We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eurotel Altura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurotel Altura
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Husband and I stayed here for one night only whilst our in laws had the kids. Booked via late bookings.com. Initially paid for a double room with sea view. Once booked they called to advise there had been a mistake and that room wasn't available. We still had a double room but it was a smaller version. Room had an amazing view with a little balcony over looking the pool and sea. Room & shower room was clean. My only criticism would be the shower room felt partially small. The door banged into the toilet as you opened the door and your elbows touched the shower doors when you shower. Restaurant clean and staff attentive. Bar staff were friendly. Pool area spacious and surrounded by nice green areas. For the size of the hotel the pool area didn't feel crowded. (I guess being on the beach majority go there). You can access beach from a gate in the grounds where pool area is. Breakfast was nice. Found it strange they didn't ask for your room number. Think hotel has had a recent refurbishment. We didn't have the kids with us this time but I had a look at the kids club room which looked great and saw the activities taking place. You can take a walk out in the evenings and there is lots going on around the area - especially if you have kids. Very cheap compared to some hotels. There is a spa section which we didn't have time to try out. Would stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoopyandfrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    268
    58
    12
    4
See reviews for
202
277
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just returned from our third stay at Eurotel Altura and I must say that I want to holiday here every year forever!

The rooms are great, spacious and clean. The staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

The location is perfect right next to an amazing beach.

The hotel pool is clean and we never struggle to get a sun bed.

Hotel restaurant and beach bar are very handy for lunch if youre not venturing out. The quality of the food and drink is excellent.

The breakfast is more than adequate and has much improved since our first stay in 2010

We love Altura, there are many good places to eat here as well as in nearby MonteGordo

And make sure you catch the ferry over to Spain for the day, very cheap excursion, loved it!

Can't wait to book Eurotel for 2015....

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDnCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my family stayed in this hotel last April for a week, its brilliant place to stay, clean, quiet and family friendly environment. We are booked half board, food is very good. My kids age 10 and 7 enjoyed staying on their kids club.
View on the balcony is absolutely perfect.
Its the best place to unwind.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry1974_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

After doing a lot of research I chose this hotel for a holiday with my boyfriend and we both thought it was excellent.We are both in our late 20s. Before arriving, I sent several emails to the hotel asking questions about the area and they were all answered very politely and promptly.
Rooms all have a beautiful sea view and the higher your room, the better the view. It is right on the beach (a beautiful beach) and a 2 min walk from a handful of bars and restaurants. Nice and quiet at night and excellent breakfast and facilities.
I don't know how anyone can say staff are rude because they all went out of the way to help us all the time and sorted out car hire for us. They speak several languages and are very efficient. A bit out of the way for watersports and water parks but this is a small price to pay for saying in such a beautiful place. We hired a car to get to where we wanted when we weren't at the beach. We don't have children but there were lots of families with children and they have a kids' club. Beach and hotel pool are never over crowded like in Albufeira. If you like clubbing and a lively night life, forget it but if you want a quiet get away with a few bars and places to eat and a great beach, this place has it all. This is not a touristy area, at least not for Brits and other nationalities. Most holiday makers are Portugues. Ihave travelled a lot in Europe and was not at all disappointed with anything here. A great place for families and couples looking for a quieter holiday!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleLoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a little gem of a family friendly hotel. Lovely little touches like blackout blinds in rooms, drop off kids club (at no extra charge), a play area and mini golf for kids, and freshly squeezed OJ on tap at the great breakfast spread. It was pretty amazing to be able to nip to the pristine beach with its clear blue sea, then off for fresh seafood lunch in town centre and then back in the pool in moments. The kids pool was perfecltly sized, and there were always plenty of loungers available. The charges for drinks at the hotel bar were also very reasonable. Be careful of the €3 laundry charge for the beach towels, which we were not charged as it was not explained to us properly upfront. I believe laundry is also pricey, but we took our own little travel iron. Also, the beach chairs are €15 each for the day for front row but frankly a bit far away from the sea so not much use if you want to dip in and out. Best of all, the occupants were very decent, family oriented and quiet. All in all a great stay - well done!

Room Tip: The lifts can be a bit busy so try and stay on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Masalamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel, sitting on the beach in a small town, where the buildings are all low, make it seem someone from Monty Python had just dropped it there but that is where the incongruity stopped.

The place is spotlessly clean and well maintained. We found the staff friendly and helpful and nothing seemed to be of any bother. An unannounced bowl of fruit and sparkling wine was sent to the room for a birthday present, which was not expected but very much appreciated. Upon thanking them at reception and asking why we were told, with a smile, "perhaps someone had a birthday?"

We ate twice in the restaurant: first a la carte and secondly buffet. Although the buffet was standard hotel fayre, it was tasty. The a la carte was fantastic and I tasted Octopus on thin slices of sweet potato, like I have never tasted octopus before. So tasty.

All in all, despite it looking so out of place, this place was a vary welcome surprise for me. A thank you to the all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjm1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean. Good facilities - outside pool & spa. Well stocked gym with weights & cardio equipment.

No option of a late checkout. You have to be out the room by 12.

Laundry service don't really know how to iron shirts.

Food in the hotel is pretty bad.

Staff are generally rude. Only the odd few are nice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sebjgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altura
0.9 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
8.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 14 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurotel Altura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurotel Altura

Property: Eurotel Altura
Address: Av. 24 de Junho | Praia de Altura, Altura 8950-414, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Altura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurotel Altura 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurotel Altura is located on the lovely Altura beach, in the East Algarve. All rooms have a private balcony and boost spectacular views of the sea. Buffet breakfast is included and there is free parking in the hotel.The hotel has an outdoor pool, garden area, tennis court, mini-golf, restaurant, snack bar and bar. The recently built Wellness Center has a hydrotherapy area with Turkish bath, Caribbean Shower and relaxation area. It also has massage and treatment rooms as well as a fully equipped gymnasium.Eurotel Altura also has available a special area for the younger guests, offering a Kids Club with full entertainment programme all year round.The hotel is located only 10 minutes from 6 golf courses and Faro International Airport is only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurotel Altura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurotel Altura Hotel Altura
Eurotel Altura Hotel Beach
Eurotel Altura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing