We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend Bushara Island Camp!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bushara Island Camp
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We were incredibly impressed by our stay at Bushara. Having visited many community projects around the world, this one seemed to be a truly sincere and successful initiative! They provide great service and care to detail for visitors. Be sure to take a historical tour to the nearby islands (William was an incredible guide!) or ask to hear about all of the initiatives that the Island Camp supports for surrounding areas and families (seedlings, swim lessons, health projects, widows' income co-op, schools, etc). Not to mention the incredible location and amazing food and great staff!!
Although their solar energy system isn't ideal for charging phones or computers (they did their best to accommodate it), they have a plan in place to improve this for people that want electricity. We stayed in the Kingfisher cottage, hot water was provided for showers anytime, and the view was amazing. Very rejuvenating after hectic work and travel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

What a wonderful setting! We went to Bushara as part of a tour to see the mountain gorillas. We were totally surprised that after an amazing morning with the gorillas, more treats were to come! A great place for an afternoon walk, absolutely stunning. We also went for a swim in the lake. Good food too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattea_on_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The location is very beautiful. Lots of small birds on the island. Do not forget your camera with telezoom. Very helpful staff, very disciplined. If they say 'dinner at 8pm', it is 'dinner at 8pm', not 7:55pm, not 8:10pm. Basic lodging (no electricity, no running water), atlhough very comfortable tents. We were surprized by the big 'a la carte' choice in the restaurant, even pizza and home-made pasta dishes. The island is great to relax, but gets a bit to quite after a day. You have seen the whole island in 1,5 hour. The lodge has several organized tours. Avoid the 'pygmee' tour, because it is very humiliating how they behave to get your dollars. This is in total contrast with the behaviour of the Ugandess people, who are extremily friendly, disciplined, and helpful. If you have the time, do the Mukoni Village tour, it is only 15min paddling from the island to the mainland, and a 2 hour walk brings you to a trading post in the village with superb 360° view of the lake and surroundings. Really worth the trip !

However, do only include the place in your itinary if you really want to fully relax. for us, the island was too quite.

Gerrit

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerritL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Definitely worth a visit especially as the canoe ride only takes about 40 minutes. The island is covered in greenery and the eucalyptus trail is a good way to spend an hour or so. The restaurant on top of the hill offers a wide selection of food and a great view. The spaghetti with crayfish comes highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank travellybugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

The island is the ideal place to relax and unwind. We stayed in the tree house, the shower has wonderful views out to the lake and the balcony is perfect for enjoying breakfast. My only complaint would be that the staff were a little grumpy at times!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrNJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Bushara Island is an amazing little place - great way to relax during a backpacking trip. This will be a lengthy review, but I can't stress enough how wonderful it is.

I stayed on Bushara while serving as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia, along with another PCV friend and my boyfriend, who was a VSO volunteer. The three of us rented the "treehouse" for about $12 a night per person. It's not actually a tree house, per se - it's more of a cabin built on stilts, but it's gorgeous anyway. It's as secluded as can be on an island that small and also has a private balcony overlooking the lake (it would be incredibly romantic if you're an adventurous couple!). It could sleep five comfortably (2 double beds and 1 single, all with mosquito nets) and has an en suite bathroom with toilet and shower (in a manner of speaking). It's a composting toilet/latrine, which was enthralling for 3 development workers. Doesn't smell at all and has a built up seat, so it's just like using a "real" toilet. The shower is open air, facing the lake, with a wall of sticks, so you can get that fresh air, outdoor shower feeling while still preserving your privacy. You can order "hot showers" from the reception and someone will delver buckets of warm water to the barrel/pipe contraption that serves as a shower.

And the food - after two years of only Ethiopian food, we were in heaven! I imagine the menu changes regularly, but try the crawfish (it's caught fresh each day). We were also big fans of the French onion soup, the guacamole with chapati, and the crepes for dessert. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful - one night a big group arrived who screwed up the kitchen timing (you order each meal during the one before so it can be ready at your requested time), and they tracked us down on the island to ask if we'd like to move our dinner earlier or later instead of waiting until we turned up at dinner to tell us our food would be late.

Yes, there is no power or running water, but Bushara has a luxury all its own. It's community run, so you can sleep well knowing your money is going to good causes. Local villagers will come to share traditional dancing - I'd recommend it. I was afraid it would feel like voyeur tourism, but it's a small, intimate village group who will stick around and teach you dances afterward, so it doesn't have that overly-produced, "watch us sell our culture" feel that I've seen in African capital cities. You can hike and swim around the island (there's a rope swing and a dock) or hire a canoe for an evening trip.

Bushara is on a lake, so there are mosquitoes - bring repellent. If you're the kind of person who cares about thread counts and mints on your pillow, it's not for you. But if you want to experience the natural beauty of Uganda, then it's a perfect vacation spot. Think of it as luxury camping and you'll have a fantastic time.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jducey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

This camp is on island on Bunyonyi lake near Kabale,on pier you have motorboat that will bring you in 15 min to camp it huge green territory with tents and cottages,we stayed in cottage ,it have bedroom and shower with toilet(this toilet has lavatory but not flushing water you have to sprinkle small or big deals with sand)
,no electricity but in reception you get a torch.
no runing water, but you have in bathroom any tank with water to hand washing ,and when you order it service man will bring you canister with hot water for shower. But all these discomforts ,nothing to compare with great view on lake ,and green lush environment, with shore line frindged with tall euqalyptus trees,and in the night black sky with billions stars and Milky Way through all sky. You have there very good restaurant with our favorite dish avokado filed with small shrimps from lake. They have beaches for swiming this lake is free from all Billharzia parazites.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kabale hotels
1.7 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
1.4 mi away
Paradise Eco-Hub
Paradise Eco-Hub
#6 of 21 in Kabale
5 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crater Bay Cottages
Crater Bay Cottages
#6 of 29 in Kabale
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#12 of 29 in Kabale
35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Itambira Island, Seeds of Hope
1.7 mi away
Bunyonyi View Resort
Bunyonyi View Resort
#3 of 21 in Kabale
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushara Island Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushara Island Camp

Address: PO Box 794 | Lake Bunyonyi, Kabale, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Kabale
Price Range: £14 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bushara Island Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Bushara Island Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushara Island Camp Uganda/Kabale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing