We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunyonyi Overland Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Bermuda Run, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in July. Power boat ride to lodge was fun. Their staff is exceptional and very friendly. The views of the lake are unforgettable. It was very quiet and relaxing. We paddled around in dugout canoe and even tried a rope swing into the lake. I was wary of the a la carte dining, but the food was great and very reasonably priced.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Denny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    66
    33
    14
    12
See reviews for
14
43
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Overland resort in an amazing place to stay, the tents are especially great. The paths to all the tents, the lakeside location, thriving with people make the place even more sophisticated and lovely.

However, the service at the restaurant could be better, the only option they had for us was a basic buffet or wait two or more hours to get served or wait an hour to get a snack. Being a thriving place, I believe they can anticipate that they will have many customers and prepare accordingly!

Nevertheless, I loved the service at the reception and views over lake Bunyonyi are just spectacular.

Room Tip: The tents are personal and amazing, especially the ones nearest to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I had emailed the hotel staff (with the email address located on the website) to make reservations bc the reservations form online was not working. I got a reply within 24 hours saying that our reservations were set. When we arrived I was told that all of the double self-contained rooms were taken, which is what I had reserved. I then told the staff that I had reservations and asked him to see if one of those were reserved for us. He said no and that I needed to pre-pay, which I couldn't do online or through the email I sent him (nor did he once mention that it was necessary). I explained to him that I had an email confirming my reservations and that it was just done 2 days before our arrival and he said I should have kept checking to see if it was still reserved. He showed me a double room (no bathroom) that was still available and it was very small and not very clean. My husband and I ended up staying at Crater Bay Cottages and it more than made up for our disappointment at the Overland Resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kabale hotels

Zurich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Unfriendly staff, worst ever food, poor service,old and dirty. After complaints about the wrong food delivered, staff did not apologize, no, they even defended the kitchen staff saying that its me who is wrong. The location is ok but there are half a dozen other resorts around the lake with the same location. Stay away from there! If your tour operator books you there, insist of changing the booking!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loertle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
363 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in the fixed tents, and walked to the bathrooms. The showers were hot, but mostly a drip, not a stream. The wifi works near the office. The food looked good, although we ate from our own overland truck. The grounds are nice, with many birds. Its a 5 minute walk to the little village and easy walk to the top of the hill for a view.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My sister and I stayed at Lake Bunyonyi Overland Resort for 4 nights and stayed in one of the cabins. Basic rooms but really all you need. Most importantly we felt very safe here and the conditions were clean which was all we cared about. The crayfish at the restaurant was delicious, but be sure to go before you are starving as the food takes a while, if you order some cold Nile or Tusker while you wait you will be just fine. Our waiter for every meal was Wallin (don't know if that is how you spell his name) and he was great! Always very attentive and by day two he knew which drinks we wanted the second we walked in, it was this service that makes us want to make Bunyonyi Overland our home again on the next trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderfull location with great views on the lake. We have stayed in a room, bathroom okay, room simple. Furnished tents look fine as well, but do not have own washroom. Be prepared for a fresh morning (1800 meters!).
Activities like canoe and swimming possible. Walking oppertunities limited. Possibility to visit a local school.

Breakfast okay, but not wel organized, rather slow. Dinner with good views on the lake. Some staff welcoming, some staff ignorant. Wifi near the reception available.

Heartbreaking that on the way to the resort you see many families chipping stones in terrible conditions.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nimefurahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabale
18.7 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#11 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Paradise Eco-Hub
Paradise Eco-Hub
#5 of 20 in Kabale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bushara Island Camp
Bushara Island Camp
#6 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunyonyi Overland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunyonyi Overland Resort

Property: Bunyonyi Overland Resort
Address: Plot 1, Kazooba Road | P.O Box 710, Kabale, Kabale, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bunyonyi Overland Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering Spectacular views of the lake, Bunyonyi Overland Resort is set on the shores of Lake Bunyonyi. The resort has a children's playground and sun terrace, and guests can enjoy a meal at the restaurant. Free WiFi is featured and free private parking is available on site. With over 40 rooms Bunyonyi Overland Resort offers accommodation in Lake Bunyonyi for all budgets. A terrace or balcony are featured in certain rooms. There is a 24-hour front desk at the property. You do canoeing,bird watching, hiking at this resort, and the area is popular for diving. The resort also offers bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Bunyonyi Overland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Bunyonyi Overland Hotel Kisoro
Bunyonyi Overland Resort Uganda/Kabale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing