We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club La Mar in June 2012” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club La Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club La Mar
Vilseck, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Club La Mar in June 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Let me first start by saying......PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE update your address. lol. well needless to say I drove to Santiago Del Teide......the hotel is not there...instead it is in Puerto De Santiago which is directly below Santiago Del Teide about a 15 minute drive or so and maybe 500m lower elevation... now that we have that settled lets begin.

My family and I stayed there from 3 June to 10 June 2012. 2 adults and a 4 year old.

Room: For me, I liked it. stayed at another resort in Marbella, Spain in November which I thought was better but that was mainland Spain so different styles. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. The electricty charge was 21euros for the week. not bad I think especially with me being American...well lets just say if you dont use it you lose it...so I use it. my Wife on the other hand is German and believes in conservation.....conflict of interest but back to the hotel. The room was clean and orderly.....one thing which has been mentioned before......no air conditioning.....and in summer you really need it. but the breeze in this area of the island is awesome. but I will get to that. The showers were nice. but be careful the hot water is exactly that......really hot. and with the heat it doesnt match lol. the Kitchen was well equipped. there was one thing missing in my opinion.......an iron. there was an ironing board but no iron. and I like my clothes not wrinkled. The balcony is nice and well worth the room. especially for a nice evening sitting enjoying the breeze with sangria. So I give the room a "A" for the room

Hotel Service: in my opinion was great...one note though..........house keeping is only once a week if you are an RCI member....other Timeshare owners can have up to 3 times a week.....kind of a let down but oh well. the front desk is very nice and when I had an issue trying to work the washing machine because my wife asked for help......well as a man I knew what I was doing but I was being nice and letting the maintenance man come show us how to use it....lol...ok i had no clue.... but he was up to our room within 3 minutes after our call. so I give the hotel a "A-" for Service.

Atmosphere: Well Puerto Del Santiago is NICE! the hotel was very quiet and barely had any noise at all in the evenings. around our last two nights, a lively bunch of younger men came to the hotel and started to be a little loud but I am guessing that got fixed since I didnt hear much after the first night of them partying. as some one stated before.........there is a small restaurant under the hotel...............OUTSTANDING to say the least. FRIENDLY! and surprisingly the food was awesome. The two brothers who work there are very nice and give you tips on what is good to eat....normally i blow people off but they told my wife to get a steak of fresh tuna and she was alittle nervous but when they brought it out well.....i almost jacked her for it. but my Pollo asado was awesome. and their Paella is to die for. There is a Austrian/German restaurant to the south (exit the hotel and go left) called Am Eck. The owner.....Willi.....is nice and the food was great. Of course the beer was great too when watching a Soccer game!

Other than this. there is not much else to say about the Hotel and the location.....WAIT!! the beach

Beach: BLACK SAND! do the math......BURNING HOT ON YOUR FEET. so wear flip flops until you get to the sand that is so absorbed with the sea water. the beach was awesome though except for burning my feet with open toed flip flops. and the sun beds at the beach cost 3 euros each.

If you have family and want a quiet vacation I would recommend this resort. if you are looking to enjoy some night life then please dont waste your time here unless you are willing to drive for it.

Room Tip: get sea side better view unless you want to look at the pool area.,.......your choice but the sea si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SFCQ2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed in club la mar for a week in june 2012.very quiet but we went a week after school holidays.overall the resort is a very good one and recently updated,maid service is very good and they always helped. us out when needed and same for reception staff.pool area is well maintained with a good sun lounger area.recommend the restaurant downstairs very good food and lovely family run,also casa pepe and chinatown 2 excellent food.resort is within a small town with lots of shops and supermarkets but avoid the shops who sell cameras as pushy sales and some will try and rip you off.well worth a walk around the coastal path into puerto santiago, shops are good and helpful friendly staff.would visit again overall one of our best holidays just needs airconditioning in rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jquizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here 3rd-17th April in a two bedroom appartment. Very well equipped, everything you need for an enjoyable stay. The whole complex was clean and tidy at all times while we where there. Our appartment was cleaned every 3 or 4 days including towel and bedding change. We were in appartment 65 overlooking the main road which was good as you had a nice view, but during the night it could get noisy with people going past and also traffic noise- not that there was a lot of traffic it was mostly due to a speed hump just outside. Something i would like to mention is the hot water - especially in the kitchen it was very hot! The pool area was ok but it could do with a few more sunbeds. To use the pool you have to go up some steps and you need your key to get in, when coming back out there isn't much room from closing the door you feel like you are going to fall down the stairs. I can imagine it to be a bit of a struggle with small children. But saying that the beach is only 5-10 minute walk away (turn left as you come out of the complex).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElaineE236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The apartments on this complex are all available to buy, but only 5 are privately owned. This is a sign of the market at the moment so the apartments are rented out. They are fully equiped for a self catering holiday with a full oven, fridge freezer, utensils for 6 people, washing machine, ironing board & iron and a good drying area - take your own pegs if you are intending to do washing while you are there. We were there for 11 nights and the apartment was cleaned twice in that time. The pool area is small and there are only a few sunbeds. We managed to get one most of the time but, as most of the people staying there were British, the sunbeds were reserved as soon as the pool area opened at 10am. This could be a bigger problem at peak times. Our apartment was at the front of the complex. The main road didn't bother us but we did get the afternoon sun on the main bedroom which made it very warm when we were getting ready to go out. There is no air conditioning, only ceiling fans. There were 4 of us staying in the apartment and it was plenty big enough for all of us. However, the hot water tank was too small so only 2 people could have a shower and the other two had to wait for the water to heat up again. The resort was quiet when we were there over Easter. There are a lot of empty retail units underneath the apartments and a lot up for sale around the resort.

All of the restaurants we visited were good, especially Casa Pepe which was excellent but you do need to book. For drinks, The Arena Bar seemed to be the best value. We visited Monkey Park which is just outside Los Cristianos. You need to catch the bus to Los Cristianos and then a taxi is about 5 euros. It is really good to feed the monkeys in the enclosure and it provided a good morning out.

We booked through Alpharooms and we were not charged the additional fee for gas and electric that has been mentioned in previous reviews.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have a sea view and get the afternoon sun on the balcony. However, they do f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManUtdFan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had a 2 bedroom flat overlooking the pools. When got to the hotel about 2am after being picked up by a taxi arranged by the hotel for us. The guy at the reception was waiting for us and happy to take us to our flat. The flat was very clean and a good size. The staff at the reception was very helpfull during our stay. Their are two pools, one being a good size and one being a kids pool, however they are not heated so a bit cold during the winter.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

If I was looking for a nice 2 room serviced apartment in a block of flats I would be very happy with Club La Mar as its clean, modern, recently refurbished and near the sea front. However as a holiday resort it lacks a proper restaurant, although there is a cafe in the same block. There is a small pool built on an adjacent elevated platform - but it lacks landscaping, trees or grass and is very utilitarian. A black sand beach which is more for looking at than swimming in, exists 500 metres away - ok for sandcastles but not for kids paddling. Santiago del Teide has quite a few closed up shops and looks a bit dated. Adjacent to the scenic beauty of the Gigantes cliffs, its good for walking around the harbour or boat trips or a meal downtown. Better for couples than kids. If you do want to sit around a pleasant pool, the Oasis complex 1.5 miles down the road costs 4 euro per day and is nicely landscaped and has a bar and restaurant.
Rooms were cleaned once per week.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the sea (just), rear rooms look at a wall 20 metres away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davebav50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skive, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Good value for money in this appartement hotel. We booked a 2 bed appartment with two fine bad rooms and a good balcony. Many fine restaurants nearby and the Areany beach is really fine. Remark the pool is not heated and there is only cleaning once a week.. Take a walk to Los Gigantes and go for a sail trip to see whales and dolphins. Or take a trip to lovely Masca for a walk.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skive-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.3 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
#10 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club La Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club La Mar

Property: Club La Mar
Address: Avenida Maritima 25, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club La Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Legal and Licensed Holiday Apartments. There are Seventeen 2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, fully furnished and equipped apartments. There is also Two 1 bedroom, apartments available too. A private Swimming Pool and Childrens Splash Pool is yours to use, as well as our recently refurbished roof top Solarium, offers incredible views of the 'Giants' of Los Gigantes and amazing views of the islands of La Gomera and La Palma. The very impressive 'El Teide' in all its majesty can be seen clearly too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Club La Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Mar Hotel Santiago Del Teide
Club La Mar Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing