We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seemingly out-of-place - but so good”
Review of Eurotel Altura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurotel Altura
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Seemingly out-of-place - but so good”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel, sitting on the beach in a small town, where the buildings are all low, make it seem someone from Monty Python had just dropped it there but that is where the incongruity stopped.

The place is spotlessly clean and well maintained. We found the staff friendly and helpful and nothing seemed to be of any bother. An unannounced bowl of fruit and sparkling wine was sent to the room for a birthday present, which was not expected but very much appreciated. Upon thanking them at reception and asking why we were told, with a smile, "perhaps someone had a birthday?"

We ate twice in the restaurant: first a la carte and secondly buffet. Although the buffet was standard hotel fayre, it was tasty. The a la carte was fantastic and I tasted Octopus on thin slices of sweet potato, like I have never tasted octopus before. So tasty.

All in all, despite it looking so out of place, this place was a vary welcome surprise for me. A thank you to the all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjm1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    280
    66
    13
    6
See reviews for
209
292
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean. Good facilities - outside pool & spa. Well stocked gym with weights & cardio equipment.

No option of a late checkout. You have to be out the room by 12.

Laundry service don't really know how to iron shirts.

Food in the hotel is pretty bad.

Staff are generally rude. Only the odd few are nice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sebjgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff are very polity and welcoming. The town is very small, but with some really nice restaurants and places to visit. beach is 2 min walk from the hotel and was amazing. hotel pool and spa are very nice and was the main feature for the holiday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalvinder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Relatively standard hotel, nothing special to note. Was disappointed at the complete lack of even an acknowledgement to an email requesting some assistance to organise a special breakfast for my girlfriend on her birthday. Small things like this go a long way to getting a hotel and its staff a good reputation. On the flip side I called a nearby restaurant to arrange dinner, and they couldn't have been more helpful. They had flowers at the table and ordered a cake. Breakfast has an ok variety, but the juices are concentrated, and aside from the croissants, the food lacked taste and freshness. Staff pretty surly, non smiling most of the time. proximity to the beach is nice, and the beach is superb. The hotel has a nice pool and plenty of deck chairs to lie out on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EuroAsiaflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel very clean and they did give us a free upgrade to a suite because we had to wait so long for our rooms. We waited till 4pm before we got in our room and we had been up since half 1 that morning. Lovely clean rooms and the view was out of this world, but no nightly entertainment meant it was boring in the evenings. The food was very average the same every day, and the breakfast bacon was cold. We used to have bets on what it would be. Salad every night for 10 days is a bit too much. Some of the staff could have been more friendly , trying to get a smile out of the waiting staff was our task for 10 days. Also they should have have the umbrellas out on the beach as the weather was quite hot, and my mate cannot sit in the sun cos of skin problems. With all this we enjoyed our stay and our room made up for the other little niggles.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sexydenzy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location, all rooms facing the sea. Excellent staff. Unfortunately , the free wi-fi has low bandwidth and a lot of disconnections. I have stayed in this hotel in 2012 and the wi-fi problem was obvious already then. It seems that the hotel doesn't mind upsetting clients with such a poor service... Downgraded rating from last visit because of this. The village itself is of limited interest and a car to move around is recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LP-Lisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORFOLK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at the Eurotel Altura in May 2014, check in was fine,room was very nice and spacious, went to reception to ask for an ironing board and iron, I was informed that they don't supply them !! Asked how I was supposed to iron my clothes and was told we have a laundry service !!! If you have seen the price of these you will understand my anger, the room was supposed to be serviced every day, but not once were the coffee & tea replaced, I asked for milk for the room I was told there was a supermarket nearby !!! Food was never hot, drinks from the bar were so expensive so we found a local bar, this is not what I expected from a 4star hotel !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TWINNYNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altura
0.9 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
252 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
350 reviews
8.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Monte Gordo
520 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
439 reviews
4.0 mi away
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
#1 of 2 in Vila Nova de Cacela
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurotel Altura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurotel Altura

Property: Eurotel Altura
Address: Avenida 24 de Junho | Praia de Altura, Altura 8950-417, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Altura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurotel Altura 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurotel Altura is located on the lovely Altura beach, in the East Algarve. All rooms have a private balcony and boost spectacular views of the sea. Buffet breakfast is included and there is free parking in the hotel.The hotel has an outdoor pool, garden area, tennis court, mini-golf, restaurant, snack bar and bar. The recently built Wellness Center has a hydrotherapy area with Turkish bath, Caribbean Shower and relaxation area. It also has massage and treatment rooms as well as a fully equipped gymnasium.Eurotel Altura also has available a special area for the younger guests, offering a Kids Club with full entertainment programme all year round.The hotel is located only 10 minutes from 6 golf courses and Faro International Airport is only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurotel Altura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurotel Altura Hotel Altura
Eurotel Altura Hotel Beach
Eurotel Altura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing