We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charades and be warned before it is too late”
Review of Cap Rocat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cap Rocat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Blava
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Charades and be warned before it is too late”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It looks good but it is simply not good enough . It appears attractive and yes it is , it appears luxurious but it is not , however , Reclusive it is but a 5 star hotel It is not , a sanctuary for wildlife and peace it may be but we were not looking for sanctuary as we needed service .Each day no breakfast as they forget to collect them each evening from outside your room and they fail every day. Call for service at least 50 % of time the phone is busy and you have to call on average 5 times , Service requested best response 20 mins . TV`s are far too complex actually a monitor only and then strapped hidden on the back is a satellite receiver which does not work correctly and keeps hanging up so room service explain they know about it and asked we complain to manager but meanwhile can we just unplug everything from the wall and wait 2 mins and then reconnect everything ourselves and that is the best solution, we had to do this 8 times in 48 hours .Then with all this wrong guess what no manager available so if you have prepaid and then after all these complaints they wish to charge you another 50 euros the young lady explains she has no authority and she cannot help but her job is to get the money and we must pay . It is a Seriously strange place and it is very short of staff , and I think personally it gives the impression of being short of cash. things not working and the staff asking the guest to complain on their behalf , For the luxurious traveller danger beware the picture does not fit the experience or the should one say the illusion belies the reality , yes a great location but at best immature in terms of service and attention to detail. At Best frustrating as the location is on the money then disappointment embalms your need to enjoy. Yes they have breakfast baskets but they may not show until you reorder the next morning and then it appears 1 hour late, yes they have buggies and they have service but do you have patience enough to wait when the cost to stay there is so high.We travel the world and have stayed with the best and this has a long way to go , we enjoy luxury , good service and comfort but here the bedding was always more creased after housekeeping left , always a poor response to all requests and all in all a very odd place , a very cold and odd team and non personal approach but of course very expensive .Oh and no one available to complain through at checkout just a very polite young lady with no authority just a card machine that definitely works , paid cash and if you wonder why I did that well now my turn to be odd as to me luxury travel means remain polite and try and influence them yes the seemingly hapless all in a bid to try and get them do the same. We warn you now ensure you are fit the hills are steep , the steps are everywhere and huge be prepared for this Cap Raket

Room Tip: My tip for rooms is book the cheapest and the disappointment will be reduced but in truth they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AngusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Gerente at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sir,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Cap Rocat. We take great pride in the service that we yearn to deliver and on the excellent praise that we receive from our clients both on Trip Advisor and directly at the hotel.

However, we clearly failed in offering you the service that you were expecting and for that reason please accept our most sincere apologies. As we mentioned in the email that we sent you a few days ago, there were indeed technical problems with the TV, problemas that have now been solved, but these reasons should be of no concern to you because you should expect, rightly so, to have excellent service and not have to deal with technical issues of any nature.

Cap Rocat operates a unique system whereby a House Manager is always on duty. Precisely because we understand the importance of having a person of authority always available for our clients, not only to handle complaints which fortunately are very rare but above all to ensure that our clients receive the best and most personalised service. During your check-out, indeed our House Manager was busy with your daughter, who had just celebrated her wedding at the hotel. Given that this had been a very special weekend for her, indeed our House Manager focused all her attention on your daughter who enjoyed her stay and mentioned that she planned to return in August.

Once again, please accept our apologies. Following your email, your feedback was discussed extensively during a meeting to ensure that we continue to offer, without failure, the excellent service for which we are often praised but that we failed to deliver to you.

Kind regards from Cap Rocat,

Your House Manager and the entire Team

Kika Salom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    39
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
19
245
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went on 22nd May for our wedding anniversary. My wife booked it and I didn't know I was coming here. Arrived late as our flight was delayed. But soon as we got to hotel I was amazed.
First impressions where amazing
Well the room was huge. Massive 4 poster bed huge bathroom with separate shower and bath.
We had a spiral stair case going up to a roof terrace where we had a table and chairs and a huge chill out bed. But the view was awesome looking over Palma bay.
We had planned to eat out over our 3 day stay but once we got there we didn't leave.
The breakfast was simple wonderful and whenever you wanted it you just ordered to your room or went down to the small court yard restaurant.
We had lunch and dinner at the SEa restaurant which had great choice on the menu. The sun set was amazing and it did get a little chilly but the staff bought out nice blankets for the colder people.
The service was brilliant and very helpful with knowledge.
There was a infinity pool looking out to sea and a small beach looking over the bay.
All with modern chairs and nice towels at hand.
The hotel in a 1890s fortress so every room was different but the layout was amazing with so many tiny rooms for reading etc.
There are golf buggies to ferry you about if you needed and bikes to borrow.
We had a spa treatment and this was very good, the room was a little small and light but ok apart from that.
We stayed in room 29 and it was perfect for us. Maybe not good if you are older, spiral stair case was a challenge

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marklockey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Marklockey 68,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay and I am pleased that your first impression was so amazing! We look forward to you enjoying many more wedding anniversaries and sunsets at Cap Rocat.

Kind regards from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Pros: Beyond the call of service, beautiful luxury rooms, amazing architecture of former fortress, total escape from reality, ocean views, 25 suite rooms only, private outdoor loungers/beds
Cons: Expensive is the word, is there an outdoor pool (failed to find it)?

It's hard to describe this hotel. An old fortress, its an amazing spectacle of architecture throughout. I was lucky enough to vist on business, but would anticipate it will always be used for couples/honeymooners. I can see why: it's perhaps the best hotel I've stayed in anywhere in the world. And I've stayed in a lot of places.
I landed the corner suite, probably the best of the 25 rooms within the property. It was a huge room carved into the old stone, with a private balcony bigger than many London flats overlooking the waters. There was an outside bed and loungers, not overlooked by anyone. The only thing missing was a hot tub. Inside a four poster bed was an image of luxury, looking directly out to the ocean waters.
Other rooms are very grand, but less so. I visited a colleage's room - which was still amazing but didn't have the fully private lounger area; it was screened off from next door, but the way the rooms are formed sees them work in pairs.
Service was insane at this place too. It's like they'll do anything for you. Lots of knowledge about the property too - our Canadian guide was full of little details and our golf buggy tour was fun to get a bearing of the grounds.
At breakfast when no menu was delivered I was confused if the small buffet was all that was available. Upon asking I was told that I could have "whatever I liked" made to order. That's never happened anywhere else to me before.
These words probably don't quite sum up what it's like to be in this place. It's a total escape from reality. There's just a feeling about it; it's rare that a hotel can deliver such a sensation. To call it a "hotel" might not servce it justice: it's an experience really.

Room Tip: It'll cost more, but the suite with the private outdoor area and four poster bed is sheer opulen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmxbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear mmbreaks,

Thank you for such a marvelous review. I´m sorry that you did not find the swimming pool. The location of the pool should have been explained to you during your private tour of the property when you arrived. The pool is located between two of the former fortification’s defensive walls and is cut into the solid sandstone that the cliffs in Cala Blava are made of. I certainly hope you will find the time in the future to relive the “sensation” of Cap Rocat.

Kind regards from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel has definitely a WOW-factor - it's a huge palace-like-area with a wonderful view over the sea. The breakfast there is incredible, as they bring it in a large picnic bag to your suite.
We stayed there in April, so it started to get warm on the Baleares and we could sit outside and enjoy our fresh juices, coffee, tea and eggs sunny-side up ;)
The pool is nice, too, as it is located with a sea-view. They have also a small gym and bikes to rent. The distance to Palma is perfect, only 15 min by car. We had a wonderful and unforgetable time there!
They had no spa, that's the only reason for no points in this category.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Ninaholiday,

Thank you for describing the sensation one feels when arriving at Cap Rocat. I am pleased that you were able to savor your breakfast while enjoying the mild April weather and views of the Mediterranean. We have recently acquired a number of e-bikes (bicycles with an integrated electric motor) to help make your excursions along the coastal cycling paths towards Palma effortless. You are correct to point out that we do not yet have full spa facilities though we do offer an extensive Wellness Program including massages and beauty treatments offered in the Mirador, a private salon with panoramic views of the sea. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Absolutely BEAUTIFUL property and a great getaway spot in Mallorca. Jan was particularly helpful, friendly, and definitely knew what 5-star service is about, Manu at the restaurant was a dear, as was Manuela in housekeeping and the House Manager, though I forget her name , was warm and welcoming. Unfortunately they weren't working the entire time we were there. Getting drinks or food at the pool, beach, or rest of the property took ages - and it was disappointing that they charged for every bottle of water (tap water wasn't an alternative). Also keep in mind that in October their restaurants have limited service versus other times of the year - so if you chose to order from the room service menu (e.g. at the pool) you were hit with room service charges? As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms can be very very musky - particularly if running the air-conditioning. Be sure to air out your room thoroughly! Small changes that would take this property to the next level.

Room Tip: Keep in mind some terraces are more private than others … ask for a more private terrace versus one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kona2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Kona2005,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your highly appreciated comments. I will share your positive feedback with my colleagues which you mentioned. They will be pleased that you remember their attention to detail and enthusiasm.
At Cap Rocat we have an innovative system whereby a House Manager is always on duty to ensure that our clients are insured the highest possible service. The managers´ schedules rotate but there is always a person of authority available.
I´m sorry that there were unreasonable delays when delivering your drinks and food to the pool and beach. Your experience was not up to your expectations and did not reach our usual service standards. We have discussed this issue with department managers and have subsequently allocated more staff in these areas. Recently, we have acquired more golf carts and Ebikes to help speed up the service.
There is a charge for bottled water on the various terraces, although we do offer complimentary mineral water in the suite.
With regard to the musty smell you mentioned, this past winter while the hotel was closed, the walls of the suites were treated to remedy this problem.
On behalf of all the staff at Cap Rocat, we thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the end of October this year and we not only lucky with the weather but also with finding this amazing place to stay. It was the perfect place for us to escape for a couple of days. The service was brilliant, food delicious, location and hotel surroundings beautiful. I had forgotten what it was like to be made to feel special but the staff there are so lovely that you just want to take them everywhere with you. I'm already wishing we can go back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear SusieMW,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was up to your expectations and that you especially appreciated the efforts of our staff. On behalf of the entire team at Cap Rocat we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We only stayed for 2 nights but wished it was 2 weeks !
This hotel is incredible ! It's an old fortress transformed into a stunning hotel .
From the moment we arrived the service was impeccable we were given a tour of the hotel which is breathtaking , then taken to our suite which was stunning , we had a private outdoor area with day bed overlooking the bay of Palma .
We had breakfast served in our suite which was delicious , lunch was amazing in the beautiful resturant built in the cliff with fab sea view again the service was excellent , dinner in the courtyard was a gastromic delight .
There are no bad pints about this hotel yes it's expensive but truly worth every penny .
If you are looking for a get away from it all , luxury retreat Cap Rocat is for you !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Cheryl h,

Thank you for your amazing review. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you are so pleased with your experience at Cap Rocat. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Blava
8.4 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
954 reviews
19.4 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
22.6 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
502 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
438 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Rocat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Rocat

Property: Cap Rocat
Address: Carretera Enderrocat s/n, 07609 Cala Blava, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Blava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Blava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cap Rocat 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cap Rocat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Rocat Hotel Cala Blava
Cap Rocat Spain/Cala Blava, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing