We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for more (since 19987)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
Ranked #9 of 52 Bloubergstrand B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Luckily I managed once again to stay at Sunset Lodge with my friend from Switzerland. John and Sylvia went out of their way to accommodate us in the smaller 'facing-the-back' room as the place was fully booked. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay, it would have been nice to stay in one of the main rooms with all the space and views - next time again. I discovered Sunset Lodge years ago looking for accommodation for my wedding invites, been back regularly with friends and family from overseas. It is a great place to stay in squeeky clean and spacious rooms with beautiful views, central and secure yet out of metropolitan stress.

Room Tip: Book early to get one of the rooms with balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Spent a night at the Bloubergstand Sunset Lodge in Oct 13. Found the rooms to be comfortable, quite spacious and priced quite well. Beyond that, I found everything pretty average. By no means poor or negative, just average for this area which contains some pretty stiff competition.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloubergstrand, Owner at Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Ouch! On a personal level this hurts as we definitely strive to do better than just "okay". We need to pull up our socks. Thanks for shaking us up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Perfectly matching the beauty and relaxed vibe of Bloubergstrand, Sunset Lodge is the ideal place to switch you from the Joburg rush-to-get-it-done mode to the Capetonian let's-have-another-cocktail-to-celebrate-the-magnificent-sunset mode. Modern, yet cosy and welcoming. Fantastic value for money considering the location, oceanic views as well as a full english breakfast demanding a guest to return again and again. John and his team do a great job!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Before leaving Cape Town I wanted to take some pictures at Bloubergstrand and this was a very nice location to stay at. Had a car and there were free parking. Were greeted with coffee and the keys. The owner, John was very nice and printed my boarding card for me. Since I was going to the airport he also advised me how to avoid the rush hour.

The room was nice and clean. I did not pay for Wifi since I did not have big demands. Nice instruction booklet. Left at 5 am in the morning and were instructed on how to leave the keys. Did not have breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at Sunset Lodge for about 9 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. It was just like a home-away-from-home. We stayed in Room 2 which was clean, quiet, spacious and had plenty of storage and a large balcony. The bathroom had both a bathtub and shower and the vanity had two basins with plenty of storage underneath.

The breakfasts were substantial offering cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurt, tea, coffee, juice and a full hot English-style breakfast. The girls who prepare the breakfasts also clean the rooms and carry out both tasks very efficiently. Full credit to Gina, Quinnie and Natasha. Breakfasts are in the dining room and it was a great opportunity to mingle with many other guests from around the world and share our experiences in South Africa.

Upon arrival at Cape Town airport we found that hire cars were all booked out that particular day so we caught a taxi to Sunset Lodge. John could not have been more helpful in assisting us to locate a car, even offering to drive us to a car rental office that afternoon.
Although we did not use the pool or charcoal barbecue, other guests did and were encouraged to help themselves to the facilities without interference from the owners.

All in all it was a very relaxing and comfortable stay. The only gripe we had was with the iron and ironing board. My husband like his clothing meticulously ironed but this was difficult as the iron did not get hot enough and the ironing board was small, unstable and dangerous.

We would definitely consider staying there again when next in Cape Town and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 2 is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosaposer165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloubergstrand, Owner at Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for posting a review on our property and good to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Regarding your comments on the iron and ironing board, please accept our apologies. I had a look this morning and they were in an unacceptable condition and have been removed. There will be a new iron and ironing board in the room this afternoon (as well as two other rooms).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The Sunset Lodge is only a few minutes walk to one of their best views in all of Cape Town. The place itself is very nice, and John the owner is a great guy. The breakfast is fantastic as well. Unfortunately WIFI isn't free like the other B&B's I stayed in. It's actually quite expensive. The room we stayed in was excellent however we were disappointed there was no mini fridge. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

John and his team are doing their best for their guests. We felt like home. I have never been to a hotel before with the same excellent tidying up, the same creative way of arranging the breakfast fruit and so many smiles by the staff. It is a quiet place. Bloubergstrand is about 30 min driving from Cape Town and offers the best view to the Table Mountain. John gives you a lot of recommendations for the area. Try the oons huisie for dinner!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraNSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloubergstrand
3.5 mi away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
144 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#2 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
#6 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dolphin Beach Hotel
Dolphin Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Table View
149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
#1 of 52 in Bloubergstrand
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blouberg Holiday
Blouberg Holiday
#3 of 21 in Bloubergstrand
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge

Address: 41 Gull Road, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bloubergstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bloubergstrand
Price Range: £50 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge is an upmarket residence located in the quiet seaside village of Bloubergstrand. It has panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and is adjacent to a tranquil green belt. The finishes throughout the Lodge are of an extremely high quality. All bedrooms have large orthopedic mattresses, white cotton percale linen and fitted carpets. All bathrooms are en-suite and fully tiled. The larger rooms have private furnished balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing