We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Cala Vinas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cala Vinyes
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Please disregard the review about the food being rubbish at this hotel. There is so much choice even the most fussy people would find it hard to complain. Everyday the staff work hard to put on a feast for all to enjoy. the hotel itself is set in a quiet area and has a lovely cove beach. The entertainment staff try hard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    661
    325
    130
    67
See reviews for
822
624
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Its the 3rd barcelo we have stayed and we stayed as a family ..

I have had no issues with the spanish reception staff - all were polite and accomodating , food ( dinner)was also laid out at 2am in the morning .. when we arrived .. rooms are basic with less than appealing furniture ( more like a poor cousin to IKEA) .. good looking hotel in an excellent beach side and clear water for swimming etc ..

Food- excellent and very good quality and freshly made and service in the restaurant and bars were excellent ..

The only issues we had were the russian reception staff on the afternoon shift were eager to sell us the excursions ( possibly with a commission motive ?) which we declined as we had our own car and asked for direections and advice - she was not very keep to answer our simple queries on travel and local villages etc

Parking can be a issue ..

we will return again here

Room Tip: ask for sea facing block but in the block where reception is situated not near the pool as loud and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked to stay at this hotel as location looked lovely and hotel looked very nice. When we arrived at 11am would could not check in until 2pm (never had to wait when arriving abroad), our superior room had nothing superior about it and beach view was of trees. The adult only pool was nice but couldnt use it as the bar was closed and had to travel 4 floors to get a drink to the only bar open though the hotel. The food was diabolical and miss-match for the first two nights its was near enough the same food, you had to sign for every drink even water which was a joke, in the restaurant i asked for another drink and the waiter sighed at me. The first few days in the bar downstairs there were snacks on but then they seem to stop, none of the staff mentioned there was a snack bar opened at the other end of the complex which was nice of them and on the last day we went for lunch in the main restaurant and my partner was asked to put trousers on and shoes not flip flops, it was red hot and we had eaten there all week through the day and not had a problem ( at night fair enough). Not a 4 start hotel and a let down for Barcelo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location overlooking the sea and a small, clean sandy beach. Payment is needed for sunbeds and parasols. There are 3 large buildings which make up the hotel. Very easy to get lost. There are no ' you are here' maps to help you only friendly holiday makers who have been there longer than you.

Our room was a bog standard Mediterranean style. I fail to see why it was called a superior room. Daily maid service.

The food was something else! I am a fussy eater and for 2 nights I had cheese rolls for dinner! But other people were coming back with plates piled high. Quite a bit of choice but limited meat options. Each to their own.

The main thing however was the amount of children there ( obviously not the hotels fault). Running around screaming and enjoying themselves but nowhere for childless people to go. At night because it was May there is only 1 bar open so everyone went there. With the poor entertainment as well it reminded me of a holiday camp. Please Barcelo can't you open another bar?

Overall the holiday wasn't too bad but please note the nearest ATM is in Magaluf and because we were all inclusive there was no kettle for an early morning cuppa!

However despite all this the staff were marvellous. Efficient and very friendly.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 2516 and 17. Not recommended because every morning your early alarm call is the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

General- My husband, 10year old son and myself are stay here right now....the hotel public areas are modern and clean, there are 3 small blocks to stay in.....we arrived late and were placed in a so called quiet block 1 (unfortunately it was not quite at 5am with screaming babies!).....so asked to be moved the following morning to block 3 (which is noisy with the hotel entertainment until about midnight - but at least it is quiet in the morning).........so well worth paying for sea view and requesting block 3 (if you have older children or are a couple), plus the cove is beautiful to look onto, from your hotel balcony.
Hotel location - if you walk, across the beach and up the 105 steps opposite the hotel you will find a couple of shops and a couple of bars........Magaluf (if you are desperate to see more shops, cash point or pharmacy)....is a 20min walk, 10 min bus ride or a €5 taxi ride away. Food - there is plenty of choice/variety for everyone, and the standard is good. Beach - lovely little cove with crystal clear sea water. Pool - 2 lovely sea water pools.
Evening entertainment - typical hotel entertainment with the odd good show!
Downside x2
1. the hotel do not have enough staff on duty in the bar (so be prepared to Q) ; and the restaurant staff are also over stretched, which means they do not always set up all the outside tables, thus you have to eat in, the hot restaurant area!!! However all the staff work very hard!
2. The hotel rooms are dated, however the bathrooms have been refurbished and the showers are excellent!

Conclusion - would we return again....YES most defiantly, for a short break ;-)

Room Tip: If you have older children or are a couple, pay for a sea view and request block 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malshagags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my Boyfriend just returned from a week long all inclusive package deal via Teletext. We had a great time there and highly recommend it for family's with young kids.

We paid €45 euros for a Taxi from the airport. It would be worth trying to ask to share with other people but bear in mind they charge extra at night and extra for luggage. We landed at 9.30pm.

On arrival the Hotel reception looked lovely. The Reception staff were ok. We were advised we had just enough time to eat at the buffet and were pleasantly surprised. We came back up after to get our room key and unfortunately were given a room that had a balcony backing onto a wall. I contacted reception to complain and they kindly organised a sea view room as we had requested with the useless Travel Agent Teletext.

The new room was lovely with amazing sea views and the best standard room we believe you can get. Unfortunately it was 2 single beds pushed together and not great for couples.

On the whole the Beach was a stones throw and felt safe and quiet. We loved it. The pool is salt water so be prepared and its not warm.

The best thing about this place was the Entertainment Team. A guy called Jose was Brilliant and he made such an effort with everyone , old, young and kids. Kind, energetic and lovely. There is also a great Buffet - albeit it can get a bit a tiresome after a week! The all inclusive offers Cava for Breakfast and a great selection all day. The Bar staff were amazing too. We met some lovely other couples too and had a great time with them.

I would come back here again but would be better for young families.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2301!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agee_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Firstly I am going to write quite a lengthy review as when booking this hotel I found there were a lot of mixed reviews and I was v unsure about booking !

We arrived at the hotel at 12midnight and was greeting by a very very rude lady who has no time for the English she gave us our room details and said as a one off they had put a late buffet on in the restaurant for late arrivals. We went to the buffet to get some water as we were so thirsty after our flight and 1 hour transfer ! We got to the restaurant and no food or drink were available. Confused to went back up and the lady banged her fists on the desk shouting it is there in our faces ! Then rung the security guard and told him to wait by the door to show us. We went back down to find 10 tables in the far corner had salads lay on them which we obviously didn't see !! The only drink available was water but you had to ask for it and no one was there to ask the first time but this time the security guard who spoke no English.

At this point we were so tired we just went to the room. After a bad night sleep as a double room in this hotel means two singles put together (with separate sheets and covers !) that were rock solid we then looked outside. To find we were (as 1/4 of the hotel) were facing a brick wall ! After we booked a sea view room we were quite unhappy.
We went to reception and explained this to be told hotel was full and offered one room in the same part which smelt very bad. So we made do with the bad view with no sun. However the front door of the room didn't lock. We told reception twice but nothing was done about it !

Room was clean however old fashioned and towels were very hard and small! I was shocked at this for 4*. We came here for a 3night 3day break for my partners birthday and expected so much more after paying £600 for the 3 days here !

The food was great cant fault the food at all maybe a little more variety as same each night but what was out was lovely. Drinks on the all inclusive were also great. Entertainment staff great and bar staff were lovely !
The first day we visited the spa as it was raining and it was lovely on site spa at $12 per person we spent a couple of hours in here before dinner. Second day we had sun so rented two beds and parasol on beach costing $15.
Third day rained all day again so we spent the day in the bar playing pool, ping pong and playing cards.
The weather didn't spoilt the holiday as we had a nice break however there is nothing near the hotel so we couldn't go shopping or venture out

We met a lovely couple here and I think if we hadn't we would of been even more disappointed.

Again cant fault the food and drink but the reception staff and the rooms need work !
I would of been more upset if I was staying for a week however we weren't.

I would go back to this hotel again only if it was cheaper and we would book a family suite as they looked a lot nicer. (even though only two of us) and I would only go back for 3-4 days as a quick break. Could not stay here for longer than that. Also only has two small pools so if you like a morning swim like myself you have no chance.

I would give the hotel a 6/10 and at 4* I would expect a 8.

*May I add the bar staff service was 10 out of 10 but reception a 3/10 !*

Paying £600 for 3 days you would of thought the grumpy and rude reception lady would of moved us for 2 nights ! As we had paid for a better room !!

We also were among the 20 English in the hotel rest were from all over, however I don't mind this but they were prioritised over the English.

Anyone looking to book this hotel I would chose wisely, family suites looked great but double rooms and two single pushed together are not ideal ! Especially when they are rock hard, Also with separate sheets, duvets and one pillow !

We have just arrived home to book a 5* holiday in Egypt as this hotel has put me off 4* for life !

Hope this review helps :)

Room Tip: Choose a sea room view or your balcony is in shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Vinyes
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
#1 of 2 in Cala Vinyes
1,943 reviews
11.5 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#8 of 77 in Playa de Palma
1,515 reviews
38.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 28 in Magaluf
689 reviews
36.3 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
1,734 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cala Vinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cala Vinas

Property: Occidental Cala Vinas
Address: Calle Coral 2-4, 07181 Cala Vinyes, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Cala Vinas)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Vinyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cala Vinyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cala Vinas 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Barcelo, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Cala Vinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cala Vinas Hotel Cala Vinyes
Barcelo Cala Vinyes
Barcelo Hotel Cala Vinas
Occidental Cala Vinas Majorca/Cala Vinyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing