We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Alagoa Mar Apartamentos
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alagoa Mar Apartamentos
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here the staff are very nice and very helpful the lady in the bar works very hard she is always there this hotel is an ideal location in between old town and new town the rooms are spacious and cleaned every day the beds are ok the only downfall was that you had to pay for wi fi and it was only available down in reception the pool area was not very clean when we arrived the pool was not very clean I did speak to reception and it was cleaned up on arrival most of the sun beds were broken however during the week they did replace a few and brought new umbrellas out there is a hotel. Next to this one called the paladin this is identical and we saw they cleaned their pool area every day very well disinfected during our stay they only cleaned the pool area once I would say that this is more a three star than a four however having said all that we did enjoy our stay not enough ashtrays were left around the pool so people just disregarded there ends on the floor

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tess36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in aug 2012 with a group of friends. Location perfect as it is centre point between strip and old town...pool area lovely and bar nice. Staff friendly. A little dated apartment wise but good for price paid. an enjoyable Experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank an0n123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed here with my partner a few months ago. We had a great stay and found the location to be great. Its about a 10 minute walk to either the old town or the new town. Theres a supermarket about 5 minutes away so handy for groceries.

The hotel itself was very clean and the rooms nicely decorated. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. Our check in was with Andre? I think that was his name, he was especially helpful and made us feel very welcome!

Will definitely stay again if we return to the Algarve

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DelBoy3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

i went with my boyfriend. we stayed in a one bedroom apt and found it was quite exprensive to stay here.
We had a view over a main road which was very disappointing as it was extremely noisy. i asked for a pool view but staff refused to move us. There was no sun on the balcony at all.
However putting all this aside we had an enjoyable stay. the hotel was nice and clean, nice large pool and plenty of sun beds. 24hr reception. The hotel is ideally situated between old town and new however i would recommed staying near the old town as it was a much better atmosphere brillian restaurants and plenty of bars. We had a good stay however unless you are guaranteed a pool view i would not stay here. I know i sound ungrateful but the view of a main road really spoiled the trip as i felt like i was still at home in birmingham!

  • Liked — modern
  • Disliked — view from our room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank eddie456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Located just back from a main road. Half way between the Old Town & the Strip (about a 15 min walk from each). So if you're interested in visiting both spots, it's ideally located.

However, if you plan on spending all of your evenings in one or the other, i would suggest staying near one or the other...as the Strip & The Old Town are about a 30-40 min walk apart.

Located near the stop for a nice little tourist train that runs all day between the old town & the strip.

Located about a 15min walk from the beach.

If staying in these apartments, I would suggest requesting a room with a pool view as the rooms facing the road can be noisy (traffic).

Reasonably priced.

Lovely big pool & pool area with plenty of comfortable beds.

Snack bar not up to much & quite expensive.

Friendly receptionists (24hr reception).

Mainly occupied by Scandanavians & Germans.

No entertainment.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — The Noise from the main road in the rooms at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HolsFromDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altura
0.3 mi away
Eurotel Altura
Eurotel Altura
#1 of 4 in Altura
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagoa Praia Norte
Alagoa Praia Norte
#3 of 4 in Altura
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Praia da Lota Resort Apartments
2.8 mi away
Guadiana
Guadiana
#11 of 13 in Monte Gordo
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagoa Mar Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagoa Mar Apartamentos

Property: Alagoa Mar Apartamentos
Address: Lote 2, Altura 8950-411, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Altura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagoa Mar Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alagoa Mar Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alagoa Mar Apartamentos Hotel Altura
Alagoa Mar Apartamentos Altura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing