We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over winter months expect it to be more like the film Cocoon than family friendly”
Review of Eurotel Altura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurotel Altura
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over winter months expect it to be more like the film Cocoon than family friendly”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

In winter the bulk of its guests seem to be elderly Brits who stay for months on end, which does give it the air of a retirement home, albeit one thats residents are a bit self important. Its a nice hotel, the staff are fine, but don't really go out of their way to make your stay memorable, its a pleasant hotel, nice beach location, (a car is a definite requirement unless you're elderly and looking at knitting a cardigan in the bar during your stay). The food is passable, nothing special, in fact I was astounded to read other website reviews saying it was excellent, as it certainly wasn't.

Top Tip: Definitely rent a car and visit the local area, or venture over to Spain via the bridge near Castro Marim (which does not incur motorway tolls as long as you travel there via the non motorway N-road). Try and avoid the motorway as the toll system is not simple, even the locals don't really understand it, as it changed yet again in Dec 2011.

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for sea facing rooms AS ALL ARE!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank korvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    280
    65
    13
    6
See reviews for
208
291
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here with a group of friends for a golfing holiday. The rooms were spacious and all had sea views. Don't be put off by pictures of the front of the hotel....these are corridor windows. The hotel was in a great location and right on the beach. The beach bar was a little noisy one of the nights which could still be heard from our room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed for 9 nights with two children in a suite. The communal areas are all done very well, but the rooms are still quite dated and not really up to a good 4 star hotel standard. The balcony was very small with the air con unit stuck on the wall, not very pleasant to sit by! On the plus side the view was spectacular. The parasols by the pool were in need of replacing, but we never struggled to find a sun lounger. You did have to pay 3 euro each time you wanted a clean pool towel. We were half board and found the range of food limited, although what was available was usually ok. We did find the huge queues and race to the buffet at 7.30 a bit frustrating.
Overall it was ok, but there are MUCH better 4 star hotels in Portugal.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Once or twice a year I go to Portugal for a short break ony own. Usually, I visit vilamoura, but after a stay in montegordo last year with a friend I looked to the eastern algarve. This hotel was wonderful. Before I arrived I emailed the hotel with some questions which were answered fully and promptly, and when I booked I asked for a high floor if possible. On arrival I was quickly and efficiently checked in, and delighted to find I had been upgraded to a suite on the 9th floor. The public areas are beautifully decorated and furnished, the corridors quiet and lightly carpeted (no clicky heels!) and I found myself in a corner room with almost 360 degree views! The room was large, clean and again beautifully decorated. The view from the balcony is breathtaking, and am I sure this would be true from all floors. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom and lots of storage and seating.
I booked half board and the food was delightful. I note some people didn't like the choice of just one meat and one fish for main, I think this increases the quality is what is served. Dinning staff all polite and attentive and I found the white wine to be excellent. Calm live music in the bar area, where again staff were excellent. Breakfast was very nice, but eastern algarve is not as popular with Brits so if you yearn for a full English, you won't find it here. Not a problem to me. Interestingly, this is the first hotel in the algarve I've found that serves good morning coffee! The pool and gardens are immaculate, you can have a pool towel for a deposit of 20e which is returned when you hand it in. An excellent feature are the sunbeds, which are comfortable and easy ( and very quiet) to move. No being woken from a gentle snooze by someone scrapping a sunbed over the tiles. Pool bar fine. Can't agree prices are high, 2.20 for a small beer and 2.50 for a large glass of white wine. Normal I'd say. There is also plenty of covered seating. A short walk on a boardwalk to the fantastic beach. This is where east beats west. Soft golden sand and gentle shelving warm waters. Bliss. The room was cleaned well each day, all staff encountered made me feel welcome. Altura itself is mainly villas with a few shops and restaurants, but monte gordo just a short taxi ride for a more lively night if you feel the need. I recommend it for a visit but the hotels cant compete. In summary, I had a fabulous short stay and will no doubt be back. Thanks to all the staff and management.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We visted as 3 sisters with our 81 year mum!. Accomodation suited us as we could have a 3 bed suite for us girls and 1 room for our mum. We asked for low floor and rooms next to each other and that was what we got, in fact as the room immediatly next to ours was a superior so they upgraded our mum's room free of charge.
As the weather had turned bad in May ( rare & unexpected ) we mainly ate inside the hotel but the food was excellent something for everyone at breakfast with lots of it, and dinner in the evening with either buffet or al a carte. 2 of us had buffet every night as it was so good , and the al a carte also was excellent. If you have picky eateres they will be able to eat here without any problems.
The staff were FABULOUS, they could not be more helpful, they organised Taxi's from the airport very cheaply, for local trips as well, helped us sort out Car hire, printed maps for our travels ( one member of staff actually lent us his personal SAT NAV so we didn't get lost ), nothing was too much trouble for them.

The beach is beautiful ,long and wide, and had the weather been better we would have spent more time there, but us 3 girls went running on the beach in the morning and it was so relaxing, with uninterupted views.

I would definitly go back with my husband for a week, or with the Kids as well for a long weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, the higher the better view. 3 bedroom suite is very spacy, with 2 singles th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I visited Eurotel with my husaband and 2 daughters over the easter holidays, nice hotel, moderate size,good facilities,freezing outdoor pool and unfotunately have to pay 7 euros to use indoor pool! Very clean, offers a great shuttle bus service twice a week to Taveria and a port to catch ferry over to spain, well worth doing cost 1.60 euros each way! Hotel bar as usual expensive and half board food although good was repetative towards end of week!!Good sized rooms.In a small village setting which offered a taste of the real portugal and the best bit.. the Beach.. its to die for!! my kids thought it was paradise!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachael1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed half board for a week. Our room was on the 9th floor and the view of the long sandy beach was one of the best we've every had from a hotel. Loved the decor throughout the hotel. Our room had twin beds, lots of wardrobe space but a tiny bathroom. Loads of fresh fruit, bread, salad and cold meats at both breakfast and dinner. Dinner was a choice of just one meat or fish dish - food was sometimes luke warm even though staff worked very hard to replenish dishes.
The hotel is very isolated, the village at the back of the hotel seemed to consist of holiday villas & apartments - most of them empty out of season. We made the most of the free shuttle service 3 days per week, this goes to Tavira or Antonio, both places are worth a visit. We also got the ferry from Antonio to Ayamonte in Spain, a lovely town - well worth a visit. (plus good supermakets). You don't need your passport to cross into Spain. We also went on a day trip to Seville, reception staff were very helpful in arranging this for us. Being near the border meant we were the last to be picked up and first to be dropped off.
Unfortunately the weather was terrible when we were there, nothing is at it's best in the pouring rain!
I would recommend this hotel for a quiet, relaxing holiday, just keep your fingers crossed for sunshine.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors give best view of beach/sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altura
0.9 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
251 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
344 reviews
8.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Monte Gordo
515 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
437 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#6 of 15 in Tavira
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurotel Altura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurotel Altura

Property: Eurotel Altura
Address: Avenida 24 de Junho | Praia de Altura, Altura 8950-417, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Altura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurotel Altura 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurotel Altura is located on the lovely Altura beach, in the East Algarve. All rooms have a private balcony and boost spectacular views of the sea. Buffet breakfast is included and there is free parking in the hotel.The hotel has an outdoor pool, garden area, tennis court, mini-golf, restaurant, snack bar and bar. The recently built Wellness Center has a hydrotherapy area with Turkish bath, Caribbean Shower and relaxation area. It also has massage and treatment rooms as well as a fully equipped gymnasium.Eurotel Altura also has available a special area for the younger guests, offering a Kids Club with full entertainment programme all year round.The hotel is located only 10 minutes from 6 golf courses and Faro International Airport is only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Eurotel Altura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurotel Altura Hotel Altura
Eurotel Altura Hotel Beach
Eurotel Altura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing