We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the food...”
Review of Cormoran Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kibuye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cormoran Lodge
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Watch out for the food...”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I like the style of the hotel -- cabins nestled in by the lake. The rooms were spacious and had a good cabin feel to them. But, the food was not up to par. I realize that it might be the best food in town but it made two people in our party sick. We drank only bottled water and ate only hot food but it wasn't enough to protect us. The service was also not welcoming or appreciative.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COtraveler5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    48
    19
    4
    10
See reviews for
33
48
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is a bit of a trek to get to Cormoran Lodge and I recommend a car with a bit of a higher ground clearance. We unfortunately arrived late (7:15 pm) but the staff was waiting for us and were very helpful and eager in assisting us and our luggage to our rooms. It was the middle of the week and it seems like we were the only people at the Lodge. It looks like we therefore got the best rooms with the most amazing views!
The rooms are really amazing with huge bathrooms and we received a number of free bottles of water in our room! The rooms are spacious with a nice balcony! The only downside in the room we stayed in was that it was below another room and you can hear people walking around. It is however an ideal setup for a family as there was an inter-leading door and staircase between the two units.
We had a good meal (Pizza as we heard they were the best - and they were good!) They charged us corkage fee per bottle.
Breakfast the next morning was disappointing to say the least! You have to pay extra for eggs and the price the waiter gave us wasn't what they charged us - so be careful. Also it seems that as they brought out more omelettes they were less burnt!
They did organise a boat ride for us the next morning which we thoroughly enjoyed!
My friend's parting remark was that the staff clearly didn't seem happy to him and it showed! A pity as it is such a gem!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FastoneTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The small, rather difficult to find boutique hotel on the shore of Lake Kivu is a hidden gem. Like tree houses perched on the hillside overlooking the lake, the rooms have a romantic safari feel to them. Each "room" is actually like a little cottage, with a sitting area, huge bath, and wonderful beds. The small restaurant provides a surprisingly vast array of menu items. But nothing beats the view of the lake as you wake up in the morning. Birds singing, lush gardens blooming with flowers. This is by far the best place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Every room has a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NantucketJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Spent six nights here (still here) in may -14 been working in Musanze, took à car to Gisenuy and public boat to Kibuye, moto from boat 3 min upptill. All recommended by Remy the hotelmanager!
Lovely and happy Remy! Do you understand how much you add to Cormoran lodge!
Seven units in five wooden bungalows on stilts with à manmade beacharea on the lake. You se Kongo on the other side.
Units lovely, nice big wooden bed some positioned (room 4 ) towards balcony too ly in bed with gorgeus wievs. Coffe and Tea to make in room. Bathrooms absolutely to die for! Nice hot water and wellfunctioning toilets, all kept very clear. Main wooden house also on stilts keep reception and restaurant. Food ok not more. Breakfast basic but possibility to order eggs/omelette for add $3
Cormoran offer local rate if you work in Rwanda or live here, wich make price ok. As in most nicer places in Rwanda coast are unbelievable high. Too bad would stop me from coming back. On the other hand there is nice basis places resonably priced if you look some.
Overall I truly enjoyed My stay here and really recommend it if you want to be on the lake!
Ps I was told water is safe to swim in, I did not, due to bilharzia on other side, Kongo side, still same water. Maybe you want to double check that

Room Tip: My room nr 4 had very good wiev, all rooms do, but mine was perfect. House 1 had two doublebeds much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

after an amazing 8 hour drive down the Congo Nile trail we checked into this beautiful and tranquil lodge. Clean, private and well laid out but like most of Rwanda, the food and beverage side of the business would get a new zero rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOB O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed one night at the Cormoran Lodge in February 2014, as well as an afternoon by the lake. The garden is stunning, and the view over the lake unforgettable. There are watersports activities, and sunbathing areas for guests. The lunch we had was delicious, though service took a long time. The concierge Remi is a delight, and was very attentive to our needs.
We went out to dinner with friends then came back to the Lodge around 11pm. The road is reprehensibly bad – in a 4 x 4 truck earlier in the day it was manageable, but in a normal taxi unbearable. I strongly recommend the owner look to this. There was no guard on duty at the gate but eventually we were let in and made our way to a beautiful lodge. The bed was large and comfortable, as was the bathroom, though I was surprised that the shower did not attach to the wall – a small oversight in an otherwise impeccably finished room. Breakfast was easy and tasty, and then we came back down the bumpy roads on motos, which surprisingly made it easier. All in all, a fabulous place to stay, if you can bear the journey.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Cormoran is a good hotel to relax thanks to the great location and the spectacular views on lake Kivu.

The rooms have a breathtaking view and staff is very friendly and helpful.

Nevertheless, some aspects didn't appeal to me (price $180/night vs. quality):
- extra charge if you wanted an omelette at breakfast.
- uncomfortable and ugly plastic chairs on the terraces (in the room and in the restaurant): lack of details.
- ugly fake leather chairs in the rooms and in the restaurant.
- pillows, mattress and sheets were average.

I liked the food and the drinks (cocktails) but it was rather average.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StijnDC_Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kibuye
24.7 mi away
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gisenyi
233 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Hotel Paradis Malahide
#1 of 5 in Gisenyi
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ubumwe
Hotel Ubumwe
#5 of 5 in Gisenyi
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
INZU Lodge
INZU Lodge
#1 of 20 in Gisenyi
119 reviews
24.9 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden Resort
Palm Garden Resort
#6 of 22 in Gisenyi
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cormoran Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cormoran Lodge

Property: Cormoran Lodge
Address: BP 08 Kibuye, Kibuye BP 08, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Western Province > Kibuye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kibuye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cormoran Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort and peace with quality service at our charming wooden lodge on the shores of beautiful lake kivu in rwanda. all our rooms or cottage offers a beautiful view of the lake kivu. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing