We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, excellent location, poor breakfast”
Review of Hotel El Nogal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Nogal
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vilaflor
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, excellent location, poor breakfast”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

we've been staying in El Nogal 2 nights mostly for a very convenient access to the national park. The house is very beautiful, the rooms ok. But, you have to know that if chemical cleaning products upset you, it's better to have a bit of time to open the windows before going to bed. In the morning, you'll have the unpleasant surprise of a very poor breakfast. Nevertheless, the inside pool is good and the jacuzzi very nice.

Room Tip: AVOID the rooms above the reception. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes_AroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    56
    81
    29
    34
See reviews for
29
145
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The architecture and decor are rustic, quaint and quirky, and surrounded by a small, well-maintained garden. There is an indoor and an outdoor pool. This is a moderately-sized hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Self-service breakfast is good, in spite of machine-dispensed drinks. Dinner in the restaurant did not fully justify its price. The international guests, when we stayed, were: French, Italian, Dutch, German, Russian, English. Situated, half way up the slopes of El Teide, the hotel is a good starting point for touring the island by car, and for walkers and cyclists.The air is cooler than down on the coast and not so thin as up in the volcano's caldera. I would be happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

ands that is it !

No not completely. The place is in need of some staff discipline and would then make it a good stay. we're ust back after our break with our one year old. i booked with a comment that we would need a travel cot for an infant (fact). There was a bed put for us (was rectified)! travel cot not put up properly and as all always when travelling i suppose with a youngster we were left to work it out ourselves causing baby mayhem at baby sleep time. what a mission. matresses as hard as a goats knee. very uncosy. pity as the building, surroundiings and location are cosy so you'd think the beds would be to !

i also requested a similar room to what we stayed in before knowing that it may not be possible but maybe loyalty and all that might prevail. NOPE. anyway.

Anyway, the room, fair, was directly over the restaurant. well there was wasn't too many people staying at the hotel judging by those using the restaurant. they had cleared out by around half nine each of our two nights and of course bing bang bong the staff party starts.
they sat down for there meal and chat before tidying up the eating area then the chatting really began over the top scuffing tables and chairs. holee molee what a racket, i was going to say something but im afraid the old adage of 'hit first ask questions later' would have come in. however, service on night one was spot on. the waiter was a good fella who made us welcome and comfortable although on the second night, jeeeesas they were all over the shop, forgetting our drinks order (2 7ups and a agua) and then my dinner not the missuss dinner or the wains dinner, mine!
phew what a basll.

lamb chops are the biz though, really nice.

the spa - didnt use it just the pool and jacuzzi. actually wasnt open.
breakfast - ok, no probs had everything we wanted i suppose, scrambled egg was tasty
lift - worked
ants - well its a warm country gotta live with them
go there again outta 10 - no.

sorry but i really liked this place until now.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gr d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Went to celebrate 25 years of marriage. It nearly ended in divorce. Having been promised a Spa experience it didn't deliver it was closed and would have been expensive if it had been open the pool area was dirty and ant infested!. Lift didn't work. only thing going for it was it was a Nice location the hotel fell down on application and delivery, It didn't deliver on comfort, on experiences or on rural food! Breakfast was uninspiring diners the same and the coffee was so weak it had difficulty leaving the cup. We expected a suite 'the best room in the house' we were told. Beds were pushed together uncomfortable and cold. the Suite part wasn't full of comfortable sofa's and a nice tv which you could watch and a lovely view , it was a anti room even the suitcases complained and the view was of the pipes. The free bottle of wine and the basket of fruit were all missing. There was only two members of staff who were helpful Cindy and Daniel the rest were surly and the answer was always NO. Not forgetting every evening we had to go down to ask them to switch off the kitchen fan so that we could sleep. This holiday was full of promise and was only saved by the fact we had a car and we were able to leave this hotel daily to get away from it. We did complain but to no avail.

Room Tip: The suite is not a suite it's a anti room which is like waiting in a waiting room when going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vilaflor hotels

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I've just spent a week at this hotel and can honestly say it was a very pleasant experience. The staff were friendly, the food was good and all for a very reasonable price. It's nice to be able to stay in a small family run hotel for once. I had a double room to myself in the older part of the hotel. I was part of a large group and they didn't seem to have any problems catering for us all at once. If you want a group meal then I would suggest going with the Paella!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin186286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

This was our fourth visit to El Nogal and, as before, our views are mixed. We like the location (up in the hills and away from the nightlife). We have had mixed experiences with the food. In 2008 (last visit) we went half board and the dinner was pretty poor but on other visits we went B & B and ate in the restaurant on an a la carte basis. This time we did the same and the results were variable. We liked the lamb chops, scrambled eggs (starter, but enough for a main), Canarian squid and various other dishes. The only bad one was a chocolate pudding served to all which was inedible and was rejected by the entire room, but overall the food was as good, and no more expensive, than the things you would get on the coast. Breakfast was fine (we didn't find any problem with the food running out) with four types of bread, two salamis, ham, cheese, pastries, two different cereals, yoghurt, fried and boiled/scrambled egg, fresh fruit, coffee etc. OK, it wasn't imaginative, but it was as good as most places we have stayed.

This time the real gripe was noise. We had a superior room (38) which was rather nice, but the neighbours were honeymooners and the noise (all day AND all night) was ridiculous. Usually we find the place attracts early-to-bed-early-to-rise clients but this lot couldn't give a **** about anyone else (late night TV for example) and we got the impression they were friends of the owner. The receptionist was able to find us another room (21) in the old part, which was quiet, but smaller, colder and not superior. Yes, the noise problem had gone but there was no hint of an apology or offer of a reduction for the fact we had effectively been downgraded and that was disappointing. Perhaps that is why when we left we weren't even asked if we had enjoyed our stay. In general we had, but this is the last time we will stay in El Nogal. Just a little more customer care would have made it a lot better but I get the impression that they are more interested in the money than the repeat business. Their loss.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rob10Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Very unconfortable bed. Probably the cheapest matress of the market.
Dirty room, hairs in the bath and in the bed.
Hotel recently fumigated.
Worst breakfast in a hotel. You better get up early if you want to eat something of poor quality, otherwise you hardly find any food. They don´t replace it.
Expensive SPA; for sauna and turkish bath you pay 30€ per person for an hour
Their lost our ID for a whole week!!!!
Unprofessional management
Reception very poorly trained.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajgoldar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilaflor
2.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
462 reviews
23.6 mi away
La Quinta Park Suites
La Quinta Park Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Ursula
877 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Alta Montana
Hotel Alta Montana
#2 of 5 in Vilaflor
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,593 reviews
7.6 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,671 reviews
20.5 mi away
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
#37 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Nogal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Nogal

Property: Hotel El Nogal
Address: Camino Real s/n | La Escalona, 38614 Vilaflor, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Vilaflor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vilaflor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Nogal 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Nogal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nogal Hotel
Hotel El Nogal Tenerife/Vilaflor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing