We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Food and Attentive Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountain

The Fountain
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Tuddenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yeovil
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Food and Attentive Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I had occasion to visit this pub twice when I was on holiday in Suffolk - once for lunch and once for an evening meal - and on both occasions I was impressed by the quality of the food, the service and the ambiance. There is a good range of pub/bistro/restaurant food on the menu to appeal to all palates. For the lunch I had the fishcakes and I was recommended to try the sweet potato chips, which were delicious! In the evening, I had a fish salad platter, which consisted of a good selection selection of fish pate, mackerel, beetroot and herring. Prices are reasonable considering the quality on offer and the staff are discreet but attentive. Tables are placed sensibly so that conversations can be had without loud music ruining the atmosphere. It is a pub which would appeal to all ages and tastes and there is plenty of parking outside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YeovilSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    89
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fountain Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We experienced another excellent evening at The Fountain enjoying good food and superb service. Has been commented that the set menu is a bit dear....but it's worth every penny. One of the best restaurant / dining outlets in the Ipswich area. The staff are so attentive and are always worth a generous tip. Charles knows how to provide service to a high level and therefore providing superb value for money. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab pub, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We love this pub/restaurant. It is consistently excellent, both quality of food, service and price. We have never been disappointed. Menu choices offer something for everyone, big and small appetites and it is loved by my 86 year old mum and my nieces and nephews in their 20's. Plenty of car parking and lively garden but word of warning - can get blitzed on nice Sundays with full restaurant and more than they can cope with in the garden do beware of a long wait.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkChinawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really good night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Went to Tuddenham Fountain to celebrate my birthday with friends and had an excellent evening. Most of us had the set menu which was really reasonably priced but delicious. Nice ambience and service good - didn't feel hurried along at all.
It had been a while since my last visit but definitely still lived up to expectations.

Helpful?
Thank Westtja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Went there on a bank holiday Monday with our 5yr old son. Had the most wonderful meal with my son trying scampi for the first time.
We were pleased with the meal sizes - you get what you pay for... A good sized portion of top class food which, after main and dessert, left us feeling satisfied but not overly bloated.

We are of the opinion that sometimes it's nice to pay a bit more for an exceptional meal of good size than less for an overloaded plate of average quality.

If you're looking for Hungry Horse sized portions and quality, stay away and leave this place for those of us who appreciate wonderful food at good value prices.

Our son's "child meal" was absolutely huge and almost the same size as an adult portion.

We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mishabgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fountain also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing