We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”
Review of Byoona Amagara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kabale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Byoona Amagara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I went here with three of my sisters and stayed at a Geodome basic and absolutely loved it! The island was beautiful and so peaceful. It was a great getaway from the craziness of life. The food at the resort was good and decent prices.

I would recommend staying here if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Definitely do a Geodome. They are huts that are open to the water so have a beautiful view! And they...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoxsiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Byoona Amagara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Set in exquisite surroundings , lovely quirky accommodation, spotless, excellent staff and great food . I Highly recommend this place. The road getting there is tough at the end. The lake is lovely and the bird life is fascinating

Room Tip: geodes are amazing
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank segalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The geodomes are lovely and something a bit different, with great views. Food is nice and very good value for money. Lots of activities like biking, canoeing, swimming, movies. Polite, helpful staff. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallycinnamon999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were a group of 6 people we really enjoyed Byoona Amagara this is really a fantastic place with an amazing view out of the Geodomes and Cottages. But in the end we left the island without our backpacks!!

The food is in our opinion well-price and good and you can get a beer for 4,000 UGX, what you barely find in other touristic places. We made a trip with a boat what is also a good fun even if need some time to learn how to do it.

So I would really recommend this place, but unfortunately someone stole our backpacks in our last night. We left our Geodome Cottage to have dinner and some drinks with our friends in the restaurant, after we came back the backpacks where gone. Luckily we had the most worthy things like laptops, cameras with us. The other backs where too big for the locker, so we ask if we can leave things at the reception. The manager said this locker should be enough and a night guard is also around, so we didn´t mind to leave this bags behind.

After a troublesome night was the manager helpful and went with us to the police and also took care that we get the report, because we had to return to Kampala. The police officer told us that the guards on the island are too few for the size and that it´s the fault of Byoona Amagara so they have to refund us for the lost things, if the thief cannot be caught.

From our side we didn´t want to make the burden on them to big and we tried to get the money for the insured things from the insurance. The other not insured things we told the manager that we want Byoona Amagara to refund this. In the beginning he said he understands and the police as well said that they have to pay all, so we thought they can at least pay the uninsured part. After we send the list with the things we were demanding, the owner of the company just replied per mail and said he is sorry and it is our fault. So now we have to go the long way with the police.

So it is a beautiful place but we really felt unsecure in the last night, if you sleep in open cottages and you cannot be sure that anytime someone can stand in front of your bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom_Travels99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a deluxe dome in this amazing place. You pay so little for what you get. The food is great as well! The island and views are beautiful, and it's great fun to walk around with all the small paths you can follow. We also met two brothers called John and Gerard living in a small village at the island, you easily find them when you just leave the byoona amagara premises while walking around. They do a community project for orphans and Gerard wants to start a small cafe with local food and drinks in an outside hut to earn some extra income for the project. I bought some colorful selfmade bracelets of them. Worth checking out!
The kitchen staff wasn't very friendly with me, instead of helping me when I had a question, they talked about me in their own language right in my face and laughed at me when I asked them what they were talking about. They also wanted to overcharge me for laundry. When I told another staff member, a very kind man called Friday, it stopped.
Still I give this place 5 stars, because it's absolutely stunning and unbelievable value!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank T_Koomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Warm, friendly and welcoming staff. AMAZING location and views from the lake. Perfect for relaxing and a romantic get away for couples, especially the deluxe geodomes. Food is incredible! Must try the crayfish avocado dish. To die for! No complaints whatsoever, amazing place to stay.

Tour company, also very good. Helpful, friendly and efficient. Great value for money. Our tour to see the gorillas was very well organized at a great price. Staff will go out of their way to ensure clinets are happy and safe. Two of the staff members were happy to wait with us for approx 2 hours at the bus station for an overnight bus to ensure we away safely. Very impressive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieJayne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I traveled here with my friends who rented one of the basic geodesic huts while I stayed in the dorm room. The dorm room was comfortable with skylights and warm blankets but I would say it's worth it to splurge on the huts. The porch is gorgeous looking out onto the water. The swimming dock has three lounge chairs and while it was rainy most of our trip we still sat out on the dock every day. The staff were friendly and attentive. New Year's Eve they had traditional drummers play and sing which was lovely. We also had a small dance party in the dining area. The food was delicious and they have non instant coffee, wine and even sell chocolate bars for those with a sweet tooth. A wonderful stay and a great retreat from Ugandan travel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kabale hotels
2.3 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
1.4 mi away
Bushara Island Camp
Bushara Island Camp
#9 of 29 in Kabale
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Eco-Hub
Paradise Eco-Hub
#6 of 21 in Kabale
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Itambira Island, Seeds of Hope
4.8 mi away
Crater Bay Cottages
Crater Bay Cottages
#6 of 29 in Kabale
89 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byoona Amagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byoona Amagara

Address: Itambira Island | Lake Bunyonyi, Kabale, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Kabale
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byoona Amagara Island Retreat is a one-of-a-kind traveler's paradise located on an island peninsula at the heart of the lake. We cater to independent travelers and backpackers looking to get well off the beaten track. We have a gorgeous location overlooking a protected island cove, perfect for swimming, canoeing, hiking or just about anything else you can think of. We also have creative and comfortable lodgings, famously fresh and delicious food, sweeping views of the lake's islands and hills, and a variety of fun and interesting tours and activities... Not to mention some of the most affordable prices in all of East Africa! We also have Internet service available, as well as an amazing library and cinema with hundreds of great books and films. What Byoona Amagara does NOT have is noise, dust, overland trucks, mosquitoes (very few anyway!), or prices that insult your intelligence (or empty your wallet). Come stay in one of our beautiful geodomes and experience Lake Bunyonyi at its very best! Byoona Amagara is a staff-owned, not-for-profit establishment dedicating 100% of proceeds to support education and sustainable community development at Lake Bunyonyi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Byoona Amagara Uganda/Kabale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing