We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Winter Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here in January and enjoyed every minute The hotel is a big complex, but does not lose good service because of it. Once there for a while you soon get to know your way round. Our room was a big room with separate bedroom and a balcony looking out to sea. There was plenty of space and it was very clean. The fridge contained loads of soft drinks part of the Ai deal. The food was good with plenty of choice, some seating outside especially nice at breakfast time. The bars were comfortable and pleasant as were all the staff. Whilst there we went into the spa a must do it you have the chance it was a very relaxing experience.
.
As the hotel is up a hill the one thing you need to be ready for is a up hill walk going back unless you take a taxi of course. Down on the sea front there are some nice bars and a small but well kept beach of black sand.

A good hotel certainly one of the best on the canaries

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeenThereWillYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear BeenThereWillYou,

On behalf of the whole Luabay team we would like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your holidays to the fullest and appreciated the hotel´s facilities, service and our staff. Such positive feedback encourages us to keep up the good work and provide an excellent service to our guests.

It will be a pleasure to have you as guests with us again in the near future!

Yours faithfully,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,169 - 2,175 of 5,507 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here last September, our first holiday together. When we arrived around 10 pm we were greeted by lovely polite and efficient staff and were swiftly booked in. We chose not to accept the offer of a lift to our room in a golf buggy and quickly became lost, however ALL staff were very helpful and a lovely guy who was probably part of the hygeine team kindly offered some directions. In our 'limited sea view' apartment was a very welcome bottle of vino tinto and two glasses. We loved the suite, which was on two levels so we had a lot of space - and a bathroom each.

We awoke in the morning expecting limited views from our balcony, but WOW. Lovely view of La Gomera, which was even better in the evenings when the sun was setting behind it.

We had a fabulous week. The food was fantastic and varied, the whole place was very clean, the staff were always very friendly. The cleaners would always say ¡Hola! as you passed by rooms they were cleaning. The restaurant manager always had a smile on his face and the
waiting staff were always polite and friendly.

The area is quieter than Playas de las Americas etc., which we loved and there was some stunning scenery.

I have never returned to the same hotel before, but I happy to say that we are returning this September and already I can't wait.

Hasta pronto, Hotel Luabay. No me puedo esperar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Pamela T,

First of all, thank you for such a lovely comment regarding our hotel and staff. It is great that you liked your room and enjoyed the view it had to offer. Luabay Costa Los Gigantes boasts of its location and wonderful views over the sea and La Gomera Island. We are also very pleased to hear that your holiday break was so enjoyable and relaxing and Luabay team took part in it to make it happen.

It has been almost a year since you last visited us and we look forward to your next visit to Tenerife. You are always welcome at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes.

We hope to see you soon.!

Kind regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I want to start with a couple of positives, lovely views and clean throughout. And Javi from Luabay entertainment smashed it every time. Great personality and great rapport with guests.

Food was shocking at dinner, the worst of the all inclusives I've stayed in.

The sofa beds in the apartments were the worst I've slept on and completely screwed my back up.

The First Choice reps were awful apart from Howard and Jenny. Not a personality among the rest of them.

Kids clubs were poor too,, hardly any variety.

We arrived after midnight following a 3.40 delay and no First Choice reps were to be seen, they only work until 12:00 and don't appear to have any flexibility in their working hours and customer care seems low on their priority list. Complaints went in to First Choice. It took an hour to go through the check in procedure as there was only one person on reception dealing with a coach load of guests. We were then given a map and told to find out own way your room in the dark.

I wouldn't go back and am looking to fill in my customer feedback with First Choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Matt T,
Firstly, thank you very much for taking your time to give us and the rest of the Trip Advisor community your opinion about our hotel. All the comments are constructive for us and we learn to improve and make thinks better. We are glad to hear that our cleanliness and lovely views met your expectations. However, we are sorry to hear that the rest of your stay was not as good as we would like it to be.
All the departments work very hard to have a wide variety of food, to keep our furniture in the best conditions and to give a efficient service at the reception when there are late arrivals. Of course, there can be things that do not work perfectly well but we really appreciate your comments to focus on what must be improved.

We hope you can give us a second chance to show you all our improvements and how the Luabay Costa Los Gigantes team works

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Second time here and definitely will be last time. This hotel possesses the rudest reception staff ever. Any question was greeted by a grunt or a "that costs extra". I'll come to them later.
Visited here a few years back when this wasn't "butlins in the sun", ie no "first choice" but to be honest they weren't the problem, luabay were in fact. I will mention the good points; the picturesque setting is quite remarkable , beautiful views etc. I also found the hotel to be very clean and kept spotless throughout. Thirdly, most importantly the food is gorgeous, one of the nicest I've experienced over many years of All Inclusive hotels I've visited.

Now on to the bad points, I for one on holiday do not want to get up at 5am to get a sunbed, you have to do that here so be warned if you've booked this hotel.
Entertainment was also pretty dismal, the animation team from 2011 have obviously moved on and this one is pretty bad, I know you're in Spain but the announcements etc only in Spanish seemed a little unfair.

The mini club is gone, there is only the first choice ones so if you haven't booked with them, good luck!!
The room We were assigned was at least a 20 minute walk so if you were assigned a room in group j I hope you run regular triathlons.despite the hotel being far from full and being repeat guests reception just did not want to know . It was all " please extra, please extra" , this was after they said it was full??? Work that one out. All of the reception staff were awful and I am taking it further how rude they are.
If you are staying for 7 days or more you are also issued with a free spa pass, absolute waste of time. You have to use it within 24hrs of checkin !!!!!!!! I asked as we were checking in very late at night would it be possible to use it at a later day or even extend it by a day "extra please " . So if you arrive after a long flight late at night consider this free pass null and void, it doesn't exist.
No free wi fi( a standard amongst hotels worldwide) but not here.
Plastic cups are also the order of the day, they call this 4*?????
Queues everywhere for drinks, only beer at pool bars , again, mostly rude staff. Although a special mention for the man cooking the barbecue section, he was extremely friendly and polite.
No inflatables allowed in pool.
The first choice reps all seemed very friendly and hard working maybe they should take over whole hotel as the other staff don't give a ....!
Pity, how this hotel has gone downhill so badly , it used to be great. The luabay team need to learn some good customer service from a real hotel like Iberostar or Barcelo . My only room tip would be Pray you get a room within a half hours walk of reception and if you don't , do not approach reception ...They Bite

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Thomwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Robertwalshe,

First of all, let us thank you for your time to write such an extensive review regarding your holiday experience at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We are grateful for your mentioning the positive points such as food quality and overall cleanliness of the hotel. However, we also regret that your stay was not entirely satisfactory and did not live up to your expectations.

We would like to comment on some points that you kindly mentioned. Our hotel is one of the largest in Tenerife and consists of 15 blocks. We always do our best to fulfill our guests´ room requests. However, it is not always possible, due to our room availability.

As for the inflatables in the pools, we offer our guests a choice to use the quiet pool to relax and have some rest and the activity pool for more active ones, in which the inflatables are allowed and are used by our animation team in various activities. All our entertainment members speak Spanish and English, including some other languages, so that everyone could have an opportunity to participate

We would also like to thank you for pointing out some issues regarding the customer service and will look into them in detail. We would like to assure you that providing excellent service and achieving guests ´satisfaction with their holidays is our first priority and the entire Luabay team work hard every day to reach this goal.

We would be very pleased if you decided to give Luabay another opportunity to offer you and unforgettable and enjoyable holiday in Tenerife.

Yours faithfully,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Fantastic place, people and food. Although situated in a quieter resort than Las Americas, a must for families. Spoilt for choice in the restaurants. Very friendly staff. Plenty of sun beds although still have to reserve early if you want a particular spot. Fantastic spa, reasonably priced. Three areas of evening entertainment. Choice of busy activity pool or quieter pool. Good kids club activities. This is the third HV we've used and the best so far. Would definitely return again.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the 'quiet' pool area, ask for a room in block E.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZandES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear ZandES,

We appreciate your taking the time to leave a comment regarding your recent stay in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes on Tripadvisor page. We are glad you had a fantastic time with us and enjoyed the food variety we offer, as well as the spa treatments and entertainment. It is always gratifying and encouraging to receive such positive feedback!

We are looking forward to having you as guests at Luabay again and spoil you with another fantastic holiday!

Yours faithfully,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just returned from a fantastic 10 day holiday with my family including a 6 and 2 year old!
Hotel very clean and staff worked very hard to keep it that way! Our room was in M block which had a great view of the pool and was nice and quiet at night. A special mention must go to those cleaning our room. The personal touches such as the kids teddies being placed on the pillows alongside their neatly laid out pyjamas! Swimming pools were fantastic. My oldest son spent most of his time in the pool with the slide and my youngest was able to enjoy the baby pool. Good variety of food and we found the dining room staff very friendly and good with the kids.
Entertainment was great, both First Choice and Hotel team. My kids loved the mini discos and found all the kids reps fantastic. The First Choice Kids Club was brilliant with a wide range of activities. My 6 year old loved the Football Academy and is still talking about the coaches Steve and Brett!
Overall a fantastic holiday and always a good sign when your 6 year old doesn't want to go home! Hoping to visit again sometime!

The Davidson Family (Dundee)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Davidson Family,

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback regarding our staff and facilities. We are sincerely happy that we managed to offer you an enjoyable holiday that you would like to repeat.

We would like to thank you for your kind words about our cleaning and dining room staff. We will make sure to share these comments with the correspondent departments, which, without doubt, will please them immensely and encourage them to keep up the good job.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent family holiday in July with two children aged 7 and 9, Hotel was very clean and food was of a high standard, Kids clubs, poolside entertainment and night entertainment were great. Swimming lessons and football academy were very good. First Choice and Luabay activities were varied and creative. All staff were very helpful .I would highly recommend this holiday village .This is the third holiday village I have been to and would return again.

Room Tip: choose l or k suites,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 434Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mary,

Thank you very much on behalf of the whole Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Team for sharing your lovely experience in our hotel with the rest of the Trip Advisor community.

Those nice words regarding our food, staff and cleanliness are very important for us so that we can continue in the same line of hard work for our guests. I will pass to all the team your positive comments and we really hope to welcome you and your family back very soon.

Once again ,thank you for recomending our hotel,

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,261 reviews
2 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
6,182 reviews
1.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
11.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: £94 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Atrapalo, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing