We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan your trip with Amagara Tours!”
Review of Byoona Amagara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kabale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Byoona Amagara
Certificate of Excellence
Gent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plan your trip with Amagara Tours!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had a real African dream with this company! We planned the whole trip over the internet and we were never disappointed during the 3 week tour across the country. In our comfortable 4x4 jeep with removable roof, we survived all types of Ugandan roads, even slept during our 'African massage'. Driver Bosco was like familiy to us, always open for suggestions or new adventures. If you have time, try to visit Kidepo NP. in the north: the scenary is so wonderful and the nature very authentic.
The relaxing days at Byoona Amagara by the end of the trip were welcome, the geodome a dream! While the mornings were sometimes cold, the view (from bed and shower) was incredible... This budget accommodation is a top destination.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Frauke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    58
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
61
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay in Uganda - and the 3 nights at Byoona Amagara were absolutely wonderful! The staff are incredibly friendly, the food is among the best I had in Uganda (try the sauteed tilapia), and they also arranged my gorilla permit and tour to the national parks. The island is for relaxing - you can swim, hike, canoe to nearby sites etc, and the views are excellent. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Unless you're on the tightest of budgets, I'd definitely go for a geodome or deluxe geodome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We got recommendations from friends about this place but we had a very different experience to them.The weather was overcast and raining, which is fine and expected for that part of the world, but bear this in mind when booking as staying in the Geodome (which has no doors or windows!!) gets EXTREMELY cold at night time and our bed linen was damp every night we got into it.
The toilet is about 100M for the Geodome so going to the toilet is a nightmare at 4 in the morning. No towels provided either.
We stayed 4 nights and the food is totally hit and miss.
This place charges guests for EVERYTHING. It’s worse than ryanair! You think you are getting reasonable accommodation but they charge you to charge phones/camera etc…
There is a movie/reading room with holes in the floor, junk all over the place. We never saw anyone hanging out there.
The front desk staff are helpful enough but the waitresses are gloomy/seem in bad mood all the time and just add to the depressing feel of the place. None of them had any interest in making your stay enjoyable.
All in all a miserable place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somebodydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed only one evening and night at this place and it was raining, so it is difficult to describe, how beatiful this whole island is. Experience begins with 40 minutes kayaking across the lake with dozens of beatiful views. Then You will harbour at isolated, remote and beatiful island, where you can freely hike, swim or just sit and enjoy the peace of this place. Accomodation itself is budget, but the TOP one. Prices are average, basic accomodation also, but the real experience begins with GeoDomes, which are still affordable and sleeping in them is one from the ugandian "must-see". This place has only one disadvantage - it's beauty declines with bad weather. So go there only during sunny and hot day.
And I forgot to mention maybe the biggest allurement - flowage of delicious meals. Have You eve tried shrimps with avocado in chilli sauce?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ondrejfabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Byoona Amagara is situated a short boat ride from the shore on a small isolated island. We stayed in the basic geodomes, which was a great experience with fantastic views over the lake and a nice little raised patio where we could sit and relax. There are also deluxe domes, which are nicer (larger, hot water), however we opted for the basics as they're closer to the main buildings where all the food is served and definitely provide you with all you need. Food is decent and service is very friendly. We rented a couple of canoes (hollowed out tree trunks) and did some lake sightseeing visiting nearby islands and swimming. Overall a wonderful weekend and I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamillaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed in the wooden cabin because the geodomes were booked up so we'll be heading back to try them out! The wooden cabin was great though - really spacious for three of us with a table inside for games when it rained and a table on a lovely veranda out the front overlooking the lake. The standard of the accommodation is really good for the price - particularly because you are on your own private island!

When we arrived at the private car park on the banks of the lake, someone was there to greet us immediately and he talked through the options of getting a motorboat (10 mins) or a canoe (nearly an hour) to the island. It was about to rain so we went for the easy option! He also showed us to the toilet etc which was welcome after a long drive and was really patient as we faffed unpacking the car and choosing what to take with us! Really very good service and a great first impression.

The island is beautiful, complete with swimming jetty and canoes. We stayed 2 days but could have stayed longer as it was just so chilled and lovely. The restaurant/bar is great - very simple but just what you need. You order about 45 minutes before you want your food - but this is very clearly explained on the menu so there is no disappointment - and the food is VERY good! We were disappointed to leave because we hadn't tried enough of the choices yet!

Overall, absolutely brilliant. Hostel type prices but with much better accommodation and service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilster33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Beautiful location. The lake is stunning.
The dorm rooms are basic but clean.
The food is good but other than swimming or taking the dugouts out for a paddle there is not much to do but relax.
You could hear the children singing in school on another island as their voices bounced across the water.
My wife and I loved it but the teenagers got a bit bored.
Nice staff
Very rustic setup
Wonderful place

Room Tip: The geodomes are much nicer than the dorm room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kabale hotels
2.3 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
1.4 mi away
Bushara Island Camp
Bushara Island Camp
#9 of 29 in Kabale
66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Itambira Island, Seeds of Hope
0.2 mi away
Paradise Eco-Hub
Paradise Eco-Hub
#5 of 21 in Kabale
3 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crater Bay Cottages
Crater Bay Cottages
#5 of 29 in Kabale
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byoona Amagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byoona Amagara

Property: Byoona Amagara
Address: Itambira Island | Lake Bunyonyi, Kabale, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Kabale
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byoona Amagara Island Retreat is a one-of-a-kind traveler's paradise located on an island peninsula at the heart of the lake. We cater to independent travelers and backpackers looking to get well off the beaten track. We have a gorgeous location overlooking a protected island cove, perfect for swimming, canoeing, hiking or just about anything else you can think of. We also have creative and comfortable lodgings, famously fresh and delicious food, sweeping views of the lake's islands and hills, and a variety of fun and interesting tours and activities... Not to mention some of the most affordable prices in all of East Africa! We also have Internet service available, as well as an amazing library and cinema with hundreds of great books and films. What Byoona Amagara does NOT have is noise, dust, overland trucks, mosquitoes (very few anyway!), or prices that insult your intelligence (or empty your wallet). Come stay in one of our beautiful geodomes and experience Lake Bunyonyi at its very best! Byoona Amagara is a staff-owned, not-for-profit establishment dedicating 100% of proceeds to support education and sustainable community development at Lake Bunyonyi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Byoona Amagara Uganda/Kabale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing