We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silverbacks are amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,620.00*
and up
3 Days Gorilla Trekking to Bwindi
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Silverbacks are amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is probably the hardest thing I've ever done. Trekking down a slippery mountain and going through brush to find the mountain gorillas. It is totally amazing and worth it. Our guides were from Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA) and they were fantastic. Seeing the gorillas up close (within a few feet) made the whole experience one that I will never forget. My pictures will last a life time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    39
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo - SP
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“life changing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We visited Uganda only for the mountain gorillas attraction. My wife and I used a company named G Adventures. A driver/guide was allocated to us for whole 5 days and the guy whose name I can´t remember, was really an excellent companion. The gorilla trekking was the main highlight of the entire tour, which included a wildlife safary. It takes a total of 4 days to get from Kampalla to the mountain and back. Once you reach the mountain, we overnighted in a camp lodge. The region is very poor and you come accross children walking up to school. They really walk a few miles barefoot to get to their schools but it was nice to see many flocks of them actually attending school. Getting to see the gorillas involved an intense forest up trek for about 4 hours, full of traps and deadly malaria mosquitoes. At the end it was so rewarding as a small group of people get to stand very close to wild gorillas for about 30 minutes, a few feet away only. Once you are a bit educated on the reality of the Ungandan people and also the fragile circumstances in which the gorillas live (only about 700 in the world, that´s it), that will certainly be a life changing experience. Seeing the gorillas from so close made us very emotional, we couldn´t believe our eyes.
I trully recommend this trip to conscious people who want to learn more about the gorillas, who respect another culture and want to help preserve the one and only gorilla's natural habitat in the world. The Ugandan people are a separate show, very lovable and genuine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LGPBRASIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It doesnt get better than this....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent 2 nights in Buhoma at Engagi Lodge, and did the gorilla trek. After reading many reviews I was a bit nervous regarding the trek and its difficulty. We only had to trek approximately 20 minutes before we came across our group of gorillas, there were about 11 of them. The 7 metre rule didnt apply as they were very interactive with our group, one trod on my foot and a baby was very inquisitive with my partner's camera lens. It was truly a once in a lifetime experience to get so close and personal with these magnificent creatures - it is a day I will never forget. Even tho our trek was very short, we had no idea it would be like this and we had hired porters (US$15 per porter), and sticks (US$5 per stick) to help us with the hike. When back at our lodge the gorillas had moved within the area of our lodge, so we got another hour with them - talk about get lucky (2 for the price of one!). Yes the permits are expensive but it is downright the best money we have ever spent - and contrary to an earlier review the money does not stay in Kampala, it is split 3 ways. Do your research though and make sure you have the right clothing as it got very cold and a massive storm came through - the forest is at altitude and prone to these conditions. Definitely the highlight of our Ugandan trip, it is a beautiful country.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NinAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Watching the gorillas up close (really close!) is unique. I never thought we would be able to get so close. Absolutely amazing.
We were lucky and found our group in about an hour. Some people are less fortunate and have to walk a long way. And walking in this park is hard. Up and down, up and down, straight through the jungle, muddy, slippery, wet, hot, often raining. Don't think twice about taking a porter. Not so much to carry your bag but to support you on these hills. Even if you're young you can use the help. And more importantly, you're supporting the local community. The permits are extremely expensive but the local community does not see any money from this. This (cash!) money literally stays in Kampala.
Permits are often sold out far in advance. But we were there in the second half of september and had no problem picking up the permits in Kampala without a prior reservation. Some flexibility in terms of groups and days is required but there was plenty of choice.
We went to Rushaga and wanted to stay at the Nshongi campsite. But there was no opportunity there to park our car so we decided to stay in the (beautiful but expensive!) lodge on the other side of the road.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Why_not322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Birds as well as gorillas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

From the top: Buhoma is a dead-end village that is quite interesting. Lots of shops as the locals take advantage of the fact that so many tourists come here for the gorillas.

The park is immense and features endless species of butterflies, plants and insects. But birds are the reason we came and we found so many species that are not found in other parts of Uganda. There are many trails to walk and the altitude changes so that opens you up for many sightings in the different habitats.

All the accommodations seem to be close to both town and the park so it's not a long walk anywhere - well except when you start walking uphill to those gorillas - gorilla climbs were $500 per person when we were there.

And the park is impenetrable as you'll find if you start walking any of the trails.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bwindi Impenetrable National Park also viewed

 
Kabale, Western Region
 

Been to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing