We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location on the lake but rather basic for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice location on the lake but rather basic for the price”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The resort is located directly on the Bunyonyi Lake close to several other similar establishments. The "cottages" are in reality only rooms and at the newly increased prices are really too expensive for what is offered.
The room was adequate and clean but a bit on the small side. The walls are paper-thin - you can hear anything that is said or done in the room next door. The attached bathroom was very small, with the window broken. There was warm water but it only lasted for approx. 2 minutes each time.
The non-self-contained tents may be slightly better value.
The site as such is well maintained, although it can get rather crowded if one or two overlander trucks arrive.
The restaurant serves decent meals at fair prices but service is quite slow.
Would be a good backpacker's option, but after recent price hikes it's overpriced for what it offers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyprusguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    71
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
16
46
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

It's crowded and unfriendly. The service is basic and the rooms where nice 50 years ago. This could be Benidorm.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salsa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kabale hotels

Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
216 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is a backpacker place, plain and simple. It is mostly geared toward the overland bus/truck audience and it shows. It is very basic and not very clean. I stayed in one of the cottages, where the bed was decent enough and there was plenty of hot water, but there was also mold in the shower area. Generator power is intermittent at best. Breakfast was only OK. The view of the lake is OK. There are probably better places to stay in the area. it is located about 8kms from the main highway, on a dirt road.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

If you like overcrowded places; if you like noise (24 hours); if you like the terrible overland african travellers; if you like terrible food; if you like lazy and arrogant staff...yes, then are you right here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sascha_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunyonyi O, Owner at Bunyonyi Overland Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thanks for staying with us, and sorry for us not meeting your expectations while on our site, but wish to assure you that the services have now improved a lot. We have had very positive feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

As already mentioned in the other entries, this place is perfect for groups coming with the big overland truck.
The place is nice and you can organize yourself some "walking safaris" to the top of the hill where you have a nice view over the lake.

If you like enjoying the nature, have some nice evenings with some peoples, you should go to another place like Byoona Amagara.

But if you like Party, drinks and a lot of peoples, like the Backpacker or Red Chilli in Kampala, you should stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alcatose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I loved the location of this resort, right on the shores of peaceful Lake Bunyonyi. You can rent canoes or jet skis right from the hotel or dive right into the lake from the resort. For basic accommodations (permanent tents and campgrounds available) these were pretty good. Bathrooms were clean and had hot water.

What I didn't enjoy was the sheer number of people at the resort. There were 4 or so overland groups during my stay. In addition to those overnight guests, the hotel allowed hordes of day visitors come so at times the grounds felt overrun. During my four day stay several schools had field trips to the resort. The kids were well behaved but I felt like I was in a zoo, being observed. Then the resort hosted a hundred or so employees of an insurance company for an offsite making it impossible to get food at the restaurant one afternoon, and those people were walking around exploring as well.

Overall, I would recommend and I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
Thank sfran_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Portal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Wonderful stay at Bunyonyi Overland. They cater more for large overland groups in for one night, so if the bus pulls up it could be a bit noisy and roudy. The furnished tents are a great value and offer fantastic views. Buy water and wine in Kabale and any other snack foods (water is 3,000 UGX for a bottle!), but the food is decent and moderately priced. After two days we went looking elsewhere for lunch/dinner.

Furnished tents were $30.00 USD, self-contained doubles were $50.00 USD. Note that the tour books mis-quote the price in shillings... Also breakfast is an extra $5, steep, but good.

Another great stay is right next door at Crater Bay Cottages. It's smaller, less busy, and I got a double self-contained banda for 50,000 UGX (about $25) with an excellent breakfast included. The pizzas here are also some of the best I've had in Uganda!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ugandaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabale
18.7 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#12 of 29 in Kabale
34 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Eco-Hub
Paradise Eco-Hub
#5 of 21 in Kabale
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bushara Island Camp
Bushara Island Camp
#9 of 29 in Kabale
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi View Gorilla Packers
1.2 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunyonyi Overland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunyonyi Overland Resort

Property: Bunyonyi Overland Resort
Address: Plot 1, Kazooba Road | P.O Box 710, Kabale, Kabale, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bunyonyi Overland Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering Spectacular views of the lake, Bunyonyi Overland Resort is set on the shores of Lake Bunyonyi. The resort has a children's playground and sun terrace, and guests can enjoy a meal at the restaurant. Free WiFi is featured and free private parking is available on site. With over 40 rooms Bunyonyi Overland Resort offers accommodation in Lake Bunyonyi for all budgets. A terrace or balcony are featured in certain rooms. There is a 24-hour front desk at the property. You do canoeing,bird watching, hiking at this resort, and the area is popular for diving. The resort also offers bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and Jovago.com so you can book your Bunyonyi Overland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Bunyonyi Overland Hotel Kisoro
Bunyonyi Overland Resort Uganda/Kabale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing