We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
29
123
191
92
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
123
191
92
87
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Not the greatest of hotels, but far from the worst. Interior is very dated, electrical outlets were loose and the balcony featured some dodgy fold up chairs you'd take to a picnic.

The bed was fairly hard also. That being said it is relatively cheap for the area and you get what you pay for!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank NOXQSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Upon arriving on the 20th June 2016 we were given a third floor room (although we had requested a top floor room over a year ago) they put noisy Spanish students in the room next to ours ( not on) having driven from england and very tired. The manager soon sorted them out when i rang up and complained. Our next visit was 5th of July. They did give us a high floor room but it was filthy. The floors hadn't been swept or moped maid had gone in and tidied up made the bed then left. i was a housekeeper of a hotel so i knew what she had and hadn't done. Not good for the hotel. As you see the frying pan needs throwing away. Peanuts on the floor ( not good if you are allergic to them) tea /coffee stain on the kitchen floor. Shower head impossible to shower(angle of head) the skirting board under the sink needs replacing and the patio furniture all needs replacing.

The receptionists were very polite. As was the manager.
The underground car park was very good 12 euros a night (peace of mind)
Your hotel is being badly let down by housekeeping staff, each room should be checked when the maids have finished them. Also very lacking in kitchen equipment such as a Kettle. The hob has two rings situated above the FRIDGE!!!! Which took 20 minutes to heat up.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 21,253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

We flew into Barcelona International Airport, hired a car and did the short 1hr 45 minute drive to Hotel Xon's Platja Hotel in Empuriabrava.

We arrived at night (01:00) and parked directly outside the hotel (metered parking from 09:00 - 10:00, but if you park 1 street away it is free).

In reception we were met by the night watchman who spoke broken English (enough to get by) and after completing the obligatory paperwork were were swiftly given our keys. Decent enough clean rooms with a small kitchenette/ lounge, bathroom and bedroom, we also had a balcony.

When booking we opted for the breakfast package (07:30 - 10:00) Great choice of hot and cold buffet food. A key for the room safe is €5 per day with a €10 deposit. TV has BBC News 24 / CNN International for keeping up with the world news.

The room A/C (free) is located in the lounge and cools the whole place to a very good standard. Free wi-fi is pretty poor in the rooms (we were on the 9th floor) and non existent at the pool area (free sun loungers and umbrellas) which was clean and had a well stocked bar with waiter service. Pool open from 10:00 - 20:00... Pool bar 10:00 - midnight

Overall the hotel is a little dated and could do with a little TLC, but if you can see past that then it's a great place to base yourself for a beach holiday or in our case a long weekend of Wingsuit flying at Skydive Empuriabrava (NOTE: See separate review for Skydive Empuriabrava)

Date of stay: July 2015
1  Thank Thebates22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

The 2 bed apartment we stayed in was small and very poorly maintained (e.g. windows not opening, hanging wires, sockets loose, cupboard doors hanging off, no door on freezer compartment of fridge, balcony light not working). Also when we arrived there were not enough sheets, towels, cutlery, chairs and hardly any cooking equipment. Housekeeping tried their best to supply us with what we needed (we didn't get everything we asked for) but the reception staff were not hospitable and quite rude.Probably the worst apartment we have ever stayed in.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Macclass58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Lovely big tourist hotel in 300 meters from the beach. We booked quadruple apartment with two rooms, and got six-bed apartment with separate kitchen at the same price. The apartments are clean with great views of the sea. WiFi is free (separately for each piece of equipment). The hotel has a public parking (up to September 15 paid: 10-14 h, 16-20 h, not allowed more than 3 hours). Supermarket is in the same building. There is air conditioning. The bathroom had no even soap. TV in the room has channels in Spanish, English, German and French. The breakfast was good; had fresh cookies, meat products, juice from concentrate. Dinner is also great (buffet). The staff is polite and helpful, there were no problems with communication (understand English).
Only one minus ... And it was not hotel’s fault. It is disco each night in the nearby bar. It was heard even on the 8th floor.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vadzim9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews