We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lone Creek River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Sabie
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had read good reviews about this lodge, but unfortunately we did not have a good experience. We arrived at approx. 4:00 p.m. after travelling from 5:00 in the morning. My husband was ill and just needed to get some food and lie in bed. The restaurant at the lodge was closed so we went into town to get some food at the super market. By the time we returned at 5:00 the guard at the gate informed us that the reception was closed. The front desk staff failed to tell us that we had to pre-book breakfast, so by the time we read this in our room after 5pm, there was no one at the front desk to inform of our wish to have breakfast. 
We were in the ground floor room of 4-plex lodge and there was a family with small children above us. There was absolutely no insulation between the rooms and we heard every extremely loud creak in the floor, their voices and arguments and this went on for 5 hours before they went to bed. It was unbelievably loud. They awoke before 6 am and consequently so did we. We also heard the conversations of the people in the room adjacent to us on the ground floor.
The bed sheets were dirty and the wood for the fire would not light in the fireplace (we tried three times using all of the fuel provided).
We slept poorly, had no breakfast and left early the next morning due to the circumstances. I did relay all of this to the front desk staff, who subsequently said, that she had accommodation on the grounds and she could have been contacted. This had not been relayed to us by the guard.
We were very disappointed by our experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the 4-plex lodges, especially on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    31
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
18
45
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

My siblings and I couldn't have chosen a better getaway to shake off the festivities in preparations for the rest of 2014. Management was pleasant & very helpful. The staff was so "fairy" like in that you never saw them dusting the room up, nor did they continuously knock on the door while we were there as per usual with other establishments - but like magic, our rooms were always spick & span upon our return.

It was just what my siblings and I were looking for. A quiet but very alive town with activities a short distance away - really, what more could one ask for?? Oh... Maybe log cabins... They are such an absolute beauty. Although I didn't sleep at the "hotel" part of the establishment, I can safely say, the log cabins were the best.

Yes, I could go on and on about how perfect Lone Creek River Lodge was... But I urge you to rather go and check it out yourself.

One word of caution, mosquitoes! Goodness me! They were in their numbers. But in their defense, the entire town has an abundance of mosquitoes.

I would do this lodge again in a heartbeat!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nandiswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Lone Creek River Lodge is a great place to stay with family. The lodge is superbly maintained and very child friendly. Our chalet overlooked the pool in the well kept grounds. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The top rooms have a loft which is fun for the kiddies but not so fun when you have to climb the ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugeshni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We decided to have christmas lunch at Lone Creek as we have had pleasant experiences there before. All I can say is "wow". Well done to the management and staff of the Lodge. The table settings were beautiful and the food was out of this world.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our group of 13 stayed the night in the chalets across the road from the main lodge. The rooms have plenty of space including a lounge and a large bathroom. Staff are all very attentive and help with luggage at both check-in and departure. Grounds at the lodge are beautiful and the breakfast was good. Front desk recommended 'The Wild Fig Tree' restaurant for dinner and this recommendation was greatly appreciated as we had a fantastic dinner there. We will stay again at this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed for one night at the Lone Creek River Lodge in June 2011 while on our Honeymoon. We had a huge Room and a beautiful bathroom. The Hotel was fine but it is the diner we had when we arrived which puts the hotel over the top! The dinner was really great and service was perfect !

Breakfast was maybe slightly above average, but not as good as dinner. The hotel isn't far away from the Lone Creek Falls (15 min drive) which are a must see ! Beautiful gardens surrounded the hotel. It's a great Hotel but we wouldn't stay there for much longer than a night as there are much better places to see in SA...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brakpan
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We find this beautiful hotel on the internet.We contacted the hotel and the friendly owner Liezl helped us with our booking.The hotel are situated in an area where the nature is very beautiful! We stayed in one of the cottages and we find it well equipped and it is also very neat and clean and surrounded by beautiful gardens! The cottage are very spacious and have everything that you need to relax ! The hotel and the other rooms are also very beautiful and the service of the staff are excellent! We regret the fact that we only have time to stay one night at this beautiful hotel!
Christo de Jager August 2013

Room Tip: The cottages and river rooms are very nice if you want to be private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christojdejager d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabie hotels
0.9 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
12.7 mi away
Timamoon
Timamoon
#1 of 16 in Sabie
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillwatering Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#3 of 16 in Sabie
158 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gunyatoo Trout Farm & Guest Lodge
1.4 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Creek River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Creek River Lodge

Property: Lone Creek River Lodge
Address: Old Lydenburg Road, Sabie, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Sabie
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Creek River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Lone Creek River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing