We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remarkable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cap Rocat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cap Rocat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Blava
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Remarkable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

A night in an old fort does not sound particularly luxurious unless of course its the Cap Rocat which sits at the head of the harbor of Palma in Majorca, Spain. This amazing reuse of a fort has just 25 rooms but common area for hundreds. Each room is built within the walls with private decks and lounging areas facing the sea. The pool is an infinity overlooking the harbor and there is "beach" access via a ladder into the Mediterranean. This is a perfect couples retreat.

Room Tip: Every room faces the ocean. Two have their own private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJR1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Director General at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear MJR1964,

Thank you for staying at Cap Rocat and for sharing this kind description of your experience on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the privacy of your Suite´s terraces, the Infinity pool and the beach area. We hope you found time to snorkel and explore the coastline of Cap Rocat with one of the complimentary kayaks. On behalf of all of the staff at Cap Rocat, thank you once again for your comments. We all look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible.

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    33
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
17
233
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I highly recommend Rac Rocat for both hotel and their restaurants. We enjoyed a lovely long luncheon which turned in to a dinner as well. The food was excellent and the staff was lovely. Its an old spanish fortress that can't be missed if you ever going to Mallorca.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helentabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from a stay at Cap Rocat and cannot wait to return. The experience was, quite simply, magical. The property location is breathtaking-- the sea views spectacular and the seamless blending of the modern rooms into the 120 year old fortress exquisite. The setting in a natural protected habitat with many seabirds and exquisite vegetation coupled with the remarkable architecture using so skillfully the original fort is exquisite. The infinity pool with its extraordinary sea views is designed beautifully with the most attention to privacy for couples I've ever seen-- each pair of lounge chairs is separated by hedges! Just lovely.
We were in heaven sitting outside on our daybed gazing at the sea-- not to mention the unsurpassed experience of having a couple's Thai massage at sunset there our first evening!!!!
We are foodies and had made reservations at some of the most highly rated restaurants on Mallorca. But, once we got settled at Cap Rocat and experienced dinner of plain grilled fish at the Sea Club under the stars, gazing at the sea the first evening, we cancelled our other reservations and happily stayed at Cap Rocat the entire time-- we live in the New York area and can get great food quite readily-- but that view, not so much!
The aesthetic of the place is also just right. While very "luxe" it is not garish or glitzy-- just the right combo of modern, a bit funky and comfortable.
In addition, the service and attitude of the entire staff was wonderful. Always offering to give us buggy rides (we chose to walk-- but they offered constantly), provide bottles of water when they saw us going off to hike and without our asking, suggesting a late checkout so we could enjoy a longer last day.
Cannot wait to return to this magical spot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb0rah1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Director General at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Deb0rah1220,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the natural surroundings of Cap Rocat and the unparalled views of the Bay of Palma. We are especially happy to learn that your couple’s Thai massage and your experience at the Sea Club were so memorable. Thank you for your comments regarding the enthusiasm of all of the staff here at Cap Rocat. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I'm torn about my feelings re: Cap Rocat because it was a truly special property but there was definitely something missing. I did not feel that the service was up to par of a world class property. Also, a few extra charges on our bill left a bad taste in my mouth. We participated in a yoga class and after class the instructor handed us 2 bottles of water which I thought were complimentary (as are all the water bottles in our rooms). At checkout while reviewing our bill we saw that we were charged 11 Euros for something at the pool and we asked why. They apparently charged us 11 Euros for 2 small plastic bottles of water that the instructor just handed us at the pool! Unbelievable and ridiculous!

Another was for a tennis session that my husband had. We were told that it is free to play tennis with the instructor on staff-- just to hit a few balls. At checkout we were charged 90 Euros for the session! It's fine to charge but be up front about the charges and don't act as if they are free. The yoga instructor should have told us that the small plastic bottles of water were 5.50 Euros each before giving them to us!

Furthermore, we specifically asked for a taxi to the airport that takes credit card as we were running out of cash and what kind did they call for us? One that only takes cash. As we were running late, we had to take that taxi and stop on the way at an ATM. Such an inconvenience!

After paying so much for a room at a hotel that prides itself on service, I expected so much more from Cap Rocat! Disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sara m,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations.
We hope that you enjoyed the complimentary yoga class at the swimming pool deck. We have spoken to the Wellness staff members, who lead the morning yoga session, to ensure that this miscommunication is avoided in the future and that the water is offered complimentary.

We are sorry that you felt that there were many extra charges. We yearn to make sure our guests feel at home and for this reason offer a series of complimentary services such as Nespresso and mineral water in your room, snacks in the main pavillion, snorkling gear, kayaks, bikes, etc.

We do apologize that it was not clearly explained to you that there is a charge for a tennis instructor. The use of the court, rackets, balls and towels is free of charge for our guests.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced when your taxi did not accept credit cards. As you requested, we specifically reserved a taxi that accepts credit cards. When the taxi arrived and the doorman confirmed this service with the driver, the doorman was told that this taxi only accepts cash. We then asked the driver to call another taxi which would take 10 minutes to arrive. We understand that you were running late and for this reason chose to take the first taxi.
Your satisfaction is of most importance to us and we look forward to your next visit to redeem ourselves.
Kind regards from Cap Rocat,
Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel built inside a 120 year old Spanish fortress; a historical site in the middle of a protected area, overlooking the bay of Palma de Mallorca. Excellent facilities, extremely helpful staff, great respect for privacy. Very nice, comfortable and well equiped rooms/suits in accordance with the look and feel of the site. Prices are in accordance to the quality delivered.
This is a place to sharish, we stayed only 3 days, but will defenitely try to book for a longer periode for our next stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RiRi4648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Delightful hotel in a unique setting -- built in the remains of a 120 year old fortress. Outstanding views of the harbor. Terrific privacy. Extremely helpful staff. Excellent facilities and food. Costly and worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTS997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear GTS 997,

We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was up to your expectations and that you especially appreciated the sea views and the efforts of our staff. On behalf of the entire team at Cap Rocat we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regard from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Cap Rocat could be one of my top 5 places in the world(so far)

Like many hotels and tourist attractions, Cap Rocat was originally a fortress against...the USA in the Spanish American War. The hotel pays homage to its roots with clever details like mortar shells for door knobs and ammunition cart tables. Its very interesting and well done

Cap Rocat is on the Mediterranean. The pool and a restaurant as well as the beach is on oceans edge. Your room will be a guard tower with the best view of the ocean complete with outside patio and bed(yes an outside bed). The room itself is beautiful with a large bed, sitting area and a huge bathroom

As good as the views are, the service may be better. Some of the areas are somewhat steep,. but there is always an electric cart willing to help you up or down. They also hand you a button to press for help....need help, a drink, a cart? Press the button

And finally, they also know food. The dining was superb...Then again, it should be. The fish are pretty close. I really liked this place......They understand luxury

Room Tip: pick any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanks296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap R, Manager at Cap Rocat, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Shanks296,

We are so pleased to receive your review. Cap Rocat has a privileged location and unparalleled views, and to compare the service you received to this natural beauty is truly a compliment. Thank you. One footnote: the fortification was inaugurated in 1898, the same year as the Spanish-American war, fortunately it was never directly involved in a conflict.

Kinds Regards from Cap Rocat,

Kika Salom
House Manager
Cap Rocat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Blava
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
8.4 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
19.4 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
22.6 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Rocat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Rocat

Property: Cap Rocat
Address: Carretera Enderrocat s/n, 07609 Cala Blava, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Blava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Blava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cap Rocat 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cap Rocat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Rocat Hotel Cala Blava
Cap Rocat Spain/Cala Blava, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing