We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel easy for city centre”
Review of NH Porta Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Porta Barcelona
GreenLeadersBronze level
wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice hotel easy for city centre”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It is a ten minute drive from the airport number 63 bus around the corner straight into city centre lots of bars and restaurants at the end of the road staff very helpful food in hotel good quiet area left car out on the road plenty of parking spaces

Room Tip: Ask to sleep in the front for the view the back rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cararob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    185
    109
    23
    11
See reviews for
77
156
36
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a clean and friendly hotel with free WiFi in every room. The breakfasts are continental but with a good selection to compare with central hotels. The restaurant provides excellent food but not at the weekend. There are local alternatives. The facilities are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gerald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hotel is accessible by the L77 bus from T2 for 2eu. Took us 15 mins to find when we got off however it wasn't that difficult when we knew where it was ! Staff friendly. Room lovely except a few points. Laminate flooring and very thin walls. Two nights had to listen to next door have sex - banging of the bed against the wall and the noises !. in the morning the cleaner was in the next room and where she was making the bed, the beds are on wheels on laminate flooring the bed was moving and it was pushed right into the wall and this actually pushed my bed away from my wall. They start cleaning very early like 7am There was no plug socket near the mirror in the bedroom so had to dry and straighten hair in the bathroom which was inconvenient when two of you are trying to get ready. Also there were no drawers to put clothes in only 2 shelves in the wardrobe and one of those was taking up by the safe. My main gripe was the shower, it was so blocked up with limescale that water only came out of about 6 holes. Getting into the city centre was ok. Walk to the top of the road turn right and at the intersection was a tram stop. You can buy a T10 ticket there,(9.80 eu coins only) which you can use on the tram, metro and most buses for 10 journeys and 2 can share the card as long as you validate it for 2 people each time you get on.. Only counts as 1 journey if you swap from one mode of transport to the next within 75 mins (up to 3x) but you can use the same form of transport twice. From here a 30 mins tram ride to Maria Cristina and then you are on the metro system. No shops or anything nearby. There was a petrol station at the metro stop where we bought drinks. There is a mini bar in room, we just emptied it and used it for our own drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I'm going to start with points and then i'll elaborate underneath for those who think more information is better.

-Better suited for a business trip. Not suited for couples or family holiday longer than a couple of days.
-Had two seperate beds pushed together.
-Laminate flooring and thin walls means you can hear everything that goes on in the hotel.
-The TV was all Spanish channels except BBC world news, CNBC and CNN.
-Theres no pool.
-Surroundings are quiet. Hotel is so out of the way theres no shops or anything to do close by.
-Hotel itself is difficult to locate once off the L77 bus from the airport.
-Positive. The resteraunt food is really lovely.
-Theres parking outside and underneath the hotel if you traveled by car or rented a car.
-The aircon works on and off from 21.30ish.
-There is free wifi, for 24 hours from when you type in a code (that they provide you with) however if you do use it, it kicks you off. So you have to keep logging back into it all the time.

Ok let me elaborate.
1. This hotel is better suited to those travelling to Barcelona for business because theres no pool or evening entertainment. If you were a family travelling with children theres no way to keep them entertained while you relax.

2. For a double room it was a good size, wardrobe, bedside tables, nice bathroom. Although, the beds were two single beds pushed together. The floors being laminate and the beds having wheels meant they were forever sliding apart.

3. Keeping on the subject of the floors. Being laminate and the walls being so thin you hear everything. From about 21:00 till 02:00 its constant noise. Snoring, people showering, then drying their hair, people laughing and talking walking back to their rooms. And at that sort of time when everyones sleeping people enjoy dropping every heavy thing they've brought with them.

4. The hotel hasn't got a pool (as mentioned earlier) but there is a spa which is a jacuzzi and a sauna. There is also a gym in the same room. There are beaches but where the hotel is located it's over an hour and a half to get there. I think there was a bus turistic tour thats goes round different beaches which i think is around 65€ but im not 100% on that.

5. The surrounding area is pretty dead so your going to have to travel to get to anything. Theres the T3 tram which is up the road which can take you to L'illa diagonal which is a shopping centre. Some nice shops in there and lots of cafes. Then theres the 63 bus which you can again get on round the corner from the hotel and it'll take you to the centre of Barcelona, from there you can get to La Rambla and lots of other shops, it's also the last stop so you don't have to worry about pressing a button because it will take you straight there. So for public transport access the hotel is ideally situated but if you wanted a more central, city experience then pick a different hotel.

6. It's easy enough to get to the hotel. You get the L77 bus from terminal 2 it costs 2€ and it's the last stop you want. It's difficult to find from there (we got lost) so it's easier to just cross over to the taxi bay and get a taxi to the hotel. It costs about 4/5€ so it's well worth doing that instead of trying to find it whilst getting used to the hot weather and lugging around your suitcases.

7. As mentioned earlier, the resteraunt was really nice. The food was tasty as well as the staff being friendly. You get a choice of bread roll with your meal but oddly no butter. We had room service on our last night too which was really nice and good portion sizes too. The Telepizza menu in the room i would not reccomend. We had that the first night and it just tasted weird.
8. The room does have air con, but from about 21:30/22:00 it starts to go on and off throughout the night. I'm not sure if thats the same in all hotels but we found this pretty annoying. And it's not a regular on and off it's totally random. We opened the window the first night but found this too noisy.

9. There is internet. They give you codes on arrival, on request. Although we found, watching a couple of 20 min youtube videos was enough as it would then kick us off.

Overall the hotel was nice but if i had to go to Barcelona again, i would stay in a different hotel. You get what you pay for here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was a very clean and nice hotel. We only slept there for a short night before flying to Madrid in the morning, but the staff was very nice and helpful and the place was comfortable. If staying in Barcelona for a while, it's not an ideal location- you have to take a train (which is nearby) to the metro, and then into town. We booked here to try and be closer to the airport, but it honestly wasn't much of a difference from a more central location. Nice hotel though, would recommend (if you don't mind the bit of a trek to get into town)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tseidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed 5 days in Barcelona in August 2012. Booked hotel quite late; prices for many were high so we ended up booking NH Porta de Barcelona although it was quite far from the center. But it proved to be a very good value for money. We used local bus for transport from the airport and were dropped not far from the hotel. Staff were pleasant, room was very nice and clean. Free wireless internet was available. The only minus was location but a tram station was nearby so it was OK. Definitely recommended for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirzaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspe, Nr Alicante
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Clean room, hot water, good bed and friendly welcoming service. Easy to find, free parking nearby and free wifi. Bar is a bit expensive but its a hotel and you expect that. Will definitely stay again when in Barcelona.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank paulonthepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Just Desvern
Poblenou
Hesperia Sant Joan
Hesperia Sant Joan
#204 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
NH Barcelona Sant Just
#2 of 3 in Sant Just Desvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
NH Cornella
#1 of 4 in Cornella de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#184 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Porta Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Porta Barcelona

Property: NH Porta Barcelona
Address: Avda. Generalitat de Catalunya, 2-6 | Sant Joan Despi, 08960 Sant Just Desvern, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sant Just Desvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sant Just Desvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Porta Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the NH Porta Barcelona hotel you'll enjoy an incomparable ease of travel and instant access to the city's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Porta Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NH Porta Barcelona Province Of Barcelona/Sant Just Desvern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing