We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this restaurant - One of Cape Town's Best !!”

The Indian Chapter Restaurant with Prim Reddy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to our home. At the Indian Chapter in Blouberg, our culinary offering will take your taste buds on a sensational journey to the land of Kings. Our chefs sing while they cook & you will feel the love in both our curries & tandoor delicacies. Our decor is authentic, the ambience fantastic & our bathrooms are beautiful. Belly dancing every Friday. Booking essential. Hope to see you soon.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We love this restaurant - One of Cape Town's Best !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We have always enjoyed the tasty and affordable food this restaurant has to offer and since its recent revamp it is a total package representative of a wonderful authentic Indian dining experience. Traditional decor, friendly waiters, superb food and service, one of the few Indian restaurants in the suburbs surrounding Cape Town and definitely one to savour! Try the CTM & Lamb Sheek Kabab - our favourite dishes at Passage to India. We visit the restaurant about once per month and cannot wait for our next visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeljoSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    91
    33
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cala'n Porter, Spain
Level Contributor
322 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Average Indian food with slowwwwwww service !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Two years ago we ate here but since changing hands this establishment seems to have made the interior a delight but sad to say food we had very average and service so slow.

Four of us ordered two starters for table Samosas & Chilli Bites these took almost 35 minutes from Order to arriving and to be honest the restaurant was empty with only us dining and a table leaving so hardly no excuse... When questioned was told only one chef in kitchen..Christ I thought by ordering Bombay Street food as something to pick at would have come quicker by DHL.

Mains were average in taste, flavor and lacked anything worth raving about sadly

Chicken Biriyani was not seasoned and Raita was watery and tasteless
Chicken Tikka Masala was nothing like I had eaten before around the world and the Chicken with Spinach be it frozen spinach was a pile of slop.

So sad to say we will not be back as to many nicer restaurants in the area

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“passage to heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We had heard that Passage to India had been taken over by new owners. The new owner ( Prim?) came and introduced herself and made us feel welcome.

We only ate the vegetarian food, so I cannot yet comment on the meat dishes - But the Palak Paneer ( spinach and cheese) Makhani paneer ( tomato gravy and cheese) Dal Tarka ( lentil stew) and Bombay Aloo (potato dish with mustard seeds and cumin) were all brilliant. I would say that the vegetarian platter was very oily - but aside from that, the food was superb.

We were surprised when we ordered Roti on the side that all dishes came with rice in any event. It makes a nice change. Most Indian restaurants charge extra for the rice and all the sides.

In addition their home made Kulfi ( Indian ice-cream was a great sweetener at the end). We eat out Indian relatively often and at R350 for 4 people ( excl drinks) for shared starters, mains and shared desserts this is one of the best value Indian eating-out experinces in Cape Town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mozzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had an early dinner here and as a result the restaurant was quite empty. This meant that we received our food quickly and the food was absolutely delicious. The only think that I would improve on are the glasses that we were served our red wine in...they were too small! But I will definitely return to sample something else on the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Indian Chapter Restaurant with Prim Reddy also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Indian Chapter Restaurant with Prim Reddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing