We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Cap Rocat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cap Rocat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Blava
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel built inside a 120 year old Spanish fortress; a historical site in the middle of a protected area, overlooking the bay of Palma de Mallorca. Excellent facilities, extremely helpful staff, great respect for privacy. Very nice, comfortable and well equiped rooms/suits in accordance with the look and feel of the site. Prices are in accordance to the quality delivered.
This is a place to sharish, we stayed only 3 days, but will defenitely try to book for a longer periode for our next stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RiRi4648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    41
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
248
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Delightful hotel in a unique setting -- built in the remains of a 120 year old fortress. Outstanding views of the harbor. Terrific privacy. Extremely helpful staff. Excellent facilities and food. Costly and worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTS997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear GTS 997,

We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was up to your expectations and that you especially appreciated the sea views and the efforts of our staff. On behalf of the entire team at Cap Rocat we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regard from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Cap Rocat could be one of my top 5 places in the world(so far)

Like many hotels and tourist attractions, Cap Rocat was originally a fortress against...the USA in the Spanish American War. The hotel pays homage to its roots with clever details like mortar shells for door knobs and ammunition cart tables. Its very interesting and well done

Cap Rocat is on the Mediterranean. The pool and a restaurant as well as the beach is on oceans edge. Your room will be a guard tower with the best view of the ocean complete with outside patio and bed(yes an outside bed). The room itself is beautiful with a large bed, sitting area and a huge bathroom

As good as the views are, the service may be better. Some of the areas are somewhat steep,. but there is always an electric cart willing to help you up or down. They also hand you a button to press for help....need help, a drink, a cart? Press the button

And finally, they also know food. The dining was superb...Then again, it should be. The fish are pretty close. I really liked this place......They understand luxury

Room Tip: pick any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanks296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Shanks296,

We are so pleased to receive your review. Cap Rocat has a privileged location and unparalleled views, and to compare the service you received to this natural beauty is truly a compliment. Thank you. One footnote: the fortification was inaugurated in 1898, the same year as the Spanish-American war, fortunately it was never directly involved in a conflict.

Kinds Regards from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This Moorish fort with a history overlooking the sea in The Bay of Palmer is for those who seek relaxation, outstanding cuisine, unbeatable service from the most amenable and pleasant people. Here you can be as lazy or as active as you choose.
Our room, well suite really was spacious well furnished and a luxurious bathroom, three terraces each with seating and lounge furniture, immaculate throughout.
If you opt for the turn down service, without charge they leave a soothing evening drink, different each evening, ranging from Verbena with lemon peel to cinnamon. They also leave you with the following days weather forecast and a list of suggested trips and and activities you may choose from a two hour walk with a suckling pig picnic or a helicopter flight over the island.

You eat when and where you like, on the patio ,by the pool or on the beach, a statement of push bells on tables brings a member of staff always with a smile, I cannot speak highly enough of all the staff ,wonderful.

A truly marvellous warm and welcoming holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qaranc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Qaranc10,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the service and the design of your suite and private terraces as well as the special infusions that we create daily to encourage a good night’s sleep. We very much hope to welcome you back to Cap Rocat on your next visit to Mallorca.

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in Cap Rocat for our mini honeymoon/post wedding relaxation. We could not have chosen better. The location of Cap Rocat can only be described as ideal. It is super close to the airport (10 minutes), and to Palma (15 minutes) but completely tranquil and isolated from all the tourist madness, in its own little cape and nature reserve. The architecture, as an old military fortress, could also not be more special.
The two restaurants at the hotel are very special. The Fortress must be tried for excellent high grade cuisine. But the Sea Club was our favourite, for amazing fish and rice dishes, served in an amazing setting on the sea.
For a romantic escape, I could not have thought of a better place. Tranquil, silent, excellent service, and very tasteful details.
People like Jan and Juan at reception will simply go the extra length to make your stay a success.

Room Tip: They are all good, apart from the one room that is in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanishwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Spanish Wanderer,

We are most happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you especially enjoyed the Fortaleza and the Sea Club restaurants. We hope that you were able to try our “Paseo por Mallorca”, a culinary journey through Mallorca, recently created by our chef Victor Garcia. We hope that you will celebrate many more special occasions with us and on behalf of everyone here at Cap Rocat we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It looks good but it is simply not good enough . It appears attractive and yes it is , it appears luxurious but it is not , however , Reclusive it is but a 5 star hotel It is not , a sanctuary for wildlife and peace it may be but we were not looking for sanctuary as we needed service .Each day no breakfast as they forget to collect them each evening from outside your room and they fail every day. Call for service at least 50 % of time the phone is busy and you have to call on average 5 times , Service requested best response 20 mins . TV`s are far too complex actually a monitor only and then strapped hidden on the back is a satellite receiver which does not work correctly and keeps hanging up so room service explain they know about it and asked we complain to manager but meanwhile can we just unplug everything from the wall and wait 2 mins and then reconnect everything ourselves and that is the best solution, we had to do this 8 times in 48 hours .Then with all this wrong guess what no manager available so if you have prepaid and then after all these complaints they wish to charge you another 50 euros the young lady explains she has no authority and she cannot help but her job is to get the money and we must pay . It is a Seriously strange place and it is very short of staff , and I think personally it gives the impression of being short of cash. things not working and the staff asking the guest to complain on their behalf , For the luxurious traveller danger beware the picture does not fit the experience or the should one say the illusion belies the reality , yes a great location but at best immature in terms of service and attention to detail. At Best frustrating as the location is on the money then disappointment embalms your need to enjoy. Yes they have breakfast baskets but they may not show until you reorder the next morning and then it appears 1 hour late, yes they have buggies and they have service but do you have patience enough to wait when the cost to stay there is so high.We travel the world and have stayed with the best and this has a long way to go , we enjoy luxury , good service and comfort but here the bedding was always more creased after housekeeping left , always a poor response to all requests and all in all a very odd place , a very cold and odd team and non personal approach but of course very expensive .Oh and no one available to complain through at checkout just a very polite young lady with no authority just a card machine that definitely works , paid cash and if you wonder why I did that well now my turn to be odd as to me luxury travel means remain polite and try and influence them yes the seemingly hapless all in a bid to try and get them do the same. We warn you now ensure you are fit the hills are steep , the steps are everywhere and huge be prepared for this Cap Raket

Room Tip: My tip for rooms is book the cheapest and the disappointment will be reduced but in truth they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AngusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Gerente at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sir,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Cap Rocat. We take great pride in the service that we yearn to deliver and on the excellent praise that we receive from our clients both on Trip Advisor and directly at the hotel.

However, we clearly failed in offering you the service that you were expecting and for that reason please accept our most sincere apologies. As we mentioned in the email that we sent you a few days ago, there were indeed technical problems with the TV, problemas that have now been solved, but these reasons should be of no concern to you because you should expect, rightly so, to have excellent service and not have to deal with technical issues of any nature.

Cap Rocat operates a unique system whereby a House Manager is always on duty. Precisely because we understand the importance of having a person of authority always available for our clients, not only to handle complaints which fortunately are very rare but above all to ensure that our clients receive the best and most personalised service. During your check-out, indeed our House Manager was busy with your daughter, who had just celebrated her wedding at the hotel. Given that this had been a very special weekend for her, indeed our House Manager focused all her attention on your daughter who enjoyed her stay and mentioned that she planned to return in August.

Once again, please accept our apologies. Following your email, your feedback was discussed extensively during a meeting to ensure that we continue to offer, without failure, the excellent service for which we are often praised but that we failed to deliver to you.

Kind regards from Cap Rocat,

Your House Manager and the entire Team

Kika Salom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went on 22nd May for our wedding anniversary. My wife booked it and I didn't know I was coming here. Arrived late as our flight was delayed. But soon as we got to hotel I was amazed.
First impressions where amazing
Well the room was huge. Massive 4 poster bed huge bathroom with separate shower and bath.
We had a spiral stair case going up to a roof terrace where we had a table and chairs and a huge chill out bed. But the view was awesome looking over Palma bay.
We had planned to eat out over our 3 day stay but once we got there we didn't leave.
The breakfast was simple wonderful and whenever you wanted it you just ordered to your room or went down to the small court yard restaurant.
We had lunch and dinner at the SEa restaurant which had great choice on the menu. The sun set was amazing and it did get a little chilly but the staff bought out nice blankets for the colder people.
The service was brilliant and very helpful with knowledge.
There was a infinity pool looking out to sea and a small beach looking over the bay.
All with modern chairs and nice towels at hand.
The hotel in a 1890s fortress so every room was different but the layout was amazing with so many tiny rooms for reading etc.
There are golf buggies to ferry you about if you needed and bikes to borrow.
We had a spa treatment and this was very good, the room was a little small and light but ok apart from that.
We stayed in room 29 and it was perfect for us. Maybe not good if you are older, spiral stair case was a challenge

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marklockey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Marklockey 68,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay and I am pleased that your first impression was so amazing! We look forward to you enjoying many more wedding anniversaries and sunsets at Cap Rocat.

Kind regards from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Blava
8.4 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
967 reviews
19.4 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
22.6 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
515 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
449 reviews
40.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 16 in Canyamel
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Rocat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Rocat

Property: Cap Rocat
Address: Carretera Enderrocat s/n, 07609 Cala Blava, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Blava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Blava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cap Rocat 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cap Rocat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Rocat Hotel Cala Blava
Cap Rocat Spain/Cala Blava, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing