We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secret Garden Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 52 Bloubergstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wish I could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here for two nights, but 2 memorable ones. I had my car so it was great to be able to drive around and come back in a room fully furnished with a kitchen where you can easily prepare a nice diner. We also had a braai one evening, organised by the owners together with the other people in the house. Great evening. More an apartment which easily makes you feel at home, as you've got everything which you need, even a place to sit and relax, outside and inside. Next time I'll book a few extra nights!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PaulinedeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao D, Owner at Secret Garden Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.We are are happy that you had a wonderful stay at Secret Garden and we strive to do our best to ensure that our guests are as relaxed as possible,having the ambiance of home away from home.

We are looking forward to your extended stay when you next book at Secret Garden.

Regards
Joao and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
41
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Hospitality is too good and the care taker is very friendly. To be honest, i didn't really expect this comfort in the guest house. The rooms are too good and spacious. We really enjoyed our stay in this wonderful guest house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rajesh v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao D, Owner at Secret Garden Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor, we are very happy that you and your family had a fantastic and comfortable stay at Secret Garden.
I will convey to my staff your gratitude and appreciation.

Looking forward to your next return.

Regards
Joao and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed 10 days in this lovely place. The owners (althought having both a job) do their outmost to make your stay as lovely as they can. Give lots of info and even cook on most sundays a traditional potsjie for all guest in the garden! (Damien makes you ' Springbokkies') The breakfast made by Sandy is a very good start of you day and comes with a big smile! Quit located and on waling distance (shortcut with staircase) down to Blouberg beach where you can have your dinner at a few restaurance or do you running workout on the boulevard! Rooms are African Chic and make sure you have one of the rooms overlooking the garden. We saw all app and they are all spacy and lovely decorated. The beds are super!!! No problem if you need you laundry done or ran out of wine. Joey and Damien make your stay as good as they can!! We willl come again if we are lucky enough! Thank you Joey for the lovely conversations we had!!

Room Tip: We had the room on the side of the house. Other rooms overlook the garden and pool and are even a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MiriamTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao D, Owner at Secret Garden Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Similiarly It was wonderful having great conversations and laughter over the course of your stay with yourself and Thomas.The lamb potjie that we serve normally on a Saturday afternoon weather permitting is always great as all the guests have an opportunity to interact and discuss their travels and so forth.

Our executive suites are spacious and beautifully decorated which tries to incorporate the lush garden and the African theme.I am happy that you felt comfortable in your suite.
Zandy will always brighten up your day when serving breakfast in your suite or weather permitting on the patio overlooking the garden.

Thank you once again for choosing Secret Garden Guesthouse and we are looking forward to welcoming back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Regards
Joao and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful guest house, I felt at home away from home, Joey and Damian,the owners, were very friendly,helpful and went out of their way to make my stay the a most comfortable and Zandi always had a gracious smile on her face :) the garden suite was simply amazing! If u ever in Cape Town, Secret Garden is the place to stay, Thank You guys!!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nazeer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao D, Owner at Secret Garden Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor and i will pass on your gratitude to the team as we continue to strive the be the best that we can be in serving our guest needs.Zandy does have a wonderful smile and always happy to assist.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Joao and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos State, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My stay at the Secret Gardens Guesthouse was superb!!!!..It really does have a secret garden in a tranquil environment. The rooms are spacious and have the basic amenities. Oooh!!! The breakfast by the patio with the whistling birds and view of the beach is out of this world. The pool is lovely too.The service is great and the managers are nice people who are friendly and loyal to their guests and so entertaining too..Its the perfect guesthouse for a home away from home. They get to guide you around the city and give you tips on how to make your trip convenient..it's a guest house you will always want to go back to.if you want to feel that home comfort away from home,that's where Secret Gardens Guesthouse comes in. They sure will offer the hospitality you can't get elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanDuarte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao D, Owner at Secret Garden Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and WOW that we are so happy that you all had such a pleasant stay.Guiding our guests to the different tourist spots and ensuring that you all felt at home is what we strive to succeed.Our facilities and our beautiful tranquil garden just adds to your enjoyment and comfort whilst at Secret Garden.

We look forward to your return

Regards
Joao and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a very good stay in secret garden where the owners, Joao & Damian welcome you as if you were part of the family, and always try to help you when needed. The apartments are very nice and clean, the bed is huge! 5mn drive from Big Bay, and 30mn from downtown. Perfect location for us.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jerome S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao D, Owner at Secret Garden Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and it was a pleasure welcoming yourself and your wonderful wife to the family of Secret Garden as this is the atmosphere we try to create home away from home.We are happy to assist our guests wherever possible to ensure that their stay is as comfortable as possible.

We look forward your return with the rest of the family.

Regards
Joao and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Being for the first time in Cape Town, I was unfamiliar with the city and the surburbs. While I stayed at the beginning in the center, I wanted to relocate out of the city, also to be closer to the surf beaches. Internet research has then led me to the Secret Garden. It was no disappointment, it even topped my expectations. It's a great location, nicely shaped house, well-sized and nicely decorated and equipped rooms - like a fully functional kitchen - and lovely inhabitants. It was always a pleasure to get back to the house and have it feel a little bit like home. Socializing with the owners and staff was great and always helpful to make my stay more pleasant. First highlight of the day was in the morning hours, when breakfast was delivered to the room. I felt completely safe in that neighbourhood and house. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Touaregh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao D, Owner at Secret Garden Guesthouse, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.We strive to make our guests feel as welcome as possible and giving them the feeling of been safe and at the same time been able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings that our facility has to offer.

We look forward to your return.
Joao and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloubergstrand hotels
3.4 mi away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#2 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
#6 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
#1 of 52 in Bloubergstrand
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
#8 of 52 in Bloubergstrand
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sir David Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Guesthouse

Property: Secret Garden Guesthouse
Address: 33 Gull Road, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bloubergstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bloubergstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Secret Garden Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden Guesthouse is a boutique hotel with a heated pool, garden and roof terrace situated in the exclusive Cape Town suburb of Blouberg. Ideal for holiday or business travel, we offer spacious and comfortable accommodation just minutes walk away from pristine beaches, trendy restaurants and vibrant nightlife. Our hotel has daily room service and consists of five individually decorated apartments, each with its own bedroom, bathroom, sitting room and kitchenette. To name just a few each apartment is equipped with quality features such as crisp white linen, rich, plush sofas, thick towels, bathroom amenities, satellite TV, a mini home theatre system, a plasma tv, safe, fridge, microwave and free Wi-Fi Internet. Soak up the sun next to the pool on our sun loungers surrounded by a lush tropical garden or find your perfect spot in the Secret Garden. Blouberg boasts with several lovely restaurants and shops within walking distance where you can enjoy a coffee with the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and Robben Island and only 5 minutes drive to Big Bay. We are easy to find just off the West Coast Road (R27) and provide a peaceful respite from the hustle and bustle that becomes with being so close to the city. We are a mere 30 minutes drive from the city centre, famous V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain and Cape Town International Airport. Relax in our spacious beachfront hotel and take in the beauty of Cape Town, with breathtaking views on our own rooftop terrace across Table Bay to Robben Island. Rated 4 stars by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, our hotel appeals to all ages, business executives, professionals, people with disabilities, sports enthusiasts, couples and families, all of whom know our personal hotel facilities, with a beautiful landscaped garden designed with the guest in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secret Garden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing