We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week was long enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Week was long enough”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a Suite that was right next to the hotel Reception but had to walk half a mile to get there as the gate was kept locked, so not suitable for anyone with walking disability's. Plenty of things for children to do and good entertainment. Dining room very well organized as when it was full the dining room opposite was opened. Good selection of food and staff very pleasant. Good pools and plenty sunbeds. Nothing outside hotel, not one shop or bar so we got a taxi to the marina as it was a fair way to walk, so a week was long enough.

Room Tip: If disabled make sure it is not too far from main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Joan C,

First, let us thank you for choosing Luabay Costa Los Gigantes for your holidays and for taking time to share your impressions regarding your stay with all Trip Advisor users. We are very grateful for your comments on our entertainment team, wide selection of food and pleasant staff. The entire Luabay team works very hard to offer our guests a memorable and enjoyable stay and it is very rewarding to receive such feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family for your next holidays at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes!

Yours faithfully,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,336
    1,853
    633
    194
    145
See reviews for
3,331
1,276
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (999)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Second visit, first in November 2013 and again in April 2014. Fantastic stay both times. Staff, food, rooms first class. Plenty of sun beds round all pools and always lovely and clean every where Hoping to book again this November

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chriswestie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Chriswestie3,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your experience with the whole Tripadvisor Community. Thanks a lot for your kind words regarding our staff, food,facilities...etc and of course, for your loyalty and for choosing us once again for your holidays!
We feel really proud to hear that you had an excellent holiday with us!

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family once again in November!

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this holiday village back in 2011 and again in 2014. The hotel is nice the food was better in 2011 but is still nice better Than most places. The show cook food is great just make sure you tell the chefs how u like it or there's a chance your meat will bleed lol. The beds could do with been softer I'd recommend they get memory foam as the beds are rock hard. Again depends on your comfort needs. Personally I like soft beds. It's great for the kids I took my 15 month old son and 14 year old brother along with my partner we all had a great time. I'd recommend exploring the island as there's lots to do. To save on taxi fairs jump on the 477 or 473 titsa (local green buses) and a family of 4 3 n a baby can travel all the way to where all the fun is and back for 25 euro and not have the hassle of drunks in the street shouting all hours as the south is the party place and rather noisy. Great place to stay to get away for all the hassle. The staff here are great and very helpful the speciality food night that require booking are great . Pools great it's a nice place to stay that doesn't cost the earth. Go for 2 weeks not 1 and really explore you just can't do everything here in a week. Hope you enjoy it like we all did :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andybaron7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Andybaron7,

First of all we would like to thank you for your loyalty and for having chosen Luabay Costa Los Gigantes one more time.

Your positive comments regarding our hotel are very much appreciated, as well as all the minor issues you mentioned that can be improved. It is always important for us to receive all kind of feedback to provide excellent service to our guests and make their holidays relaxing and memorable.

We hope to see you and your family back at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes for the third time!

Yours sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

amazing hotel. staff very friendly. entertainment was fab. lots to do at hotel, suitable for all ages. quiet pool, the busy pool and a childrens pool. pool bar was fab,. would stay here again hope to return very soon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Leanne W,

Thank you for such amazing feedback. It is great to hear your holidays were fabulous thanks to our staff, entertainment team and overall hotel facilities.

Such positive comments always encourage us to work even harder every day, so that all our guests have a wonderful and enjoyable holiday in the sun.

We are looking forward for your next visit to Luabay Costa Los Gigantes!

Yours faithfully,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were there with first choice for a fabulous fortnight, was almost perfect, almost, with 4 separate beds, 2 large single beds in the room plus a foldout double and a single camp bed, there was not one comfortable for a decent nights sleep. We rotated as best you can with a 6 yr old and a 4 yr old but they were truly appalling. Secondly in the food serving areas, the flies were awful, surely a few zapper units are not outwith the budget for guest comfort as this was hugely annoying and frustrating. Otherwise was a truly excellent holiday, 14 days by the pool with the first choice team doing a totally magnificent job and the hotel providing all we needed, pepsi, slush and san Miguel on tap. Huge kudos to the first choice entertainment team, Jennybean, Jay, Allan, Chris, Laura and especially Paige who made my little girls holiday, crying as she left, wonderful people who truly enjoy what they do and how they do it. Would defo go back if it wasn't so bloody expensive, and the beds were sufferable. Rooms always clean, hotel very clean, very pleasant staff, very beautiful location, other than beds and flies a wonderful place to have a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear James C,

It is a pleasure for us to receive such positive feedback regarding our hotel and service. Thank you for taking time to share your holiday experience at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. Both positive and negative comments are always welcome to help us keep growing and improving.
We are glad to hear you had a wonderful holiday with us and hope you will choose our hotel for your next holidays in Tenerife. We have also taken into account your comments on beds and flies and will take necessary measures to improve the situation.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back in the near future!

Yours faithfully,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My wife, two kids, aged 5&3, and myself have just returned from HV tenerife after what must say was an excellent holiday. This is the third HV we have been too, and by far the best.
The kids loved the first choice kids clubs which they went to every day at least once.
The hotel evening entertainment was also good and the kids loved the mini disco's especially when Luabay arrived.
We ate in all the buffet restaurants and found an excellent choice of food at all. We also went to the grill one night, which was also very tasty and good to get waiter service.
The rooms are spacious and cleaned every day. We got a bottle of cava in the room when we arrived as it was our anniversary which was a nice tough by hotel management.
The AI drinks were good and it was great that the kids could get slushies included as they were not last year at costa del sol HV.
All in all an excellent family holiday which we plan to return again to next year. I have never returned to the same hotel before as I like to try somewhere new, but I would happy go back again.

Would definitely recommend for families.

Well done first choice and hotel staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear David D,

We are honored to receive such positive feedback regarding our hotel and facilities. It is always a pleasure to know our guests had such a wonderful time with us and would like to come back for their next holidays.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our food choice, hotel facilities and our staff. We will definitely share your comments with all the departments involved.

We are also grateful that you are recommending us to your friends and family and will be happy to welcome you back at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes!

Kind regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Returned last week from a one week stay here. The good.. The kids clubs are brilliant. I have 2 girls - 4 & 10 and they loved it. If not for these clubs I would recommend you look elsewhere. The first choice kids team are excellent.
The downs..
The good is ok at best. There is no atmosphere in the buffet. At other hotels theme nights are embraced with decor, special drinks etc. Here the only clue to the theme is an a4 page on the way in. There are NOT 3 a la carte resturants, there is one that changes depending on the night. There are also only 2 sittings 6.30 & 8. Everyone sits at the same time, only the kids have a choice of starters, there is a choice of only 4 mains & all the people are served courses at the same time. A bit of a weird setup in my opinion.
The beds in the bedrooms are wheeled single camp beds. Unless u lock the wheels it's like sleeping on boat. Very uncomfortable.
To get a sun lounger you have to get up at 7 in the morning to put your towels out. There are notices on the loungers not to do this, but we didn't know and didn't get any on our first day. We had to set the alarm on the phone. My husband slept on on his turn & they were nearly all filled by 7.40am.
To get children into kids club you need to be there 15minutes before the session is due to start, & even then there is sometimes a queue.
My husband and myself found some of the staff, especially the bar staff to be rude & unhelpful. I asked in the main entertainment bar for a cocktail that was not on the list of 4 and was told no. I asked for my cava to be served in a glass instead of a plastic cup & was told no. Apparently during the World Cup all drinks are served in plastic cups. We were not watching football, there wasn't even any on. We were in a different room. After talking with Alexandra, who was lovely, it appeared the staff were just taking the mick. The next night glasses magically turned up! Only to be broken outside by a group of boys playing football! But none of the staff seemed concerned that it was being played where people were drinking.
I believe that this hotel is from a chain of Be Live hotels, and I think they operate in the Caribbean . The management should take a look at the differences in the AI there & the half hearted approach they have applied to the European version & change the way this one operates. A cocktail menu should have more than 4 choices I think & wine in a la carte resturants should be drinkable and come from a bottle not a tap.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Patricia P,

First of all let us thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We are very glad to hear your girls participated in the activities of the miniclub. Also, it is great to hear that despite the shortcomings you pointed out, you enjoyed your holidays.

We would also like to thank you for such a detailed feedback regarding our facilities and service that we provide. Our team works very hard to provide a top class service for our guests and we appreciate receiving every little detail regarding their stay to improve ourselves and make necessary changes in order to offer unforgettable holidays to our guests. We have already taken into account all the issues you mentioned and will look into them in detail with the correspondent departments.

We look forward to welcome you back at our establishment and offer you enjoyable holidays!

Kind regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,659 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Property: Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing