We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful on the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Byoona Amagara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kabale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Byoona Amagara
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful on the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was only to spend one night here as I passing through town...stumbled upon it after talking with some peace corp volunteers in Kabale. It's worth the slow canoe ride...very peaceful. Food is better than average. The dorm rooms are clean and simple. Very safe. Great gathering spot for young independent travellers. Would love to come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipwedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    57
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
61
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We paddled for 50 minutes in a dug out canoe to get to the resort, which in itself shows you just how quiet and peaceful this place is. It's in the perfect spot, so idyllic and amazing views of lake bunyoni and the sunset from the restaurant. There is a swimming platform that's really private and a great place to chill. The restaurant area and dorm are really nice, although we got a little chilly in the evening so I'd advise taking some warmer clothes. Although we chose the cheap option of the dorm there are lovely private geodomes as well. Also love the sustainable tourism approach of the resort, using eco-friendly latrines and showers! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lake bunyoni is one special place, the setting was amazing and Byoona Amagara was the perfect place to stay. Me and my two friends stayed in the dorm which was great value for money. We especially liked the eco emphasis, ensuring that the tourism had less impact on the environment. The meals, despite the long wait were very tasty and again good value for money.
On arrival to Byoona Amagara we had the choice of either the speed boat or ''canoe'', as the canoe was free we decided to take this option. I would definitely recommend this option, despite 50 minutes of rowing in a dug out tree trunk the experience was great and something i'll probably never do again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was there with a friend and had a wonderful 3 nights there. We were meant to stay for only two nights but it was just so relaxing we didn't feel like leaving. It is a quiet place with great food in big portions. We stayed in the dorms which were alright. I was so happy you could buy hot showers because it gets chilly and I don't think I would have survived a cold outdoors shower in this wind! We did the hiking tour which was alright but we could have also done it on our own (which a couple of people did the next day after we recommended that). One of the staff, Nicholas, is a really nice guy who was extremely friendly and helped us out with a number of different things.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadaatalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here twice, once with friends and the second time with my partner. I thoroughly enjoyed both trips. The setting is beautiful and so peaceful with great opportunities for walking, swimming and canoeing (with a dug-out canoe- hard work but a lot of fun!).

I'd recommend staying in a geo-dome - they're great value, you'd never get a bedroom view for that price in Europe that's for sure!

Food is good but not as great as I'd expected having read previous reviews; again great value considering you're on an island and everything has to be brought in.

I was really impressed with the Eco-friendly efforts of the owners- love the outdoor showers! Would definitely stay here in again if lucky enough to be in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
369 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Byoona Amagara is an island oasis. After spending some time in Kampala, surrounded by a cloud of boda bodas, dust, and children shouting "Mzungu!" (who are adorable, of course, but sometimes that gets tiring), it was wonderful to arrive at Lake Bunyonyi and have a few days of peace and quiet.

The canteen is perched atop a nice hill with a beautiful view of the lake and some surrounding islands. I spent a lot of time relaxing, reading, and of course eating there. The food was quite tasty, and very reasonably priced (4000-13000 UGX for a meal).

There are lots of things to do, as well. You can hire a canoe and go for a paddle, hire a boat driver to take you on a tour of the lake (Punishment Island was interesting), go for a walk around the island, visit a Pygmy village, watch a movie in the cinema, go to one of the local craft markets, or have a swim. And it's a great starting point for gorilla trekking (Byoona Amagara runs their own at very reasonable rates).

And on top of all of this, what made my time at Byoona Amagara special was that the staff were very friendly and attentive. They worked very hard to make sure that everyone was enjoying themselves, even fulfilling a few special requests. I loved it there so much that I extended my stay there for an extra day!

I'd recommend booking one of the geodomes, as they're very cozy and have fabulous views. But for anyone on a tight budget, the dorms are a great deal.

Some reviewers had mentioned problems with theft, but every room I saw had cabinets that you can lock with a padlock, so I had no problems while I was there. Perhaps these are new, or perhaps the other reviewers just left their valuable lying about, but I don't see why anyone should have any problems now.

Anyway, I can't wait to go back again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in the dorm with a friend. Dorm isn't really cheap, but not very expensive either, anyway the only thing you do in here is sleep.

The staf is very nice, not to submissive as we found in other places. The island is amazing to walk around and to chill out on any coach you will find in all there secret small paths leading there. The lake is beautiful to canoe and really cheap to arrange.
Have to add one more thing, the food was just so good! Take the advocado filles with crayfish or the salteed tilapia is extremely tastefull and its cheap!!

This place completely relient on solarpower, so for charging phone, hot water and watching movies will be charged (warm water charge only in dorm), but really isnt much (like ush 500,- for phone).

Definitely a pearl on the lake!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RemcoEgmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kabale hotels
2.3 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
1.2 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
1.4 mi away
Bushara Island Camp
Bushara Island Camp
#9 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Crater Bay Cottages
Crater Bay Cottages
#5 of 29 in Kabale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
1.9 mi away
Arcadia Cottages
Arcadia Cottages
#8 of 29 in Kabale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byoona Amagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byoona Amagara

Property: Byoona Amagara
Address: Itambira Island | Lake Bunyonyi, Kabale, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Kabale
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byoona Amagara Island Retreat is a one-of-a-kind traveler's paradise located on an island peninsula at the heart of the lake. We cater to independent travelers and backpackers looking to get well off the beaten track. We have a gorgeous location overlooking a protected island cove, perfect for swimming, canoeing, hiking or just about anything else you can think of. We also have creative and comfortable lodgings, famously fresh and delicious food, sweeping views of the lake's islands and hills, and a variety of fun and interesting tours and activities... Not to mention some of the most affordable prices in all of East Africa! We also have Internet service available, as well as an amazing library and cinema with hundreds of great books and films. What Byoona Amagara does NOT have is noise, dust, overland trucks, mosquitoes (very few anyway!), or prices that insult your intelligence (or empty your wallet). Come stay in one of our beautiful geodomes and experience Lake Bunyonyi at its very best! Byoona Amagara is a staff-owned, not-for-profit establishment dedicating 100% of proceeds to support education and sustainable community development at Lake Bunyonyi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Byoona Amagara Uganda/Kabale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing