We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birdwatching”

Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,620.00*
and up
3 Days Gorilla Trekking to Bwindi
More Info
US$2,188.00*
and up
3 Day 2 Night Bwindi Gorillas Trek
More Info
US$2,700.00*
and up
4 Days Flying Gorilla Safari From Uganda
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birdwatching”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It was great to have my own personal expert guide to find birds in the forest, many of which I had not seen before

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    41
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Gorilla trekking is the highlight of visiting Uganda and should not be missed.
There are different entrances where you can start your gorilla trek. Depends on your permit. Make sure your lodge is located next to the starting point so you do not have to travel on this potentially long day.
We started at Buhoma, where three groups of 8 people go each day. You only get assigned to a group the morning of your trek, so you cannot know in advance which family of gorillas you are about to see. Our group started walking from the meeting point. Other groups drove about 45 minutes to the other side of the mountain and walked from there.
We walked about 2 hours before getting to the gorillas. Mostly on a flat dirt road. The last 20 mins or so were in the forest, which was not very dense or steep. The ground was a bit slippery at times, but that was about it. Not much more difficult than climbing one flight of stairs. Quite frankly to me it was easier then chimp tracking as the gorillas usually stay in one place once you, whereas chimps move about and you follow them around.
Once we reach the gorrilas the ranges cleared the vegetation a bit with their machetes so we can have a better look.
There was a mother with a baby that was very cute. The sliverback when arriving wanted to impress us, I think, and climbed up a tree. The tree was too small and broke under the sliverbacks weight, almost crushing on our group. No one got hurt.
We took porters. I am glad we did, even though it turned out we could have done it without them. You pay a minimum of 15$, an additional tip is always welcome. For the people in the village it is a very desirable job so they take turns at doing it. Each one gets the opportunity to work as a porter no more than once a month.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank NoPlaceLkeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“breathtaking”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

need to be physically fit for trekking through the forest, it gets very steep in some parts. Went here for the gorillas, however there were many people there for bird watching

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baal, Brabant, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“unique experiance”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

we spend only two days at bwindi but it wil remain for ever in our memory. unique experiance meeting the gorilla's. top rangers !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Gorilla trekking in Bwindi is not to be missed!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

On short notice we were able to get gorilla permits to see the gorillas at Rushaga in the Bwindi National Park, a World Heritage site. We hiked for about 2 hours to get to the gorillas and spent an unforgettable hour observing their behavior. The forest is incredibly beautiful & the hike added to the whole experience. We found the Silverback high up in a tree still in his nest, but it didn't take him long to slide down for his breakfast. Two females & a baby followed him into the dense foliage. We watched 2 youngsters scuffling in the foliage where one got a bite that seemed to bother him. After a time the baby came out of the bush at my husband's feet, looked up at him with those big brown eyes & fingered his trousers! What an unforgettable moment! When it was time to go, the real hiking began. I couldn't have done it without my porter, Jack! He pulled me up the steep hillside as I slipped and caught my boots in the heavy vines & vegetation. This was a very tough hike out of gorilla habitat! Our Wildlife Authority ranger, Sarah, was very knowledgeable about the gorillas as well as respectful of the environment in which they live. She is privileged to hike to see them twice a week while the porters make the hike twice a month. This is definitely an expensive activity, but the money goes to protect the gorillas and their habitat and some to the nearby villagers to compensate them for lost crops if the gorillas forage outside the park. Only about 800 mountain gorillas remain in the wild and we were fortunate to spend an hour with one gorilla family on July 14, a day I will never forget!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Patty6-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bwindi Impenetrable National Park also viewed

 
Murchison Falls National Park, Western Region
 

Been to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing