We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great goujons and crackin' complimentary bread!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fountain

The Fountain
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Tuddenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ipswich
1 review
“Great goujons and crackin' complimentary bread!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had a great meal in the sheltered outside area, service was quick, and staff friendly and smiling.
The only 'negative' is the smallish range of spirits and the like. However, as I went durin an afternoon sitting, the lack of variety ensured I didn't turn to day time drinking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chickenrunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    91
    24
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Steak - Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My partner and I tried the restaurant on recommendation by a friend - And were we so glad we did ......
I had the steak, medium done, perfect. My other half the liver, the best he had ever tasted so he says.
The staff were very attentive, but never intrusive. The setting lovely. I have nothing but good things to say about this place ... Try it, you won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonGhannam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The Fountain looks great from the outside and is tastefully furnished inside. The patio area and garden are immaculately kept. The staff were attentive and polite. The food though was patchy. The soup was very good and the King prawn starter was tasty but the Chicken Tikka was the worst example of a Tikka I have EVER tried and the treacle tart was bettered by most supermarkets. I don't enjoy paying for food of such extreme varying quality so we won't be rushing back. It's a shame because a bit of effort getting the food quality consistent would reap huge rewards.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renoir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a late Sunday lunch at this pretty country restaurant which is in a former pub. There were nine of us all with quite different tastes which the menu stood up to with no problem.

This old pub is quite a rambling building and we were seated in a small room at the back. It was a beautiful sunny afternoon and the ambience inside the room with its open windows was perfect. We chose to sit indoors but there is plenty of outdoor seating in the shade or in the sun.

We all enjoyed our meals and found the service to be warm and friendly. We took our time and were not hurried by the staff. One person in the party found that the bean burger she had ordered was luke warm, which was disappointing. However, it was taken away and brought back heated up although it was still not piping hot. Another person in the party had bean burgers as well and they were hot - so we were a bit baffled about that one.

Everything else was fine and we would definitely go back to give it another chance. It was very busy so it is clearly a very popular place to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent as always ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Another great meal at the Fountain - consistently good food & excellent service . No wonder this place is always buzzing !!!

Helpful?
Thank Dinerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fountain also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing