We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
Ranked #9 of 52 Bloubergstrand B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed here in early February 2014,and received a warm welcome on arrival. Very clean facilities and room did not disappoint. Comfortable sleep and a very good breakfast with a selection of cereals, fruit and cooked breakfast. Can most definitely recommend this place as somewhere to stay if visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in our room with private balcony viewing to both the beaches and Robbeneiland. Breakfast was very good and especially the central common table was in view of social purposes with other guests very convenient. The owner and his staff were customer focussed and is a recommendation for the Blouberg area

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Arjan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed with a group of eight and everybody loved it. Very nice and spacious, airy rooms with lovely views over table bay. Rooms were nicely furnished and had nice bathrooms with really big showers. Large balconies in room 1 and 2. Breakfast was cooked fresh to order by the helpful and friendly staff.

Safe parking. Located in a quiet and safe residential area. Approximately 20 min to downtown Cape Town and 15 min to the most recommendable Canal Walk Shopping Center.

Many very good restaurants nearby. Your host John is very knowledgeable und helpful and will point these out to you and make the necessary reservations. It is much better to stay here than in Cape Town itself.

Been there before and will come again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloubergstrand, Owner at Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hi Manuel

Thanks for your wonderful comments and it's always a pleasure to have you stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again next time you're back in Cape Town.

Kind regards

John & Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A very friendly, open and spacious place. The sea facing rooms with their terraces look great. I was in the smaller land-facing room (the rest was booked) but it was cozy and nice anyway. It‘s a short stroll down to the beach and a good spot to get away from the hustle of city life.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Picked a bed & breakfast place to spoil my daiughter not too much and didn't regret at all: all good and easy. Room #1 with spectacular view, good breakfast, good location to access Cape Town, reasonable pricing. Two things I recommend:
Take you time to select your restaurants (especially the ones nearby) and avoid driving back to Bloubergstrand in rush hour times.

Room Tip: Ask for Room #1
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

John helped me with a room to stay for 3 wonderful days. Great hospitality and even better people. I felt at home from the start. Very accommodating and helpful. The food served is of excellent quality and taste. The prices are reasonable and the rooms are very clean and neat.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeFurSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Luckily I managed once again to stay at Sunset Lodge with my friend from Switzerland. John and Sylvia went out of their way to accommodate us in the smaller 'facing-the-back' room as the place was fully booked. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay, it would have been nice to stay in one of the main rooms with all the space and views - next time again. I discovered Sunset Lodge years ago looking for accommodation for my wedding invites, been back regularly with friends and family from overseas. It is a great place to stay in squeeky clean and spacious rooms with beautiful views, central and secure yet out of metropolitan stress.

Room Tip: Book early to get one of the rooms with balcony !
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloubergstrand
3.5 mi away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#2 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
297 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
#1 of 52 in Bloubergstrand
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Guesthouse
Secret Garden Guesthouse
#6 of 52 in Bloubergstrand
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sir David Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge

Address: 41 Gull Road, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bloubergstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bloubergstrand
Price Range: £44 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge is an upmarket residence located in the quiet seaside village of Bloubergstrand. It has panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and is adjacent to a tranquil green belt. The finishes throughout the Lodge are of an extremely high quality. All bedrooms have large orthopedic mattresses, white cotton percale linen and fitted carpets. All bathrooms are en-suite and fully tiled. The larger rooms have private furnished balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing