We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff - central location”
Review of Port Salins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Port Salins Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Empuriabrava
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly staff - central location”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Just a one night stay. I'm inspired to write this review by the friendliness of the staff (despite our arriving after midnight), the cleanliness of the room and the relaxed buffet breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lath012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    85
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
32
103
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beziers, France
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed again this year and still find it a very pleasant place to stay. Its very well located and although it could do with some TLC in the rooms, we still find it value for money and find the staff courteous and friendly. As stated before its not a 5* Hotel, but it would be unfair to label it as a poor 3*Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are quieter and have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed here on 16th & 17th February on the basis that the reviews for the hotel were good and we were travelling from Ireland to Empuriabrava on business. I have to say straight away that the reviews for this hotel really outsell it as it is a poor three star at best.
On arrival, the lady at the front desk was not that pleasant and went straight into selling me an upgraded room. On viewing the room we booked we really had no alternative but to pay an extra €20 euro per night for the bigger room. The room that we originally booked was smaller than my box room at home. The room that we upgraded to had a pool view but the curtains in to room had holes in it, the bed was and bedding was extremely basis and the bathroom was really not that great with an unhygenic shower curtain that tends to stick to you while washing. The shower head was poor as well and kept falling down the pole it was held on. There is a strange floor to ceiling window between the bathroom and bedroom so your partner can see you washing your bits. Its a stupid design that does not work.
The broadband connection was free but when I went to the front desk, the unfriendly lady instructed me to stand in a certain place before she would address me. This in my opinion is terrible service and she should be retrained for the benefit of the hotel.
On a plus note, we had dinner in the restaurant and the food and service was excellent. We were the only people in the restaurant so the athmosphere was not great but I have to say that the chef and the waiter are wasted here.
To end, we were so unimpressed with the hotel, we checked out one day early and booked into a hotel in Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IvanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Well, what can I say ? We wanted to do the Dali stuff, and we wanted to chill without the kids, so we chose the #1 hotel on Tripadvisor and booked through Expedia. We noted from others not to book breakfast (17 Euros each per day).

Hotel is fine, we booked an economy room and got a proper bath with shower over, small but fine. Cost us £62 per night - which is Travellodge prices for a last minute booking. They tried to upgrade us to a water view room for 40 Euros a night extra !!

Pool is lovely, but getting a bit cool in mid September, Jacuzzi on the roof would be lovely if it was a bit warmer.

Empuriabrava is a late 60s purpose built resort, with canals and boat moorings for many properties. It's a bit tired, but the hotel is in one of the better bits, and there's no high rise. Clearly lots of money around here, many French, German and Dutch, not many Brits (good thing too). Beach is 3 minutes walk, very nice. Roses beach (North) and Castillo d'Empuries beach (South) are both great too, finer sand.

Lots of cars around, but very few people. All apartment based, no significant hotels in the resort. Quite a lot of restaurants, but not cheap. We ate at Capitan (just around the corner) and actually on the front, both were fine, in a "good decent standard food" kind of way. Nothing to complain about, but expect to pay 100 Euro for two with wine.

Day 3 we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant - just fantastic. 85 Euros for a meal that would have graced the best cruise ships, so good that we ate there again the next day - (just as good). We had Lobster risotto, pheasant, octopus and a wondrous salad. You'll not get food like this anywhere else in the resort - I'm guessing the chef trained at El Bulli - it was that good. Staff lovely too. It seems a shame to not try other places really, but if we went back, we'd eat there every night.

For breakfast, there is a big supermarket across the main junction, does great fresh bread/pastries. Cafe Cuba across the road from hotel does coffee (not take away) and has WiFi too. Don't waste 34 Euro a day in the hotel, it just can't be worth it.

Dali stuff is great in Cadaques, Museum is mad, jewellery is fabulous, his house in Port Lligat is well worth a trip too - but book time slot online before you go. If you turn up on spec, you will NOT get in (as a number of French folks discovered). Don't forget to go all the way to the top of the garden to see the "Rubbish Christ" - it's not signposted, but is just stunning, As compelling in it's way as the famous Crucifixion picture at Kelvingrove.

One other thing, that if you are planning to go to this area you probably already know. So many people fly to Girona and just head to Barcelona. Don't make the mistake of missing out on Girona itself, just a magical old city, worth a full day on it's own.

We booked car with Holidayautos (part of last minute.com). We got a Ford Focus with every single panel scratched, it was so bad it was funny, so my advice would be to take out maximum insurance cover and take a good digital video camera with you. Ryanair flights were as always cramped, like a cattle truck and cheap(ish) and on time. No complaints - this is what you pay for, but just a smile would help.

In summary - nice place to chill - no nightlife - expensive - best place to eat in town

Room Tip: We had 102a - it's one of those like they have on cruise ships that are two rooms with a separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beziers, France
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

An excellent ‘Boutique’ style 4* Hotel perfectly situated close to all that Empuriabrava has to offer. The Hotel has a nice modern ‘designer’ feel to it, is clean and has good amenities. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Bear in mind that this is not a 5* hotel and I think you will not be disappointed. Staff were friendly and courteous. Yes, breakfast at 17 euro per head may be a bit expensive but we chose to stay room only. There is a nice Cuban bar just opposite where a coffee and croissant cost under €3 per person. Shops, restaurants and beach are all within 200 meters. The Hotel is located on a wide street with plenty of parking (no need to pay for the Hotel car park). Our room was south facing and quiet, with a terrace overlooking the pool and the boats moored on a side canal from the marina. The room has blackout curtains and the terrace also has a sunblind that can be lowered to shade the terrace.
We plan to return.

Room Tip: Rooms with terraces are south facing and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Not a 4-star hotel!
Although our late-night arrival was fine (Emmanuel was nice and quite helpful), most of the rest of our experience was disappointing. Our room and bathroom were not very clean. The bedspread was so cheap and scratchy. This might be fine for an inexpensive motel, but we thought we had booked (and certainly paid enough for) a four-star hotel. The housekeeping staff, day desk staff, and restaurant staff were not particularly friendly.
Breakfast buffet was expensive and didn't even include hot food options.
I good go on and on (very noisy at night...) but suffice it to say that although the pool is beautiful, large, and clean, there is not much else going for this hotel to make it worth your while.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Breakfast too dear at 34 euro per couple.Hotel had full mains power generator during local power failure.(24 hours during recent 6 inches of snow).Only place around with mains power during mains outage.
Local restaurant next door The Capatain very good food at reasonable prices. Try shoulder of lamb for two 36 euro (to die for).Found it to be best restaurant around.Very nice staff and great ambience.Smoking and non smoking areas indoor and outside.
joe and marjorie Dublin.Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe1dolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Empuriabrava
0.4 mi away
Xon's Platja Hotel
Xon's Platja Hotel
#7 of 11 in Empuriabrava
377 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
455 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Castell Blanc
Hotel Castell Blanc
#3 of 11 in Empuriabrava
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Silvia
Hotel Silvia
#5 of 11 in Empuriabrava
31 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#9 of 36 in Roses
396 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Salins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Salins Hotel

Property: Port Salins Hotel
Address: Av Fages de Climent 10-15, 17487 Empuriabrava, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Empuriabrava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Empuriabrava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Salins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Port Salins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port Salins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing