We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and staff”
Review of Jajama Panorama

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kabale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jajama Panorama
Ranked #15 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Kabale
Dalton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food and staff”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We visited in April and had a great time. The staff is very helpful and the food was great. The views are amazing and plenty of places for hiking starting from the hotel. Also you can easily rent canoes from the local owners to take some day trips to the other islands for a reasonable price. The only negative problem we had was one particular staff member persistently inquired about how much of a tip we were going to give. Other than that our trip was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WCEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kigali
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We visited Jajama just earlier this week to get out of Kigali for a bit. There was a motorboat to pick us up from the shore and take us to the other side of the lake, no problem. We booked a king size luxury cabin for $50 USD per night, including breakfast. However, it wasn't really that luxurious. The bed was actually rather small, but nice and firm. The room and bathroom looked clean at first, but then upon closer look there were spiderwebs everywhere. I even rolled over and squished a spider in the bed while reading. Ew. (I know it's the wilderness etc, but I think if some of the webs had been taken care of regularly it wouldn't have been such a problem.) Upon checking out we were only charged $40 USD per night, so perhaps we weren't in a luxury cabin after all.

The bathroom was small but decent. However, the water took 20 minutes to "cook" by a fire if you wanted hot water, but we never saw the guy who took care of the hot water fire when we needed him. Oh well, but hot water would have been nice.

The best thing about the place was probably the food. The receptionist/cook/caretaker was really friendly and always asked what we'd like to have. We made the mistake of not ordering ahead of time one day though and waited almost an hour and a half for lunch. Supper was usually ready when we arrived at the pre-specified time in the dining area.

Activities around the area are hiking/walking, canoeing, and swimming. Though we didn't go swimming, because while the lake is bacteria free, the area around the dock is really dirty.

Our stay was nice overall, but we probably wouldn't go again. Heads up for budgeting - with 2 of us for 2 meals a day (breakfast is included) plus drinks and canoeing we spent about $200 USD for 3 nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritL491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2013

it was just the place to be at the best time, everytime am in kabale visit jajama, the chef is amazing and the view is to die for. it is near the town so if you want to be on the mainland you could just go ,the staff are really nice and take care of guests, all our queries were answered

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

There are several choices of resort in mainland side, andt this hotel is located in the island.
But there is no inconvenience of transportation as they can arrange motorboat whenever we need it. I enjoyed trekking / canoeing / swimming & reading book at the lake side. Their hospitality is amazing, and I really could enjoy 2days stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumbai246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. Merci the chef/manager/host/guide/maid was the most amazing woman and best chef. She cooked us the best meals we ate over a 3 week period travelling around Rwanda, Uganda and Tanzania. Nothing fancy but just good home cooking which is exactly what we wanted to experience. Martin made sure we had plenty of hot water by keeping the fire going. The grounds are beautifully well kept with many birds. Watch out for the goats though, one poked its head through our open door and gave me a bit of a fright! 10/10

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Really enjoyed my time here, its in a lovely location, it was very tranquil.

The food was also absolutely top notch!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed here while visiting family in the area, and it was lovely! The service was great, as were the accommodations and the food.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kabale hotels
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
0.0 mi away
Bugombe Gateway Camp
Bugombe Gateway Camp
#4 of 20 in Kabale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi View Gorilla Packers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#10 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#4 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jajama Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jajama Panorama

Property: Jajama Panorama
Address: Lake Bunyonyi | P.O. Box 497, Kabale, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Kabale
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jajama Panorama is a beautiful resort on the shore of Lake Bunyonyi near Kabale in south-west Uganda. It has a large restaurant with wonderful views of the lake and 10 cottages, 7 of which are self-contained. All are built in traditional Ugandan style. It has a large, part-wooded, garden sloping down to the lake . Activities include birding, swimming, hiking, canoeing and motor-boat trips on the lake,including visiting a Batwa(pygmy)tribe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jajama Panorama Uganda/Kabale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing