we originally booked a self catering unit for flexibility but it felt very dated and was directly above the bar). The owner/manager was very accommodating and moved us to a better room when we asked if he had anything else available. The standard of the second room was reasonable for a 3-star place - clean, good size and functional. There were enough decent places to eat in town that we didn't eat anything other than breakfast, which was ok, at the hotel. It's not a luxury hotel and the website makes it look better than it is, but it's ok. Although our second room was more expensive than the one we booked we were not charged extra for it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJF212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
11.8 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
19.6 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#3 of 16 in Sabie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
1.9 mi away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#7 of 16 in Sabie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floreat Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floreat Riverside Lodge

Property: Floreat Riverside Lodge
Address: PO Box 150 103 Ou Lydenburg Road | Sabie, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Floreat Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florea Riverside Lodge have 65 en-suit rooms,2 honeymoon suites,5 executive rooms, 8 self-catering chalets / equipped with guest amenities- air-conditioning-telephones Free Wi-Fi & Internet, E-Tv SABC 123, Movie, Sport and kiddies channels. Groups Weddings Conference ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Floreat Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floreat Riverside Hotel Sabie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing