We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and dismissive owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feltham
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rude and dismissive owner”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

During breakfast got into conversation with the owner, I wish I didn't-he started pointificating and lecturing about his "oulook" on things, rooms are tiny, location isn't great. I came to stay for the night, not argue about how one should live their lives!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessJodiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorheathrow, Owner at Ambassador Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Regarding your review, I have, as has another hotelier from another review you have posted, emailed you direct with regard to your apparent stay as we also have no record of you staying here whatsoever. You also appear to say you stayed here 8 months ago and are only now posting this review?

I am the owner of The Ambassador and I always take a keen interest in my guests and often chat with them, but I can honestly say I have not, and would never think it appropriate or my place to lecture guests about how to lead their lives? I would not even think it appropriate with my personal friends let alone a guest staying here at my Hotel.

In the absence of you replying to my email I really do not know what more to say but I honestly wonder if your review has anything to do with The Ambassador Hotel.

Dean Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    40
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
37
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I had a one-night stay at the Ambassador while working locally. It's a welcoming and warm hotel with the 'personal' touch. The only negative comments for the four-poster room on the ground floor were the lack of light in the bedroom and the lack of heating in the en suite bathroom. That apart, the breakfast was excellent and the hosts most welcoming; and only 15 minutes from the airport.

Room Tip: The 'honeymoon suite' on the ground floor suffers a little road noise from about 0600. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorheathrow, Owner at Ambassador Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologise with regard to the lack of heating in that particular room and we are now in the process of having under floor heating put into the bathroom to make it more comfortable in the winter months.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Dean Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I booked this hotel as I had a meeting in town, meeting cancelled an hour later, I called hotel to cancel the booking and they charged me! after one hour??? No flexibility at all, manager said tough you should have read the terms and conditions. The worst service ever, would never stay there ever. I work for a big company near by and often recommend hotels near by would never recommend anyone stay there, if this is the customer service can you imagine how the hotel is run?! And By the way, I have stayed there before so I am a retuning customer!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whatnameiaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorheathrow, Owner at Ambassador Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Unfortunately as with all Hotels, we have a cancellation policy that guarantees not only the room for us but also for you. Regarding this booking, you are quite aware that I did not say tough at all, but simply tried to explain the terms and conditions you yourself had agreed to. Furthermore, you ask if people imagine how the Hotel is run although as you yourself had indicated, you have stayed here before and were returning so I suippose it is run very well? Unfortunately when a booking is made, it is taken off over 40 online websites and as such we have no idea if it could have been sold to somebody else whilst we were holding it for you.

Finally and even more importantly, you are also very aware that I agreed the room could be transferred to a colleague of yours (who has stayed here several times also) so you would NOT HAVE TO PAY ONE PENNY? I think it is very unfair to write such a review in view of the fact everything you have said is basically untrue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2012

My partner and I spent a very pleasant night. The room was secluded and very quiet. Bathroom facilities were excellent. The delicious breakfast was served in a pleasant conservatory, also very quiet. It's hard to believe that Heathrow is nearby. In spite of the December chill it was warm and cosy. Smokers have a heated patio area outside. I heartily recommend this lovely hideaway, excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdoardoPrimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorheathrow, Owner at Ambassador Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to inviting you back in the future.

Dean Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We arrived recently for a short stay and were met by the charming Manager Dean.

We were shown to our room which was perfectly appointed, and very comfortable! I particularly appreciated the decor and beautiful antique furniture.

The sitting area has the most charming open-fire place which truly distinguishes this lovely place as being totally different to your average "hotel" experience.

Unfortunately, we could not stay for breakfast, but the full English looked delicious!!

In summary, if you want to feel like a guest, rather than just a number, i could not recommend the Ambassador enough!! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorheathrow, Owner at Ambassador Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed staying here and next time I hope I can serve you the full English breakfast if you have time before your flight. Most of my regular guests stay here for just the reasons you have mentioned as I try to offer something the large corporate Hotel cannot provide with the individual service which I enjoy providing.

Many thanks and hopefully see you again in the future.

Dean Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I was welcomed by Dean, the owner, who carried my bags up to a spotlessly clean room. It was cosy and warm, and the bathroom was lovely and clean with nice toiletries

The room had two lamps at the side of the bed, but no light over the writing bureau in the corner, which made working on my computer really difficult, but this was soon remedied when another lamp was brought up to the room

I decided to stay at the hotel and eat dinner in the restuarant. Sadly, this was disappointing. Although it was very tasty, it wasn't hot enough and had to be sent back to be reheated and it was about the size of a child's portion, so if you have a hearty appetite, don't eat dinner here (the lady who served me who appeared to be waitress/receptionist/cleaner was lovely and so apologetic about it not being hot enough)

On the other hand, the breakfast was piping hot and absolutely enormous!

Dean is a really lovely man and extremely keen to ensure that everything was to your satisfaction. Just one comment Dean - after listening to the ONE song playing over and over on your computer for an hour while working, made me want to scream, and the music (jazz) in the restaurant was awful!

Having said all of that, I would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynneth44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We were only at the Heathrow Ambassador Hotel for 1 night, but enjoyed our short time there. It was easy to find (we took a train from London to Felham Train Station, then walked the block or 2 to the hotel). The young lady who let us in was most accommodating, friendly, and anxious to please. I had requested a room on the main floor as we were lugging heavy suitcases and that's what we got. The room was lovely, the bed comfy, and everything was so clean! When I mentioned that I needed a printer to print our boarding passes, she offered her computer (ie. the hotel's) and I was able to print what we required. She also called and arranged for a taxi to pick us up the next morning and bring us to Heathrow Airport. The next day, we met the owner of the hotel and found him to be very friendly and kind. We paid for the morning breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed the first "full English breakfast" we had ever had. It was freshly prepared, delicious, and - we thought - reasonably priced for the amount of food provided. Only three suggestions for improvement; better lighting in the room, a larger comforter/duvet for the bed, and a better heating system for the breakfast room. These are minor things however, and we would definitely stay there again. :o) :o)

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the main floor to avoid climbing the stairs with heavy luggage and were given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittyhawk52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feltham
0.2 mi away
St Giles Heathrow - A St Giles Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge London Feltham
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.7 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Heathrow Hotel

Property: Ambassador Heathrow Hotel
Address: 10 Hanworth Road, Feltham TW13 5AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Feltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel close to London Heathrow. All rooms are en-suite with coffee trays, trouser press, DVD players, CD players, flat screen TVs, free wireless internet, direct dial telephone, quality Egyptian cotton linen and full English breakfast included. Beautiful residents lounge leading through to the conservatory breakfast room and on to the large patio garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Heathrow Hotel Feltham, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing