We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find”
Review of Port Salins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Salins Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Empuriabrava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Well, what can I say ? We wanted to do the Dali stuff, and we wanted to chill without the kids, so we chose the #1 hotel on Tripadvisor and booked through Expedia. We noted from others not to book breakfast (17 Euros each per day).

Hotel is fine, we booked an economy room and got a proper bath with shower over, small but fine. Cost us £62 per night - which is Travellodge prices for a last minute booking. They tried to upgrade us to a water view room for 40 Euros a night extra !!

Pool is lovely, but getting a bit cool in mid September, Jacuzzi on the roof would be lovely if it was a bit warmer.

Empuriabrava is a late 60s purpose built resort, with canals and boat moorings for many properties. It's a bit tired, but the hotel is in one of the better bits, and there's no high rise. Clearly lots of money around here, many French, German and Dutch, not many Brits (good thing too). Beach is 3 minutes walk, very nice. Roses beach (North) and Castillo d'Empuries beach (South) are both great too, finer sand.

Lots of cars around, but very few people. All apartment based, no significant hotels in the resort. Quite a lot of restaurants, but not cheap. We ate at Capitan (just around the corner) and actually on the front, both were fine, in a "good decent standard food" kind of way. Nothing to complain about, but expect to pay 100 Euro for two with wine.

Day 3 we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant - just fantastic. 85 Euros for a meal that would have graced the best cruise ships, so good that we ate there again the next day - (just as good). We had Lobster risotto, pheasant, octopus and a wondrous salad. You'll not get food like this anywhere else in the resort - I'm guessing the chef trained at El Bulli - it was that good. Staff lovely too. It seems a shame to not try other places really, but if we went back, we'd eat there every night.

For breakfast, there is a big supermarket across the main junction, does great fresh bread/pastries. Cafe Cuba across the road from hotel does coffee (not take away) and has WiFi too. Don't waste 34 Euro a day in the hotel, it just can't be worth it.

Dali stuff is great in Cadaques, Museum is mad, jewellery is fabulous, his house in Port Lligat is well worth a trip too - but book time slot online before you go. If you turn up on spec, you will NOT get in (as a number of French folks discovered). Don't forget to go all the way to the top of the garden to see the "Rubbish Christ" - it's not signposted, but is just stunning, As compelling in it's way as the famous Crucifixion picture at Kelvingrove.

One other thing, that if you are planning to go to this area you probably already know. So many people fly to Girona and just head to Barcelona. Don't make the mistake of missing out on Girona itself, just a magical old city, worth a full day on it's own.

We booked car with Holidayautos (part of last minute.com). We got a Ford Focus with every single panel scratched, it was so bad it was funny, so my advice would be to take out maximum insurance cover and take a good digital video camera with you. Ryanair flights were as always cramped, like a cattle truck and cheap(ish) and on time. No complaints - this is what you pay for, but just a smile would help.

In summary - nice place to chill - no nightlife - expensive - best place to eat in town

Room Tip: We had 102a - it's one of those like they have on cruise ships that are two rooms with a separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

An excellent ‘Boutique’ style 4* Hotel perfectly situated close to all that Empuriabrava has to offer. The Hotel has a nice modern ‘designer’ feel to it, is clean and has good amenities. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Bear in mind that this is not a 5* hotel and I think you will not be disappointed. Staff were friendly and courteous. Yes, breakfast at 17 euro per head may be a bit expensive but we chose to stay room only. There is a nice Cuban bar just opposite where a coffee and croissant cost under €3 per person. Shops, restaurants and beach are all within 200 meters. The Hotel is located on a wide street with plenty of parking (no need to pay for the Hotel car park). Our room was south facing and quiet, with a terrace overlooking the pool and the boats moored on a side canal from the marina. The room has blackout curtains and the terrace also has a sunblind that can be lowered to shade the terrace.
We plan to return.

Room Tip: Rooms with terraces are south facing and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Not a 4-star hotel!
Although our late-night arrival was fine (Emmanuel was nice and quite helpful), most of the rest of our experience was disappointing. Our room and bathroom were not very clean. The bedspread was so cheap and scratchy. This might be fine for an inexpensive motel, but we thought we had booked (and certainly paid enough for) a four-star hotel. The housekeeping staff, day desk staff, and restaurant staff were not particularly friendly.
Breakfast buffet was expensive and didn't even include hot food options.
I good go on and on (very noisy at night...) but suffice it to say that although the pool is beautiful, large, and clean, there is not much else going for this hotel to make it worth your while.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thompsondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Breakfast too dear at 34 euro per couple.Hotel had full mains power generator during local power failure.(24 hours during recent 6 inches of snow).Only place around with mains power during mains outage.
Local restaurant next door The Capatain very good food at reasonable prices. Try shoulder of lamb for two 36 euro (to die for).Found it to be best restaurant around.Very nice staff and great ambience.Smoking and non smoking areas indoor and outside.
joe and marjorie Dublin.Ireland.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe1dolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

Stayed here for one night (well, a few hours before and after our meal at El Bulli). Really liked this small hotel. There aren't many amenities, but it had everything we needed.

The nice balcony looks out at the pool and the marina/waterway. It is equipped with blinds and you definitely want to lower those before you go to bed. Costa Brava gets a lot of sun, and after a night at El Bulli (we arrived back at 3am) you definitely want to sleep in as late as possible.

The staff was initially friendly and arranged for a minivan to take us to/from El Bulli. However, when we were a little late to check out the next morning, the smile vanished from their faces and we got nasty looks.

But overall, this was a good place to stay with a nice, resort-like feel to the whole area.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

I'm sometimes a little wary of small(er) hotels in large holiday resorts, because I think they might have difficulty running a hotel to a high standard when it's not going to be busy outside of the peak holiday season. However my concerns were needless at the Hotel Port Salins.

The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the sea front, and its relaxed and friendly approach is very much in keeping with the local area. They're quite happy for you to sit by the pool with some tapas: even if you're not a resident. This is quite a find if you want to avoid the crowded local walkways. Rooms are a fair size and were certainly clean even if not the most luxurious. One particular noticeable feature was the the glass wall separating the bathroom and the bedrooms, which is fine if you want to see your bed from the bath but not so good if you'd like some privacy while you're attending to (ahem) other business in the bathroom!

The multi-lingual staff are helpful and had no problem booking a taxi to take us to El Bulli (sorry, had to get that in) or pointing out other areas of interest. They sometimes take a little while to bring drinks in the evening, but unless you're in a race it's not going to be a problem. The pool and the jacuzzi on the roof looked particularly inviting - although it was just a little cold to try it out at the time of year we were there.

One final piece of advice - do pay that bit extra for the view over the boats on the canal-side of the hotel. It's not a lot more to pay and there's something very appealing watcing the sun go down over the sea as you turn it at night.

Overall, I certainly recommend this hotel and would certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank j1mb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2006

The Port Salins hotel is relatively easy to find after getting on the c260 from Figueres and staying the course. First impressions are that of an airy hotel without being too large. The front of house staff are pleasant and efficient and understood my rudimentary Spanish. The rooms are well appointed with a quirky glass sided bathroom which allows you to see the bathroom and its occupant from your bed if you so desire. The balcony offers a refreshing view over the main marina, the sea in the distant background and low mountains to the west. The furniture and décor of the rooms is modern and clean.

Only slightly bad points were the breakfast buffet selection which I thought was rather limited. They deliver what they offer and whilst I had no use for a boat berth and it was too cold to use the inviting pool on the marina, this is a very well appointed hotel and I would strongly recommend it. We used it as a base to relax in, check out Figueres with the Dali museum and do a reconnaissance on the skiing in Vallter 2000.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank trip_dursue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Empuriabrava
0.4 mi away
Xon's Platja Hotel
Xon's Platja Hotel
#7 of 11 in Empuriabrava
434 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hostal Spa Empuries
Hostal Spa Empuries
#2 of 6 in L'Escala
703 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ampuria Inn Hotel
Ampuria Inn Hotel
#8 of 11 in Empuriabrava
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Maurici Park
Maurici Park
#3 of 11 in Empuriabrava
45 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 37 in Roses
353 reviews
9.4 mi away
L'Escala Resort
L'Escala Resort
#5 of 6 in L'Escala
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Salins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Salins Hotel

Address: Av Fages de Climent 10-15, 17487 Empuriabrava, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Empuriabrava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Empuriabrava
Price Range: £58 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Salins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Port Salins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port Salins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing