We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay, lovely beach”
Review of Eurotel Altura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eurotel Altura
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Certificate of Excellence
Didcot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay, lovely beach”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I went with my 18yr old daughter and the free wifi for every device was a hit! Staff were friendly and helpful. The beach was beautiful - quiet a few jelly fish washed up. Walked along beach to Monte Gordo (about 45 mins) lots of shops there.

Breakfast catered for everyone and open until 10:30. Didnot eat in the hotel at night so cannot comment on that.

We had a massage ...lush and staff were brilliant.

Would go back there again.

Room Tip: We were on 7th floor and view was fantastic, so higher up the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacquiOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    277
    62
    12
    5
See reviews for
205
288
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uttoxeter
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A wonderful find in a perfect location. The hotel is in a fantastic location almost on the beach at Altura. Altura is a village with holiday apartments a handful of bars and restaurant but as yet is quiet and unspoiled. All the rooms have magnificent sea views and are very well appointed maintained and modern. Latex type beds which were very comfortable and were made up with crisp white linen. The public areas are all kept very tidy and clean too. The pool was cleaned thoroughly each day and had sun beds parasols and huge bean bags around it on which to relax. We were not told that beach towels were available so had to purchase these. Take some with you. There was also a pool snack bar with waiter service. I was blown away by the view from our balcony of the endless beach sea and pool. There were also plenty of smart staff who were always very polite and extremely efficient helpful and professional.
Breakfast was excellent lots of choice of fresh fruit, breads, juices, coffee and a variety of cooked food too. We didn't opt for dinner but I heard no complaints and it smelled good.
After a terribly sad and very stressful year I needed a short break and this was perfect. A lovely quiet pool and pool area and just a 2 minute stroll along the boardwalk to the beach which stretches for miles.
If you choose to hire a car access to all the Algarve and also Spain is very easy as Altura is just minutes from the main road. The hotel also runs shuttle services to local towns too.
If you want nightlife clubs and English bars then go somewhere else because this is more refined.
All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and I hope to return again soon. A real gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suedUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our second stay here and will be back again. The whole experience from check in to check out is exceptional. the room was spotless, food both at breakfast and diner was lovely plenty of choice and delicious. staff couldn't be any more pleasant or helpful. Altura is a quiet destination but that is one of the reasons we like it.
Only slight criticism is the bar prices, but because of that we found a great little local bar around the corner where we sent many a happy night...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a beatiful break we had, beautiful hotel and amazing food. Not a lot to do for kids but still had good time as we rented a car and went to see dolphins... overall a very clean hotel with lovely staff..

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms above 3rd floor have a good beach view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We travelled as a couple in our 40's to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We wanted a nice hotel, somewhere that was peaceful, with good walks and a lovely beach, and were not at all disappointed. The recent refurbishment of the hotel is to a very high standard. We had a corner suite on the 8th floor (808)- views on 3 sides, and more than enough room for the 2 of us. We did use the heating in the evenings and the room heated quickly. The air conditioning from other rooms can be noisy at times.
The breakfasts had a good choice of food. I had informed the hotel I was wheat free before I arrived and they brought me my own wheat free bread every morning. We even had a glass of cava on the morning of our anniversary- it's available every morning at breakfast!! We had one meal in the hotel, and my 'wheat free vegetarian no butter' meal was enjoyable.
Altura itself is very quiet but pleasant to walk around. A couple of bars and 2 supermarkets. We walked along the beach to Monte Gordo (1 hour) - ok but nothing to write home about. Just the other side of the town we found a path through a national forest, and walked for an hour to the Spanish border and Vila Real. Worth a visit.
The hotel lay on free buses to various destinations throughout the week. Tavira was worth seeing. The restaurants along the main strip are very expensive- try those that the locals use- they are much cheaper.
The hotel and pool area was very clean at all times. The staff were very helpful. The reception has a large list of DVD's, and the reading room has a selection of books. We spent one afternoon reading on the loungers by the pool- very relaxing.
All in all would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a suit- very spacious. Corner rooms have great views on 3 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 7AL150N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A lovely hotel, very stylish and beautifully maintained. We had 2 superior rooms on the 9th floor. Very spacious will stunning views; you can see the sea when lying in bed, great way to start the day! Pool and garden area very pretty and spotlessly clean with plenty of sunbeds. Restaurant good but with a smaller choice of options than other hotels. All the food I had was lovely but my sons did miss not having a choice of pizza. burger or chips at every meal!!! The breakfasts were very good, with a large choice.There is direct access to the beach which in April was very quiet and peaceful. You can walk along the beach to Monte Gordo. Not a very attractive place but plenty of shops and bars. It took about an hour to walk and a taxi back was 7 euro. The hotel provide a minibus there and also to Tavira. This was well worth a visit; beautiful winding streets and lots of churches and gardens. Altura itself is very small and was very quiet so early in the season but walking left out of the hotel we found a lovely walk following the cycle paths along the coast. Had a great holiday and would gladly return. The only negative was the cost of drinks at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel was outstanding and beautifuly clean. The staff were so helpful and friendly and were always happy to assist us with anything. The hotel definately helped to make our holiday relaxed and special.
We found the food to be of a very high standard.
We will definatley come back again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altura
0.9 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
244 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
333 reviews
8.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Monte Gordo
504 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
429 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#5 of 15 in Tavira
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurotel Altura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurotel Altura

Property: Eurotel Altura
Address: Avenida 24 de Junho | Praia de Altura, Altura 8950-417, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Altura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurotel Altura 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurotel Altura is located on the lovely Altura beach, in the East Algarve. All rooms have a private balcony and boost spectacular views of the sea. Buffet breakfast is included and there is free parking in the hotel.The hotel has an outdoor pool, garden area, tennis court, mini-golf, restaurant, snack bar and bar. The recently built Wellness Center has a hydrotherapy area with Turkish bath, Caribbean Shower and relaxation area. It also has massage and treatment rooms as well as a fully equipped gymnasium.Eurotel Altura also has available a special area for the younger guests, offering a Kids Club with full entertainment programme all year round.The hotel is located only 10 minutes from 6 golf courses and Faro International Airport is only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurotel Altura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurotel Altura Hotel Altura
Eurotel Altura Hotel Beach
Eurotel Altura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing