We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs air conditioning.”
Review of Club La Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club La Mar
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed in club la mar for a week in june 2012.very quiet but we went a week after school holidays.overall the resort is a very good one and recently updated,maid service is very good and they always helped. us out when needed and same for reception staff.pool area is well maintained with a good sun lounger area.recommend the restaurant downstairs very good food and lovely family run,also casa pepe and chinatown 2 excellent food.resort is within a small town with lots of shops and supermarkets but avoid the shops who sell cameras as pushy sales and some will try and rip you off.well worth a walk around the coastal path into puerto santiago, shops are good and helpful friendly staff.would visit again overall one of our best holidays just needs airconditioning in rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jquizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here 3rd-17th April in a two bedroom appartment. Very well equipped, everything you need for an enjoyable stay. The whole complex was clean and tidy at all times while we where there. Our appartment was cleaned every 3 or 4 days including towel and bedding change. We were in appartment 65 overlooking the main road which was good as you had a nice view, but during the night it could get noisy with people going past and also traffic noise- not that there was a lot of traffic it was mostly due to a speed hump just outside. Something i would like to mention is the hot water - especially in the kitchen it was very hot! The pool area was ok but it could do with a few more sunbeds. To use the pool you have to go up some steps and you need your key to get in, when coming back out there isn't much room from closing the door you feel like you are going to fall down the stairs. I can imagine it to be a bit of a struggle with small children. But saying that the beach is only 5-10 minute walk away (turn left as you come out of the complex).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ElaineE236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The apartments on this complex are all available to buy, but only 5 are privately owned. This is a sign of the market at the moment so the apartments are rented out. They are fully equiped for a self catering holiday with a full oven, fridge freezer, utensils for 6 people, washing machine, ironing board & iron and a good drying area - take your own pegs if you are intending to do washing while you are there. We were there for 11 nights and the apartment was cleaned twice in that time. The pool area is small and there are only a few sunbeds. We managed to get one most of the time but, as most of the people staying there were British, the sunbeds were reserved as soon as the pool area opened at 10am. This could be a bigger problem at peak times. Our apartment was at the front of the complex. The main road didn't bother us but we did get the afternoon sun on the main bedroom which made it very warm when we were getting ready to go out. There is no air conditioning, only ceiling fans. There were 4 of us staying in the apartment and it was plenty big enough for all of us. However, the hot water tank was too small so only 2 people could have a shower and the other two had to wait for the water to heat up again. The resort was quiet when we were there over Easter. There are a lot of empty retail units underneath the apartments and a lot up for sale around the resort.

All of the restaurants we visited were good, especially Casa Pepe which was excellent but you do need to book. For drinks, The Arena Bar seemed to be the best value. We visited Monkey Park which is just outside Los Cristianos. You need to catch the bus to Los Cristianos and then a taxi is about 5 euros. It is really good to feed the monkeys in the enclosure and it provided a good morning out.

We booked through Alpharooms and we were not charged the additional fee for gas and electric that has been mentioned in previous reviews.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have a sea view and get the afternoon sun on the balcony. However, they do f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManUtdFan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had a 2 bedroom flat overlooking the pools. When got to the hotel about 2am after being picked up by a taxi arranged by the hotel for us. The guy at the reception was waiting for us and happy to take us to our flat. The flat was very clean and a good size. The staff at the reception was very helpfull during our stay. Their are two pools, one being a good size and one being a kids pool, however they are not heated so a bit cold during the winter.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Merrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

If I was looking for a nice 2 room serviced apartment in a block of flats I would be very happy with Club La Mar as its clean, modern, recently refurbished and near the sea front. However as a holiday resort it lacks a proper restaurant, although there is a cafe in the same block. There is a small pool built on an adjacent elevated platform - but it lacks landscaping, trees or grass and is very utilitarian. A black sand beach which is more for looking at than swimming in, exists 500 metres away - ok for sandcastles but not for kids paddling. Santiago del Teide has quite a few closed up shops and looks a bit dated. Adjacent to the scenic beauty of the Gigantes cliffs, its good for walking around the harbour or boat trips or a meal downtown. Better for couples than kids. If you do want to sit around a pleasant pool, the Oasis complex 1.5 miles down the road costs 4 euro per day and is nicely landscaped and has a bar and restaurant.
Rooms were cleaned once per week.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the sea (just), rear rooms look at a wall 20 metres away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davebav50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Good value for money in this appartement hotel. We booked a 2 bed appartment with two fine bad rooms and a good balcony. Many fine restaurants nearby and the Areany beach is really fine. Remark the pool is not heated and there is only cleaning once a week.. Take a walk to Los Gigantes and go for a sail trip to see whales and dolphins. Or take a trip to lovely Masca for a walk.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skive-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed at Club La Mar for a week of winter sun with my friend, arriving New Years Eve. The apartment was fantastic, well equiped with everything you could ask for, from a fully stocked kitchen with full sized fridge freezer and full sized kettle to a washing machine and handy drying space. You even had a table cloth and napkins! To have an apartment with 2 bathrooms was great for 2 girls, well worth the utlity fee. The staff were lovely and laid back, special mention to Billy on reception who went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The restaurant under the apartments was lovely with really freindly staff. The pool was quiet and great place to chill and read. Playa De La Arena area had just enough restaurants and a couple of bars - Highland Paddy Great on New Years Eve. Great place for walking into Los Gigantes. Overall a great holiday, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DonnaD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
3 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
333 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,410 reviews
2.3 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,550 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club La Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club La Mar

Address: Avenida Maritima 25, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: £61 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club La Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Legal and Licensed Holiday Apartments. There are Seventeen 2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, fully furnished and equipped apartments. There is also Two 1 bedroom, apartments available too. A private Swimming Pool and Childrens Splash Pool is yours to use, as well as our recently refurbished roof top Solarium, offers incredible views of the 'Giants' of Los Gigantes and amazing views of the islands of La Gomera and La Palma. The very impressive 'El Teide' in all its majesty can be seen clearly too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Club La Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Mar Hotel Santiago Del Teide
Club La Mar Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing