We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloubergstrand
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mandalay Beach Guest House
Ranked #23 of 52 Bloubergstrand B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Came to Cape Town for our Son,s wedding, so there was 5 adults in total. We had friends over for a braai, the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Usually stay with our Son when visiting Cape Town but would be tempted to stay at Mandaley again, very comfortable, very much home from home.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a little private garden, we enjoyed the privacy. My brother had room 1, also a lovely roo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Mandalay Beach Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

We had a great stay here, the room was large and had a beautiful view. The breakfast was delicious and the service was great. The only problem was that the pool was out of service while we were there and we had been looking forward to it. The gardens were beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markcouz, Owner at Mandalay Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are sorry for the inconvenience from the maintenance upgrade on the pool area. As you can imagine we try to keep upgrades to a minimum and to the winter months only. We are working always working hard to improve our facilities for you. Mandalay would like to apologize for your inconvenience.

Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Thank you Mark and Elisna for such a wonderful stay at your beautiful Guest House . The room was so comfortable and well equipped . The pool area was a complete surprise so well laid out with comfortable sun loungers and the sound of gentle running water . The breakfasts were great and well presented by your very nice staff . My stay in Cape Town was certainly enhanced by my stay at Mandalay Beach Guest House .

Room Tip: I was able too view several rooms all of which appeared to be all of a very high standard .
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Mandalay Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards
Mark and Mandalay beach staff 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed at Mandaley Beach last month and absolutely loved it. We booked the Presidential Suite and were blown away by the size and privacy and floor to ceiling windows. The room was very well equipped with a fridge, kettle, minibar and dining table. It has it's own entrance access from a little private courtyard with Koi pond. We were staying in Capetown for 7 nights and am so glad we didn't stay by the Waterfront. It was busy and lively down there but after 3 hours we couldn't wait to get back to the peace and quiet of our lovely residential guest house. The house was immaculate, the pool gorgeous, the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the location in Bloubergstrand was so convenient. It's just a 5 minute walk to the the most amazing white sand beach, with awesome views of Table Mountain and lots of Kite Surfers. There are some nice beach bars close by and lots of places to eat. V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain are just 25 mins drive away although avoid rush hour as the traffic is horrendous (8am-10.30am and 4pm-6.30pm).
There is a lovely pub on the beach close by, called Ons Husie, we ate there 3 days in a row as the food and ambience were just lovely.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs in the main house were less private, smaller and may be a bit noisier when the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaR444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Mandalay Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards
Mark and Mandalay beach staff 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Great 3 days in Blouberg. 15 mins drive to town, great breakfasts and attentive staff made this a relaxing place to park away from the bustle of the city.
Very comfy bed and private patio (which I would have used if not for that incessant Cape Town wind!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Mandalay Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards
Mark and Mandalay beach staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our time in the guest house, friendly staff, clean and beautifully presented rooms, grounds and common areas. We loved the swimming pool and terrace, the freshly prepared breakfasts and the how amazingly attentive the staff were to us.
Great location and wonderful rooms, ours was newly decorated and immaculate. I did look in some of the other rooms and they were as impressive as ours.
The owners were also on hand to advise and guide for the area, impart local knowledge and tips for our holiday. They were a delightful couple who obviously take this business incredibly seriously and it shows in the staff attentiveness and professionalism, it made our trip incredibly special. I've graded the scores highly as they truly reflect the standards that were delivered. You will thoroughly enjoy this guest house and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bax_windsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Mandalay Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards
Mark and Mandalay beach staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Can't fault our stay at the Mandalay Beach guest house. The hosts Mark & Elisna and their staff do everything to ensure your stay is pleasant & comfortable.

The location was perfect for us, even turning up early & extending the stay was not a problem.

Our room was lovely, very comfy, clean & well equipped and I slept like a log for the entire stay. Breakfast every morning set you up for the day, and was cooked fresh to order by friendly staff. Really good coffee, which is just what I need in the morning. The pool area was perfect for relaxing and very tranquil, umbrellas providing additional shade for your lounger.

A guest house that has the right balance of being small & friendly, with all the amenities of a bigger hotel, but left me feeling very much at home. Really didn't want to leave, and hopefully can find an excuse to go back.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which has a great view of Table Mountain - from the shower !!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Mandalay Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards
Mark and Mandalay beach staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloubergstrand hotels
2.6 mi away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
#1 of 52 in Bloubergstrand
200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
#9 of 52 in Bloubergstrand
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
capetown4u
capetown4u
#4 of 52 in Bloubergstrand
113 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sir David Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Surf Shack
The Surf Shack
#1 of 1 in West Beach
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Beach Guest House

Address: 4 Fathom Road, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bloubergstrand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bloubergstrand
Price Range: £41 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandalay Beach Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Beach Guest House is an up market Guest House situated in the exclusive suburb of Bloubergrand. Whether you’re a holiday maker or a business traveler, Mandalay Beach Guest House offers you luxurious, modern and affordable accommodation just minutes away from pristine beaches, trendy restaurants and vibrant nightlife. We are only a short drive from Cape Town International Airport, plenty of tourist destinations and business areas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing