We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our party of 10, including four children aged 1,4,8,and 11 have just had a wonderful week at this hotel. There is not a lot to add to the previous positive comments. The rooms, cleanliness, the restaurants and food are all first class. The kids spent most of the day in the pool and the two boys had a great time in the football academy. it was apparent that the hotel was making a special effort for the children, which was a very nice touch. A very well run hotel which we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Andrew D,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your holidays with us!

We do put extra effort to make our little guests enjoy their time in the hotel and have a lot of fun and it is great that you appreciated it. We will also pass on your comments regarding the food quality and cleanliness to the correspondent departments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,256)
There are newer reviews for Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,055 - 2,061 of 5,256 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel in February as a party of 3 (ages 59, 26 & 7) and had a fabulous time.
I had high expectations of the hotel before going having read all the great reviews, and it certainly delivered!
Rooms are the best I've ever stayed in, very grand and spacious with a big bedroom and big bathroom, fridge is refilled with 2 beers and 2 waters every 2 days and there are good tea/coffee making facilities. I believe we were in J block, and were taken to our room with our cases on a golf buggy so no chance of getting lost lugging cases around!
Reception staff are fabulous and their english is brilliant, the main building is beautiful with greenery, floor to ceiling windows and water features. There are also a few good souvenir/jewellery/fashion shops.
The entertainment is brilliant- particularly for children with snake shows, parrot shows, acrobatics etc.
There is a great photography service and artists to do portraits etc in this area.
The pools are beautiful although only 1 was heated, the others were too cold for anyone to swim in really. There's also a baby splash pool, an adults only pool and a kids pool with a good water slide. Sunbeds are plentiful and have lovely soft covers.
By the pool bar there's a lovely view of mount tiede which was snow covered in February- despite us sunbathing in 25 degree sun- fabulous!

There is also a great kids play area and soft play, pony rides and high ropes- very fun for all! Staff here were great also!

The food is beautifully presented and the choice is vast and would literally suit anyone! There is also a bbq and pool snack bar which is of a great standard.
Drinks are great too, you can help yourself to wine and beer as well as soft drinks and slushes for the kids, spirits are just thrown and I'd say the 'measures' are very generous!
The hotel grounds are immaculate and very pretty! The cleaners do a fabulous job, as do all the staff here. We saw a man who we presumed was management checking up on things alot in the restaurant which was nice to see, and all staff were very friendly and welcoming.
We did wander

We travelled with Thomson and the one rep wasn't very good- my daughter wanted to touch and play with dolphins and was advised she could do this in Loro Parque - which is NOT the case (and its a 2 hour coach ride 1 way!) glad we didn't listen to her and went to Aqua Land instead where she could! (Definitely recommend Aquapark)
The only downside staying at this hotel was the transfer as it took nearly 2 hours but it was much quicker on the way home so I guess it's just luck of the draw how many stops there are on any given day.

We're saving to return to this hotel ASAP as it really is fabulous all round! We only spent 4 nights here and will definitely be staying longer next time!

Brilliant job, Luabay! Thanks for a fantastic break away in the sun !!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Jo R,

First of all, thank you very much for your lovely words regarding our hotel and the hard work all our staff are doing here!

We would like to sincerely thank you for your positive comments regarding the spacious rooms, wonderful facilities and great views from our pool bar and our cleanliness. We feel really proud and I can assure you that all those words encourage us to continue growing and providing our customers the best of us.

Our location is a long way from the airport but as you have already mentioned, it depends on the day, as sometimes it takes not so long! However, I think that the Luabay experience can make you forget about the way and enjoy our resort!

We really hope to welcoming you and your family once again and enjoy at least as wonderful holidays as the last ones you have experienced here.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Luabay in November 2013 with our Son, Daughter-In-Law and 2 year old Grandson, and had a great time. Everything went well and we decided to return in May this year.
I must say that I was a little concerned that going back so soon we might be disappointed. There was no reason for my concern. From the minute we checked in until we checked out, every thing was perfect. I cannot think of one thing that I could complain about.
Reception - The reception staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Their English was very very good.
Restaurants - The food is very good and there is an abundance of choice, for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The food was always hot, and the staff were always checking the temperature of the trays. There were themed nights most nights, and this helped when your eating in a restaurant for 14 nights. The staff in the restaurants were always friendly, and we were asked what we wanted to drink within 2 minutes of sitting down. The plates were cleared from the table as soon as you were finished eating.
Bars - Never had to queue for more than 2 minutes to get a drink. Always enough staff serving throughout the day and night. The bar staff were always friendly.
Room Service - We had 2 suites and they were both spotlessly clean. The lady that looked after our suites was excellent, never missing anything. We always had the correct number of towels each day.
Grounds - Well done to the Ground Staff. They keep the grounds beautifully. We were very lucky going in May as all the flowers were in full bloom. Once again, it looked as if there were enough Ground Staff to keep the high standard you expect when you go on holiday.
Entertainment - The entertainment team were great. So so friendly and excellent with the children. The Kids Clubs were very popular as was the Crèche. I would suggest you book the crèche before you leave the U.K. as it's first come, first served, and we did see a few unhappy parents, who thought they were going to get an hours piece and quiet and found the crèche fully booked. The evening entertainment for the kids was excellent, with cartoons on an outside large screen, followed by the Widgets (entertainment team dressed up as cartoon type characters). The kids loved them. The adult entertainment was what you would expect from a holiday hotel, not great, but as good as some of the talent in the semi finals of Britain's Got Talent.
Management Team - Jorge Barrios is the Hotel Director, and he walks around the hotel every day checking the quality of the food, drink and the general cleanliness of the hotel. He normally has a member of his management team with him, and it's not unusual to see him getting things sorted-out if he's not happy with what he sees. It's good to know that the most senior member of staff is prepared to spend part of his day checking on his hotel.
Overall we were very pleased that we decided to go back to the Luabay for a second time. Already looking forward to our 3rd visit with our Son, Daughter-In-Law and Grandson.

Room Tip: L315 and L 317.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JohnREdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear John,

Thank you very much for the excellent feedback about Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our fantastic and helpful staff. Thanks also for mentioning our great buffet and the great job that our cleaning and gardening staff are carrying out. These, together with the nice words related to the entertainment and of course, the Management, are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers the best of us. I personally tell to all the staff your good comments about the Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel.

Thanks for recommending our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family once again.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We returned to Tenerife as our kids wanted to visit Siam Park (now tall enough) - when trying to choose a hotel, nothing really compared, so decided to return. Overall another excellent holiday, great food, plentiful drinks and as many activities as you wish. High ropes, zip wire, slide, tennis, children's session in the spa, bouncy castle and inflatables in the pool are just some of the activities our children enjoyed.

We visited in half term and sun beds always available - some places always taken early - avoid those near the pool bar as the drain is sometimes smelly.

We emailed the hotel and asked for a room in block M - overlooking the activity pool where the kids played all day - and the hotel gave us this - excellent location but really quite at night. Rooms are spacious and cleaned well. We never had to queue for dinner, but did notice a breakfast queue at 9.30 - normally in the sun by then!

We prefer the hotel entertainment as more of a holiday feel and some great singers in the quieter bar - great for a quieter relaxing drink.

We would return again and recommend to freinds !

Room Tip: Block M is great with older kids - any in the upper zone avoids a longer walk
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cumbriamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear cumbriamc,

First of all let us thank you for your amazing words regarding your holiday spent in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We are glad you chose us again for your latest visit to Tenerife. And it is also great to hear that your children not only enjoyed their time in Siam Park, but also all the activities that our animation team offers to our little guests.

Such positive feedback always encourages us to work harder and provide top class service to our guests.

We would love to welcome you back to our resort for another excellent holiday in Tenerife.

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited the first two weeks in May as the hotel changed to The Tenerife holiday village run by First Choice holidays
We were a party of 5 four adults and an 8year old
I can't say all inclusive holidays are my thing but we went for the children's activities on offer and frankly they did not disappoint
This I would imagine is a child's idea of heaven with the numerous activities on offer
The hotel itself is large but when you get used to the layout very simple
The accommodation is situated in blocks either side of a main building containing the Main restaurant reception bar and entertainment area
There is also a large outside restaurant and also a BBQ area
There are two main pools one large where daytime activities take place the other. Also large which is a quiet pool this is where the BBQ is
Breakfast is in the main restaurant and frankly if you can't find food you like there must be something wrong with you
Food is served in the BBQ area from about 1030am and is a late breakfast hot dogs pizza that sort of thing
At lunchtime paella is cooked there as well as BBQ meat or fish the tuna and koftas were outstanding as was the paella
Lunch is served in the main pool restaurant from 1230 onwards this consists of waiter service for drinks then a terrific selection of food including meat and fish cooked on a hot plate
There is ample outside seating here and this seems to be being increased
Dinner is in the main restaurant again superb selection of food
All the food is of a very good standard
In addition the pool restaurant becomes an al a carte in the evening with various theme nights we went once to the grill night and it was very acceptable
The hotel has numerous quite areas to sit the views are fantastic and all in all you can't fault it
The first choice staff were outstanding and the supervision of children very professional

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank junkie775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear junkie775,

First of all let us thank you for taking time to share your holiday experience in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes with all Trip Advisor users. It is a pleasure to know you and your family spent an amazing time with us. We do our best to offer various activities for children and we are very glad to hear you called us a "children´s heaven".

Be sure we will share your words with all the departments involved to let them know they are on the right path to provide an excellent service to our guests. Thank you for your wonderful words and we hope to see you back in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes.

Yours faithfully,
Tha Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel, and the bell boy took us to our lovely suite H312 .delightful suite with sea view and also the local children playing fields and football pitch in the distance.The hotel is large and we were glad we arrived in daylight ,as some guests were wandering around after dark,looking for their rooms.im sure they found them in the end.the rooms are very clean.good food and all inclusive drinks,the pool area is spacious,and weather permitting lunch alfresco.we had a very enjoyable eleven nights there.and will return as staff are very friendly.I wouldn't recommend the steak restaurant as the area is cold and food nothing special.stay with the buffet restaurant,which is good.

Room Tip: Block H top floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank murmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Murmod,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful comment regarding your stay in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoy their holidays with us. We are very glad that you are already planning on returning to our hotel for your next vacations. We are looking forward to meeting you again and offering you a pleasant and enjoyable holiday!

Thank you!

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just got back from a weeks stay rooms cleaned to a very good standard everyday free mini bar stocked with 2 beer 2 pepsi and a bottle of water everyday. Food is excellent with plenty of choice even for fussy eaters staff are pleasant and never leave your glass empty for long. Kids club is excellent however you have to queue early to get a place but kids loved all the activities. The last few days of our stay fell in the school holidays the hotel got considerably more busy you had to put your towels out early or risk sitting on the floor and we had to go for breakfast earlier to avoid queuing to enter the restaurant. Overall an excellent holiday reps were brilliant evening entertainment was none stop highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma2880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments about Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our fantastic and helpful staff, our cleanliness and varied food and entertainment. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers the best of us. I personally tell to all the staff your good comments about the Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel.

Thanks for recommending our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family once again.

Yours Faithfully,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,849 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,425 reviews
12.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: £101 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing