We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto de Santiago
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holiday Village Tenerife
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just returned from this hotel after spending 14 days there, 2 adults an 2 children (aged 8 and 5).

Hotel: is huge, but very well kept and spotlessly clean. There are 2 restaurants which is great, so when one gets full they open the other one, which means that you can always find a table in busy times.

Food - great selection of food, to suit all tastes. In busy times, you sometimes have to queue at the coffee or toast machines, but this has been the same in all HV's. At lunchtime around the quiet pool there is a bbq - and their lamb kofta's were awesome!

Room - Clean, comfy beds. The kids were on a double sofa bed in the living room. Fridge in room, which was re-stocked every day with 2 x cans of beer, 2 x cans of Pepsi and a bottle of water- which was a great idea. No DVD in room, and there is a TV but we didn't put ours on at all.

Pools - There are 2 x pools - our room was next to the quiet pool - and we didn't have problems getting sun beds, there were still beds available well after 9.00am. However, the Activity pool, folks were getting up at 6am to reserve a bed. The only problem with the pools, is that they are both 1.30-40m all the way through, so if your kids cannot sleep then it is a bit of a worry. I regularly saw toddlers getting close to the edge, which made me a bit nervous - you only have to turn your back for a second. There are lifeguards around the pools - but not sure how effective they are, especially during the busy times when the pools get quite full.

Gym - I did venture to a Pilates class in the hotel - as I am a Pilates instructor, it's safe to say that it was not like any Pilates class I've ever seen!! But the gym looked well equipped and the air con was good.

Entertainment - there are 2 lots of entertainment on at the hotel, the First Choice team and the hotel also has external entertainment as well, so plenty of choice. There is also a big veranda to sit on and just watch the sun go down - which is lovely.

Kids Clubs - again, great - there are 2 lots of kids clubs - the first choice ones and the hotel ones (which cater for other languages). The football coaches are great and my two really enjoyed going to football academy.

Surrounding Area - you can walk (via the back gate) to the local harbour or town (there's a big Lidl's not far away - good tip - if you run out of suncream, it's worth a walk down to Lidl's where you can get it for €4.99 rather than the cheapest in the shop of €12). We hired a car and had a good drive about the island, basically it's just one big motorway around the outside of the volcano, so you can't really get lost. The North of the island is spectacular - the scenery is like something out of jurassic park! We also visited the Loro Park - which was great and well worth a trip (we drove there and it was easy to find), took about 1 hour and 20 mins to drive there. We also did the Jeep Safari - which was great, and we got to ride a camel at the end of it.

So, all in all, a great time was had by all, fantastic hotel, and we had a lovely holiday there!

Room Tip: We stayed in Block D which was near the quiet pool and not far to the restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have today returned from a 11 day all inclusive holiday at the Holiday Village Tenerife. Myself my partner and 2 8 year old children. Never been to Tenerife or a holiday village before so not sure what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised, from the minute we walked into reception we were made to feel welcome.The customer service was second to none, once checked in we were taken to our room by golf buggy so no lugging suitcases about. The hotel was clean food was delicious and always plenty of choice even for my partner who is a vegatarian. There was entertainment all day every day. The staff are very friendly and very helpful nothing is too much trouble.We have saw a few reviews stating the rooms were dirty and the staff were rude or unhelpful but I can honestly say we never experienced this at all, we had a few minor problems that we reported to reception but they were dealt with while we were at dinner.The first choice reps were available from 8 in the morning til 5 in the evening and they went out of their way to help you with any problems.We would definately return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone with a family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Leeging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at the holiday village Tenerife (also known as Luabay Costa Los Gigantes) Good holiday overall, hence the 4 stars, however from my point of view, the hotel had both good and bad points:

Good points:
- food (especially Mexican evening in the specialty restaurant - book as soon as you arrive)
- overall cleanliness (room cleaned every day, towels and linen changed every 3-4 days)
- spacious rooms (we had a twin room and another room with sofa bed which split into 2 separate beds for the children)
- fridge in room with beer, Pepsi and water
- lots to do ( high ropes, mini golf, park, soft play, pool activities and kids clubs if needed)
- excursions available (recommend flipper uno /top class boats which we booked direct in Los Gigantes and also Siam Park, however probably wouldn't do premium tickets again, as 1 locker is fine for a family of 4 and food/drink is not too expensive)
- Spa. You get a free water circuit pass to use in the first couple of days. The spa is lovely and you can also take kids on certain days/times, which my daughter enjoyed.
- it's not just British, which we liked.

Not so good points:
- lifts are unreliable (8 of us were stuck for 20 minutes in a lift and the alarm didn't work. Eventually we had to open doors from inside and climb out between floors. Recommend you have a phone with you to contact reception in case this happens to you)
- sun beds. Many were broken and if you want to be by the activity pool you need to be up at silly o'clock. In the end we stayed by the quiet pool where you can still find sunbeds after 8am, however they are packed in)
- be aware that although all inclusive, there are many ways of spending money in the hotel and if you have kids, you might be saying 'no' a lot. E.g Photographers, games room, artists, shops, etc.

Overall we had a good couple of weeks, but found the holiday village too big and lacking the personal touch. It's just not for us so we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank polarUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have just returned from 10 days in this wonderful hotel. Our holiday party consisted of 2 adults, and children of 18 months and 4 years.
The Hotel:
The hotel is a large unit but very well run. All areas were kept spotlessly clean and it was clear that the hotel staff were striving to ensure that every guest enjoyed their stay. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis to a very high standard, pool areas and communal toilets were impeccable and food areas were constantly being refreshed. The food was excellent as was the variety and themes offered on a daily basis. Also the option to lunch in different restaurants made a nice change.
The First Choice Staff:
I have to say in all of my hotel stays over the years I have never come across such a hardworking, committed and enthusiastic group of people. The team really should take a lot 80% of the credit for our family having such an amazing time. The entertainment, kids clubs, welcome meetings, checks to ensure we were enjoying our stay, tips and suggestions on local places to visit, remembering the children's names, teaching our 4 year old to swim and finally the special touch of the whole team (including widgets) waving us goodbye when we were collected are just a few of the things that have made us sure that we will definitely use First Choice and Holiday Villages for our family breaks in future. I really cannot recommend this holiday enough. We were very sad to leave and can't wait to go again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in D200 which overlooks the outside entertainment venue and quiet pool. It was perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank TheHenrys9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

we stayed for a week at the beginning of august and can honestly say we couldn't fault it. it was our first holiday village experience and we are now hooked. Yes, it was busy and you did have to be organised to get into the a la carte restaurants and to book for the high ropes and late check out etc, but what do people expect in peak season? our only issue was the towels on sunbeds at silly o'clock but apart from that please don't be put off by some of the reviews on here

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank beatty1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived back yesterday morning after 2 weeks stay.we all had a great time and a lovely holiday.I would ignore reviews that say the place is dirty for the amount of people at the hotel the place was kept immaculate . The pools are lovely and were clean and tidy the only downside you have to be up before 7.30 am to get sunbeds most days. rooms were clean and had plenty of space. cleaner came in every day and changed towels daily the fridge was filled each day with 2 cans of pepsi and San Miguel and a bottle of water. entertainment team were really friendly and great with the kids , I would like a special mention to Allan from Scotland who is so friendly and worked tirelessly, also Jay ,Jenny. Paige and Sam and from football academy Steve,Brett and James, football academy excellent but the pitch could have done with some shade. Food excellent with plenty of choice, lovely jacket potatoes at lunchtime, reception staff very helpful waiters and bar staff friendly . you could also join in with the lulaby staff activites as well as first choice and at night the choice of first choice or lulaby entertainment the best of both worlds. flipper uno trip worthwhile on the pirate boat we saw dophins and the crew are all friendly . Hotel very big but you soon get your head around it. stunning views from the terrace at night of the sunset . Give this hotel a try and ignore all negative comments there is nothing negative about the place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank harrison362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Ok will give you an honest run down and some advice.
We arrived at the airport in Tenerife (2adults 1 8yr old girl) we were greeted by the rep who said bus a19 its over there!!. That was it so we eventually found our coach and then waited 40mins for everyone to get on. Its 45 min direct transfers but with other stops was 75mins.
I would definitely recommend a private taxi transfer as the home journey was even longer.

On arrival we were very impressed with the look of the hotel and as we arrived late they had closed the kitchens however put a cold meal on which was welcome at that time.

We were in E block and found the room quite easily.

As for the hotel room it was great. It was clean and a decent size. There is a small fridge with 2 cans of Pepsi and san Miguel plus a bottle of water. All are part of your all Inclusive and are replaced every 2 days.
There are 2 pools the 'quiet' pool 'no inflatables aloud' and the 'party' pool music and games all day. If you want to go to the party pool be prepared to get up at 6-7 in the morning to get a bed and some sad people even do it after midnight!!!. The quiet pool is easier to get a bed but you still need to go at 8 to be certain of getting one.

Now for the food.. It is amazing.!! Breakfast is std with everything for a full English along with two chefs making omelette and fried eggs on request and fruit etc.
Dinner has two options the main area which has everything from rice, fish, beef stew, Sunday dinner, chicken & deserts. The 2nd option is the outdoor bar by the quiet pool. This s fast food which is chips, chicken nuggets, pizza, pasta and salads. However there is a BBQ area where they do paella every day and also BBQ meat and fish which is amazing..
Tea. The variety is amazing. Something new every day I've tried so many new things and really enjoyed doing so. We had grouper fish, red snapper fish, Mexican night, Chinese night, steaks, fajitas, so much I could go on for hours.

Drinks. San Miguel taps are located around most bars to help yourself so no waiting to be served at the bar. "tip" get cheap 1pint plastic glasses from poundland or something like that as the little plastic cups get annoying as two sips and its gone. There are also wine taps. Red, white, rose along with sangria and soft drinks. If you want cocktails or shorts then its the Bar and you will queue but only a minute.

Entertainment.. The entertainment team are amazing. Jenny, Alan, jay, sam and Paige worked tirelessly every day to entertain. They would stop and talk to you anytime giving advice on local or even other holiday villages. These guys made the holiday for our family. Having said that there are 20 or more other people who all join in the entertainment and engage with all he kids.
The kids clubs in our opinion are geared more for boys. Our 8yr old girl went once an it was archery, fencing and robot wars nothing for a girly girl. So she didn't go again however we did pay or her to do razzmatazz which was €42 and worth it. With a show on the main stage after 3 days. Again be prepared to fight for seats in the main show bar as it gets very busy. We weren't too fussed and mainly stayed in the outside stage till 10 then called it a night.

Overall we loved it and are booking again now. But will definitely do the following:-
Plastic pint and wine glass to use on a night.
Private taxi transfers.
Request A,D or E blocks
Buy duty free from the airport as it was the cheapest. The souvenir shops are not cheap. The supermarket on the front is cheap.
Walk to the beach and get a taxi bark. The hill is a killer in the heat and they don't tell you that in the brochure.

Room Tip: Rooms near the quit pool are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
14  Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#3 of 9 in Puerto de Santiago
5,664 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tropical Park Hotel
Tropical Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
620 reviews
2 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#1 of 5 in La Caleta
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 2 in Playa de la Arena
2,371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Flamingo
Hotel Bahia Flamingo
#2 of 2 in Playa de la Arena
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Tenerife

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Number of rooms: 518
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Tenerife Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Holiday Village Tenerife Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing