We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed - a rather run-down hotel with a lot of potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manilva
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointed - a rather run-down hotel with a lot of potential”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is located on the Duquesa Hills so a car is very practical if you want to get around. It's surrounded by other apartment buildings and empty fields so it's really quiet in the night, there are no restaurants or bars nearby but there is a park where you can go mini-golfing until 10PM. At the bottom of the hill you have the main street with 2 large supermarkets and the beach. You can walk down the hill - it takes around 15 minutes to walk down, probably around 30 minutes to walk up since it's quite steep. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in Sabinillas or Duquesa - villages which are around 10 minutes away from the hotel (by car). It's a good location for day-trips.

We booked this as a last-minute trip (flight & hotel package) and since we booked quite late the only offers left were with 2 bedrooms – although we only needed one bedroom we took the offer because the price was ok and were looking forward to a nice holiday.

We received the worse room upon check-in, room 37 and unfortunately we had to a list of complaints during the first hours of our stay:
- 2 plug sockets were not covered so the cables where sticking out - maintenance came by to repair other things and said this isn't a problem, leaving them as they were.
- the safe wouldn't open, the bathroom door wouldn't close – they repaired this within 2-3 hours.
- the knob on the washing machine was broken, the microwave was damaged, we had no trash can
- no air-conditioning (possibly the only room without air-conditioning but with cables from what used to be an air-conditioner sticking out of the wall on the terrace)
- no curtains in the second bedroom, no light-bulb in the lamp in the second bedroom.
- the mattress in the double-bed was extremely uncomfortable due to the ancient spring mattress, so we had to spend our first night sleeping in the second bedroom, in separate beds in order to avoid back-pain.
- the room walls were dirty, cracked and with holes
- the terrace was in a very poor state, some tiles were no longer attached to the floor/walls
- we were expected to clean the apartment before checking out – actually washing up the floor – cleaning material was on the terrace.

On top of all this, we were given the wrong key for the entrance so we couldn't access the building after 11 PM and since nobody was at the reception after that time, we had to ask another guest to open the door for us so we could get to our room (luckily we received the right key for the room)

It was very uncomfortable and embarrassing to have to go to the reception and complain almost every hour because we kept encountering things which were not as expected or as should be in the room, still, the person at the reception refused to give us another room, claiming all other rooms are reserved for other guests – although the hotel looked half-empty. The following morning I complained again, this time to another person at the reception who I believe was also the manager and he immediately offered us another room. Room 123. This room was much better, the bed was comfortable, the balcony was not that deteriorated. The couch was quite disgusting, old with white stains – I'd rather not think about what those stains were.

Free Wi-Fi only works downstairs in the "lounge" and it doesn't always work. If it doesn't work you have to pay for the other Wi-Fi.
The pool was clean, not very big but enough. The sunbeds were terrible, they were hard and deteriorated and there were not mattresses to put on them, therefore they were completely uncomfortable. The gym is ok, the sauna and wellness-area are in the cellar: a very small, constricted and dark area so we didn't make use of the facilities.

All in all, the room was ok after we moved, but I would definitely not return. The hotel is in dire need of a makeover / renovation.

Room Tip: If you are assigned room 37 - don't take it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bea-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    58
    54
    42
    30
See reviews for
97
66
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Apartments nice enough and large. Located in a good area near to coast, restaurants, bars, sea etc. we didn't pay a fortune for the 6days we were there so had no expectations of grandeur. Problem was that the bed was like sleeping on a billiard table and pillows were like waifers. We asked at reception for additional pillows for the first 4 nights and although they made a note of our request and said that these would be placed in our room, nothing ever materialised. We realised that asking was just a waste of time. We had also asked for extra coat hangers. The four in the wardrobe was not really enough but again notes were made but nothing happened. I don't think the reception staff had their heart in the job. Shame really as we enjoy going to this area but won't be using their services again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here because we were attending a wedding locally, so we may not have had the same requirements as somebody there for a normal holiday. The apartment itself was very spacious and first impression was that it was acceptably clean. We had a 1 bed apartment in block 5a which is the block that Reception is in, this meant that we had doors out to the balcony from both rooms. From the balcony which had sun somewhere on it most of the day we had a good view down to the sea. We also had constant free Wi-Fi in our room because we were in that block. Most of the other blocks had Wi-Fi you had to pay for, and most apartments do not have the same balconies or views of the sea.

Having read other reviews before leaving UK we were not surprised to find that the promised Spa Bath did not work, I emailed Reception not really expecting a response, but within less than an hour a maintenance man had attended and got the Spa working. Great Customer Service. This did lead on to another minor problem, the hot water is by immersion heater located in the kitchen and the tank is about a third of the size we have in the UK. If you use sufficient hot water in the bath to get to a level at which the Spa works there is no water left for another person and it takes a few hours for the water to heat up again.

The Air Conditioning was efficient and incorporated heating as well as cooling which was useful in late April early May. The cleaning was not as good as it appeared on first glance, the bulk of everything was acceptable (not great) but wherever there was a corner whether it was a panel or a floor the corner had build up of dirt that was obviously very old. There were also marks on the walls where furniture had caused scuffs that were certainly dating back to last Season. Real pity less than 10 minutes with a paintbrush, and less than 30 minutes with an efficient clean and I would have been able to give a Very Good rating and considered excellent.
Other reviews have stated that you have to go along a dual carriageway to reach a supermarket, this is incorrect there are 2 very good supermarkets actually at the junction of the road that leads to the apartments and the dual carriageway, however getting back from the supermarket with any substantial amount of shopping uphill would be a struggle. My wife and I are both late 60's and would not have wanted to be there without a car.

The staff seem very friendly although on arrival we were directed to use a lift to the first floor, when an existing guest saw us waiting he said he had been there for a week and not seen the lift working yet. We did not try it again until the day we left when we found it was working, but there was an out of order sign conveniently located on a cupboard next to the lift at all times so I guess that it is frequently out of use. There was no English TV available at all, although guests we met from other blocks said that they had access to some Sky channels. In fairness we did not raise this as a problem with the Reception so do not know if this was a problem with just our apartment or with the whole block.

Overall for the money we paid it was very acceptable if a bit tired looking. A family with kids might appreciate this as there would be less concern at causing any damage.

We had a very enjoyable 5 nights and booked another night so that speaks for itself. Were we going to the region again we would look closely at the costs and facilities offered by other newer developments, if we could get newer with better facilities such as UK TV slightly more money we would probably choose elsewhere. If Budget was the major consideration we would not be unhappy to return.

Room Tip: If view of the sea from balcony and free wi-fi are important ask for Block 5a. If you do not get wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahambute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Although a bit difficult to find, this property is tucked away on a hillside, completely private, and excellent for families. Lovely pool in the centre with plenty of grass around it. The apartments were fairly basic, but the kitchens have a washing machine and a dishwasher. We stayed three nights and had our towels changed half way through the stay. There is a restaurant on site and I had a delicious steak there, the best I have had for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

It was v cheap to stay there and near to duquesa port and shops but that was the only positive. The guy who manned reception was surley and lacked customer service skills.
The mattresses were awful and solid. My husband said he had slept on more comfortable benches when travelling. My husband went to reception to ask for something more comfy and got a snotty "all the matresses are the same". My husband pushed the issue explaining I was pregnant and two days later (after chasingup)we got piece of foam the size of the bed put on top of the mattress.
The wifi they claim you can get for free in your room didnt exist and could only be used in reception and then it was slow.
We had to ask for clean towels by day 4 as the cleaners hadnt been and then werent left with enough. It wasnt till the last day that they left enough for all 3 of us.
Although there was an oven and hobs there were no saucepans etc to cook with. Dont expect a kettle either.
The walls were thin so every morning we got woken up by the apartment above moving furniture around, using the spa bath (yes there were spa baths but dont get excited. The one in our room had black round the jets and I could only imagine the grim stuff that would have come out if we had put it on. We also had to listen to them play the sax in the morning and tapping on the celing all night. My husband went to speak to the guy making the noise but he didn't speak English.
All in all not a great stay and we spent as little time there as possible. If you are not bothered about comfort and good service and want something cheap this is the place for you. However if you want value for money and enjoyable stay then dont bother. For what we paid I didnt expect a 5 star service but even a 1 star service would be better than what we got.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizjasnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manilva hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed there for a couple of Days recently , great price for a twin room apartment of €30 per day twin rooms kitchen living room and washing machine. nice and quiet , but a long way from restaurants and pubs

Room Tip: try get a room near reception as you will spend a long walk back to car ( you will need a car)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Good place clean and tidy friendly especially for kids jacuzzi to relax in pools parl tennis courts crazy golf five star relax good bar and dicente gym ampell parking and criendly owner all round good safe and secure

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manilva
1.3 mi away
Apartamentos Manilva Green
0.4 mi away
Villa Erina Park Hotel
Villa Erina Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manilva
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Don Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Piedra Paloma
Hotel Piedra Paloma
#17 of 35 in Estepona
47 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
833 reviews
1.5 mi away
Don Agustin
Don Agustin
#2 of 2 in San Luis de Sabinillas
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel

Property: Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel
Address: urbanizacion Villas de La Duquesa s/n | Urbanizacion Los Hidalgos-Sabinillas, 29692, Manilva, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Manilva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manilva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel Hotel Manilva
Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel Costa Del Sol/Manilva, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing