We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a resort hotel”
Review of Eurotel Altura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eurotel Altura
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for a resort hotel”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Impressed by this stylish modern refurbished hotel, set on the most beautiful beach on Eastern Algarve, boasting panoramic view of the sea and coastline.
Staff polite and efficient.
Stayed in a suite located at the end of the corridor. Spacious with fantastic seaview from the balcony. Room for improvement for sound insulation, as one could hear the guests next door talking and singing, also air-conditioning rather noisy.
Great breakfast with a lot of selection, scrambled egg excellent. Buffet dinner provided a salad bar and choice of 3 main dishes, but food was warm, not hot. Was offered a free bottle of wine in the first night of dinner. Decided to eat out in local restaurants the following nights.
Massage was nice but spa pool rather disappointing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 132s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    280
    65
    13
    6
See reviews for
208
291
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wroughton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Clean, tidy, well maintained hotel that was nicely decorated. Good value for money with a decent pool and just a stones throw from the beach that didnt get too busy. The town itself isnt very inviting but there is a much larger one an hours walk away along the beach. Stayed half board and the food was ample and of decent quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PubCat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorner, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The Hotel itself is very well positioned on the beach and is beautifully decorated. We had a family room which was very luxurious and spacious and easily fit us, our twins and all their belongings! The staff were lovely and VERY helpful - nothing was too much trouble and they should be credited for really being very happy in their jobs and going above and beyond.

My two complaints are:

The Indoor Pool and the Food.

Indoor Pool - as we were going in the winter we knew it would be too cold to use the outdoor pool, particularly with 5 month old babies. We had booked, therefore, a hotel with an indoor pool so that on days when the weather was not so hot we had the option still to swim and have some fun. None of the pictures of the hotel showed the pool with dim lighting or looking as though it was part of a spa centre, and yet it was. There was also nothing that said you would have to pay for the pool although some blurb did say local charges would apply but this was listed next to baby sitting, wellness centre, tennis courts etc. Never for a minute did I think we would have to pay to use the pool otherwise we would not have booked this hotel. The pool as you will now have gathered is part of the wellness centre - which is indeed very sumptious with pool, sauna, relaxation room etc and well worth the 7.50 Euros per day per person.

However, with two babies, who can spend approximately half an hour in the pool at most, paying 15 Euros for 30 minutes was a very bitter pill to swallow and meant we could only afford to use it once. I feel that the hotel could have been far more accomodating given that we weren't using any of the other facilities and indeed were only in there for 30 minutes! Also it should be far more clearly apparent that charges apply in relation to the pool - we would not have booked!

Finally, the food was abysmal. There is absolutely no excuse for a four star hotel to only serve one cooked vegetable each night and for that to be either frozen or tinned. I was horrified. There are only two meal choices each night, one meat and one fish with the fish being overcooked and disgusting. The first night the restaurant smelled like a school dining hall it was so poor. The veal was lovely but there are only so many nights you can eat the same meat in a different sauce with one frozen vegetable selection. Breakfast was great, drinks were expensive and the Al a Carte so not worth the money at all.

Also, people QUEUED to be seated at 7!!!! If you weren't in the queue then you didn't get seated until someone left. All well and good when you're free and not paying for a babysitter!!! To waste money waiting was disappointing and never have I had to wait before! They should either have enough seats or operate a reservation system!

Finally, Altura is totally closed in the winter so there are no restuarants or anywhere to go for a meal outside the hotel so be warned!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank UKCemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrox, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a very relaxing 5 day stay in the Eurotel hotel in February. Our room was exceptionally clean, very large and bright with a wonderful view of the fantastic beach which stretched for miles. The breakfast buffet was varied, kept fresh and well stocked and even included cava to start your day. The staff were all wonderful, the breakfast staff constantly clearing tables and very willing to be of help to the older clientele. Altura was quiet but understandable in February and still enough good restaurants available if you want to eat out. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 8th or 9th floor and away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frejus
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Thank you Eurotel for the best service, lovely room and excellent food. A special thank you to all the staff who were so friendly, efficient and charming. We stayed at the Eurotel for three days last week and were delighted with the service from the moment we arrived to checkout. The location was wonderful and - on 10th floor - our room had smashing views over the sea. We were given a free upgrade to a superior room which was a nice gesture and much appreciated. The restaurant does a buffet every night but there is also a full a la carte menu which we preferred. The food was of very high quality and the service top class (whilst unobtrusive and not obsequious). The room was quiet and comfortable and spotless. It was also very good value for money. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishinFrejus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I've been here also last year and some of the staff recognized me, that's great. Staying in the winter requires to turn the airco heating on which provides quite some dry air. The wifi is still very poor. It works spotlessly in the lobby but not on the 9th floor and neither in the library. Mgmt should do something about it. The beds are very comfy, the cleanliness is really good and the breakfast offers plenty to enjoy. Small but cosy healthclub with minipool and steambath. Quite large gym with personal trainer. The hotel is located within 20 minutes to 8 golfcourses- ideal for a trip.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasKahnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

What a beautiful and very clean and attractive hotel! The location is perfect if you like to be near the beach with peace and quiet and lovely views. Nice room with large bed and adequate although rather small bathroom. Staff polite and helpful. All rooms seem to have a balcony with sea views.The spa is excellent, clean and very well run and maintained, but a little costly for daily visits. Was a little disappointed with the size of the buffet: the smallest we have seen with not enough choices and some food often cold. Also not good for non-meat eaters like us. We had chosen this hotel because of the amazing views from higher floors but were given a low floor as we were told refurbishment was happening. Unfortunately there was some air conditioning machine outside near the room so this was rather disturbing and the first two nights we couldn't sleep because of very noisy neighbours. We still had a lovely time and would recommend a stay here especially for senior citizens.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms towards top few floors for an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblingpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altura
0.9 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
251 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
344 reviews
8.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Monte Gordo
516 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
438 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#6 of 15 in Tavira
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurotel Altura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurotel Altura

Property: Eurotel Altura
Address: Avenida 24 de Junho | Praia de Altura, Altura 8950-417, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Altura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurotel Altura 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurotel Altura is located on the lovely Altura beach, in the East Algarve. All rooms have a private balcony and boost spectacular views of the sea. Buffet breakfast is included and there is free parking in the hotel.The hotel has an outdoor pool, garden area, tennis court, mini-golf, restaurant, snack bar and bar. The recently built Wellness Center has a hydrotherapy area with Turkish bath, Caribbean Shower and relaxation area. It also has massage and treatment rooms as well as a fully equipped gymnasium.Eurotel Altura also has available a special area for the younger guests, offering a Kids Club with full entertainment programme all year round.The hotel is located only 10 minutes from 6 golf courses and Faro International Airport is only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurotel Altura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurotel Altura Hotel Altura
Eurotel Altura Hotel Beach
Eurotel Altura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing