We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to Bloubergstrand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
Ranked #7 of 54 Bloubergstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Easy access to Bloubergstrand”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Before leaving Cape Town I wanted to take some pictures at Bloubergstrand and this was a very nice location to stay at. Had a car and there were free parking. Were greeted with coffee and the keys. The owner, John was very nice and printed my boarding card for me. Since I was going to the airport he also advised me how to avoid the rush hour.

The room was nice and clean. I did not pay for Wifi since I did not have big demands. Nice instruction booklet. Left at 5 am in the morning and were instructed on how to leave the keys. Did not have breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    35
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
60
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at Sunset Lodge for about 9 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. It was just like a home-away-from-home. We stayed in Room 2 which was clean, quiet, spacious and had plenty of storage and a large balcony. The bathroom had both a bathtub and shower and the vanity had two basins with plenty of storage underneath.

The breakfasts were substantial offering cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurt, tea, coffee, juice and a full hot English-style breakfast. The girls who prepare the breakfasts also clean the rooms and carry out both tasks very efficiently. Full credit to Gina, Quinnie and Natasha. Breakfasts are in the dining room and it was a great opportunity to mingle with many other guests from around the world and share our experiences in South Africa.

Upon arrival at Cape Town airport we found that hire cars were all booked out that particular day so we caught a taxi to Sunset Lodge. John could not have been more helpful in assisting us to locate a car, even offering to drive us to a car rental office that afternoon.
Although we did not use the pool or charcoal barbecue, other guests did and were encouraged to help themselves to the facilities without interference from the owners.

All in all it was a very relaxing and comfortable stay. The only gripe we had was with the iron and ironing board. My husband like his clothing meticulously ironed but this was difficult as the iron did not get hot enough and the ironing board was small, unstable and dangerous.

We would definitely consider staying there again when next in Cape Town and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 2 is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosaposer165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloubergstrand, Owner at Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for posting a review on our property and good to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Regarding your comments on the iron and ironing board, please accept our apologies. I had a look this morning and they were in an unacceptable condition and have been removed. There will be a new iron and ironing board in the room this afternoon (as well as two other rooms).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The Sunset Lodge is only a few minutes walk to one of their best views in all of Cape Town. The place itself is very nice, and John the owner is a great guy. The breakfast is fantastic as well. Unfortunately WIFI isn't free like the other B&B's I stayed in. It's actually quite expensive. The room we stayed in was excellent however we were disappointed there was no mini fridge. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

John and his team are doing their best for their guests. We felt like home. I have never been to a hotel before with the same excellent tidying up, the same creative way of arranging the breakfast fruit and so many smiles by the staff. It is a quiet place. Bloubergstrand is about 30 min driving from Cape Town and offers the best view to the Table Mountain. John gives you a lot of recommendations for the area. Try the oons huisie for dinner!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraNSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This place is warm and friendly, but also clean and neat.
Facilities include paid-for WiFi and others. no airconditioning, but basic room heating.
beds comfy, linens and towels are excellent quality and clean.
secure parking off-street.
nice and quiet as long as there is not a howling south easter. :)
i'd say 3-4 star quality and can definitely reccommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinLompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloubergstrand, Owner at Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed ( 2 couples) at the Sunset Lodge for 3 nights in Room 1 and 2 (with balcony). The building is clean, modern and the staff are very friendly. The surrounding is very good and quiet. a few walking minutes to the beach and to shops restaurant 5-10 minutes by car. We will certainly return to this b&b on our next visit to Cape Town again. But then we gonna stay longer :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billabonger80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed 5 days in this B&B. We visited South Africa 5 times and stayed in a lot of B&B's, and we are very sorry to say that we don't think this B&B earns a 4 star quality! The surrounding is perfect, quiet and friendly. We stayed in room 2 and had a stunning view with a large balconny and a good but narrow beth. And that was it. When you see the website we can only say that the photos are very good made, you are expecting a stylish B&B then, and it wasn't. There are 2 rooms with a nice balconny, the other rooms haven't. For those people there are only 2 beds at the pool and a large wooden table with chairs on the first floor (not comfortable). The pool is very, very small, you look straight in the office of the owners. We think that 'an freshen up' will help this B&B. There are a lot of withered plants and little things everywhere. It's a pity because it has a lot of possibility's. The breakfast is normal and a bit simple if you don't won't anything cooked (eggs). The staff is very friendly, the owners we hardly see (only the day after arriving and the moment we are leaving), the lady of the house didn't introduce herself at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FransRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloubergstrand, Owner at Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Frans and Ricky

I apologise that certain things were not to your satisfaction but can only thank you for taking the time to point them out to us. I will certainly get the staff together to discuss all the issues you raised with a view to making things right.

Would you consider accepting 2 days free with us on your next vacation to see if we have improved?

Kind regards

John (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloubergstrand
1.6 mi away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#1 of 6 in Bloubergstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bloubergstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
#1 of 54 in Bloubergstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Guesthouse
Secret Garden Guesthouse
#5 of 54 in Bloubergstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blouberg Holiday
Blouberg Holiday
#3 of 20 in Bloubergstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge

Property: Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
Address: 41 Gull Road, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bloubergstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bloubergstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge is an upmarket residence located in the quiet seaside village of Bloubergstrand. It has panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and is adjacent to a tranquil green belt. The finishes throughout the Lodge are of an extremely high quality. All bedrooms have large orthopedic mattresses, white cotton percale linen and fitted carpets. All bathrooms are en-suite and fully tiled. The larger rooms have private furnished balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing